We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hosts; great location for our school trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts; great location for our school trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have just returned after an 8 day visit with 2 lots of 50 14 year old students and 10 teachers. Craig and his family could not have done any more for us to make our stay any better.
The location is perfect: close to centre of town but far enough from the noise, very near Fistral and the harbour. The accommodation is perfect for a school group, the rooms, layout, atmosphere, decor, lounge and dining space suiting our needs totally. The home cooked food is lovely, especially the 'packed lunches' and as it's home cooked was able to accommodate the various allergies and food intolerances our group contained.
The service is brilliant - Craig was practically another member of our school team, helping us out, being our local tour guide, couldn’t do any more to make us feel at home and had a great manner with the students (and great fun with staff.)
The Ocean Lodge is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. But for any schools looking for a base for their school trip to Newquay you could not find a better stay than here. Our water sports holiday has run with Elemental UK (http://www.elementaluk.com/) in Newquay for over 12 years and we have stayed in many different hotels in Newquay but we are booked up here next year already!
Thank you again to our hosts Craig, Carol and family. We are looking forward already to doing the same again next year and this being our permanent base for our school trip.

Room Tip: Huge variety in sizes of rooms, all spacious, varying from rooms for 2 to rooms for 8. Some with fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparkleGoo, Owner at Ocean Lodge Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Guys what can we say, thanks so much for this review, it's always amazing to have such happy customers & get feedback. Your school group were amazing, top notch all round. See you next year! Craig :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    53
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
62
44
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a school trip where over 100 fourteen year olds and ten staff stayed with Craig and his team at ocean lodge, booking out the whole place. They were perfect hosts, looking after us extremely well. The rooms are great, the breakfasts were lovely, the lunches they provided for us were brilliant (so much so that staff staying in another hotel put in orders with Craig for their lunches, instead of the lunches they had provided for them by their hotel) and the evening meals were delicious, home-cooked food. As a base for our stay in Newquay the Ocean Lodge is perfectly situated to enjoy the beaches, activities and town. We couldn't have wished for a better trip (and that is coming from someone who has been on the trip for more than 12 years and stayed in 5 previous locations; I've never felt like writing a review before). Put simply, it was perfect and we've already booked the school trip for next July! I would highly recommend staying with Craig and his team at Ocean Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparkleGoo, Owner at Ocean Lodge Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Simon, thanks so much for the amazing review, we really appreciate this feedback. We really enjoyed your school group and loved having them stay. We'll see you in 2015. All the best, Craig :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This stay was for a group of 11 blokes in their 30's and we couldn't have been more happy with the accommodation and hospitality.

The rooms are basic but entirely functional - the bar area is excellent and there are various games (X box etc) to provide some pre evening entertainment. The breakfast area is large and welcoming and the quality of the food is second to none.

The location is perfect-it was a 3 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk into the town centre.

Perfect location, great hospitality, don't consider anywhere else!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparkleGoo, Owner at Ocean Lodge Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks very much for the brilliant review, delighted you had a great time. Craig :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here with friends a few weeks ago and the place was amazing, great decor, clean rooms and great facilities. It was very central to beaches, cafes and restaurants as well as handy for heading out at night. Carol and Craig are doing a great job, so welcoming and friendly to us the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparkleGoo, Owner at Ocean Lodge Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Aimee, thanks so much for the excellent review, we really appreciate it. See you soon back in Newquay. Craig :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had such great time at Ocean Lodge so much so I came back twice and can't wait to go again. The owners Craig and Carol are so friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It's also one of the cleanest hostels I've been in. Great location and breakfast which is not only free but decent! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Newquay. Hope to see you guys next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emicarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparkleGoo, Owner at Ocean Lodge Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi emicarina, thanks for the awesome review and we'll definitely see you again soon when you get back from your travels. Craig :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have just spent the weekend at Ocean Lodge on my stag party. Craig and his team couldn't not have done anything more to help us - not only did they comfortably accommodate 23 of us but before hand Craig helped arrange our weekend activities so everything ran smoothly. Breakfast was excellent and rooms were perfect (all with ensuite) Its ideally situate close to the beach and town.
We couldn't have asked for anything better - wouldn't hesitate to go again with friends or family.
Simon G

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparkleGoo, Owner at Ocean Lodge Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Simon, glad you and the stag party had a great time, especially the activities. Our door is always open, see you again soon. Craig :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely staff, immaculate rooms and great location, breakfast was exactly what I needed for a good start to a day on the surf! everything you need to have a lovely break! Planning our return for 2014 !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faerymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparkleGoo, Owner at Ocean Lodge Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks Faerymc, for the 10/10 review. Hope to see you soon. Craig :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Newquay

Property: Ocean Lodge Newquay
Address: 61-63 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Lodge Newquay 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is a family-friendly Surf Lodge, Budget Hotel and Bunkhouse in the heart of Newquay. Door to Shore, we are the nearest large Surf Lodge to Fistral Beach (the UKs premier surf spot) and Newquay Town Centre - all just 700metres away. During the summer months we take couples, independent travellers and adventerous family groups in our new budget family hotel rooms. Ideal for families of 3-6 people, check-in and park up for the week - walk to any of Newquay's family attractions within minutes. We have Bear Bar & Cafe on-site which is open in season, with a wide selection of drinks and food, from good pub grub, snacks, barista coffee, cocktails, wines, craft beers, ciders and a gin, whiskey and rum bar. We also offer Free Guest Parking (pending availibility) and Free Wifi (in the bar). We can cater for large groups of 60+ people, exclusive booking of the hotel is available upon request. Larger groups are welcome off-season, including Stags/Hens (activity groups), Sports Tours, Corporate Groups, Surfing Holidays, Schools/University Tours, Walking Groups etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Lodge Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Lodge Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing