We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It smelled like Big Foots nether regions”
Review of Lusty Glaze Lodge

Lusty Glaze Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lusty Glaze Lodge
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I want to get a tshirt made “I didn’t survive the Lusty Glaze Lodge – and I’m proud of it”

This is without doubt the worst place on earth I have ever stayed. End of story!

I may have been suffering hallucinations caused by the smell of the place, but I’m reasonably sure that I saw Bear Grylls in my room during the night looking for food he could eat, and then puke because it was even too disgusting for him!! To be fair the chicken wing that was sitting in the room when we arrived did look as though it had been there a fair while, and may have been too much even for Mr Grylls.

The good news is that if you lose your socks on your stay at the Lusty Glaze you will have no difficulty finding new ones, it seems like every room has been pre supplied with a damp used pair to mitigate the smell from the carpeted bathrooms. Oh also on a positive note, there is enough sand in the rooms to make sand castles – small ones, which is always fun!

Also if you like desks, you will LOVE the Lusty Glaze. There is at least one in every room that our party stayed in, and in many cases members of our group decided to place their mattresses on the desks as they were more comfortable than the beds.

Can’t comment on the breakfast – I checked out before I could bring myself to risk eating in the place. Bring towels, bring toilet paper (they do supply “a” roll, but a second one seems to be a bridge to far. Do not stay in room 109 …. If you get that key … run away, to quote a famous movie “it smells like Big Foots ....”

C.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed there for a stag weekend and it was good enough for what we needed. The beds were clean and comfortable. My only real complaint was the bath didn't work in my room and no shower. Staff were spot on and the bar was £2 a pint.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unlucky25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed in the Lusty Glaze Lodge for a hen weekend and it was great! If all you need is somewhere to lay your head and have a shower then it's great. We have ensuit rooms, cleanliness wasn't great but it did us just fine. Make sure you take your own bath towels as they dont supply them. Location is great, only 5 min walk to the beach, tesco express nearby too, bars, clubs and shops about 15-20 min walk or 2 mins in a taxi. Perfect for a party weekend in Newquay.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Parked adjacent to a building site. Checked in and finally found our room after following the maze of corridors and misguided signs only to find a sign with bathroom crossed out and our room number written above it. Not a good sign. The room was extremely small with a mismatch of furniture and any space their might have been taken over by a rusty and creaking bunk bed. All of the surfaces were thick with a layer of dust and the floor was covered in what looked like dog hairs. Found somebody elses razor and a plug full of hair in the shower cubicle, making it obvious that the room had not been cleaned before our arrival. Bathroom was tiny, barely space to move through it and only supplied with a half used roll of toilet paper (in the end stole some from one of the public bathrooms). Public lounge was full of empty beer cans and glasses which were left out for over 24 hours. The whole hotel was full of signs to things that didn't exist such as a sauna, swimming pool and squash courts but instead just took you down a mouldy staircase with the roof falling in. All in all this hotel is due for demolishment and certainly deserves it. I'm sure there are plenty more options to stay in Newquay for a similar price, and if not find a cave it will be cleaner.
p.s don't touch the curtains, their likely to fall down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catching-stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Checked in and immediately checked out. no food, no towels, no bar- no anything.
Not even a kettle to make a hot drink. more of a doss house than a hotel. Ok if you just want a bed and nothing else!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I stayed at the Lusty Glaze Lodge with my friends for a hen party, and I would just like to say what a great time I had!
I heard that it used to be a hotel which had been turned into a lodge, so i was surprised at the quality of the rooms which we had.
The staff were very friendy and helpful, and gave us great tips as to the best places to go out at night!
The lodge is only a 5 minute walk from Newquay town which was an added bonus!
For anyone looking for a fun chilled out break to Newquay, I would definately recommend booking in at Lusty Glaze Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litpia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
776 reviews
1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusty Glaze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusty Glaze Lodge

Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Hotel Class:5 star — Lusty Glaze Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Lusty Glaze Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing