We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in 2012”

Watergate Bay Surf Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watergate Bay Surf Lodge
Ranked #66 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had a stay during the end of season in Oct-Nov 2012 and all I can say is that the company was excellent and the beds were made and we were waited on hand and feet. There are shared showers and toilets however you do get a wash basin in each room. This is a cheap hotel in an ideal location with good bus routes and I would go back again just to see the people there and Oscar the dog.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R4nger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Me and some friends were in Watergate bay for the weekend and stayed at the Watergate Bay Surf Lodge. It is a very nice place to stay, extremely cosy, the people are very friendly and made us feel completely at home. Despite being hostel accommodation, the facilities were in good condition and extremely clean. We had a dorm room (with bunk beds :D) to ourselves and the beds were super comfy and warm (a good night sleep is assured for most!). The owner of the place is a very nice and polite lady who, other than serving delicious breakfast, also gave us pointers on places to see around the area. The rates were extremely affordable, Overall a good experience and would definitely go there again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have visited the lodge a couple of times, and have never had any problems. I wasn't expecting the indulgent luxury of the £300pn hotels in Watergate, but I was expecting a cheap and friendly way to stay (and surf) at Watergate, and that's exactly what I got.

I've been coming to Newquay for years, and this place feels like the last real 'surf lodge' that this corner of the South West has to offer. I wasn't long ago you could stay a hundred metres from Fistral at the backpackers for a few quid a night, now Headland Road is full of million pound apartments!

The rooms are basic, that's true, but I challenge you to find friendlier service and more flexible staff anywhere around here! Free parking and the option to camp is another bonus.

All in all, if you want a relaxed, no frills place to stay, that's close to the beach with great staff, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I recently stayed there as part of a school surfing trip, and had a really great time. The rooms were comfortable, and even with every bunk filled, we had enough space for bags etc. The toilets and showers were always clean and had hot water. Our host was very friendly and gracious, and served a superb breakfast to us every day, a delicious evening meal, and put up with my insatiable thirst for tea.

As a group, we put the pool room to great use, by watching a film every night on a projector we brought, while relaxing on the comfy seating. it was great to have a space like that to chill out in at the end of a long day's surfing. I can thoroughly recommend it for school groups, and other holiday makers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Have just returned from camping here with a friend for 2 nights
No, it is not flash, but it was friendly, had hot water, a kettle and was in a nice location.
We did not go to the rooms so cannot comment, but I would go back there to camp if I was there for Watergate Bay. The beach is lovely, the food in Fifteen was amazing, as was our meal in The Phoenix. I will be going back to the area and surfing again.
Maybe a little steep for £36 for 2 people for 2 nights -maybe better to charge per tent rather then per person?
Not a place for families though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T419KG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I spent one night here as part of the oneil package surf deal. After this, my friend and I insisted on moving. The ower herself is extremely kind hearted and flexible. The accomodation however is sub-standard, run down, does not seem clean but is disorganised. We were woken up throughout the night but other guests and residents stomping through the draughty corridors to the communal bathrooms and on arrival, the owner was not even aware that we had booked.

If this place was revamped, reorganised and offered a free, timely shuttle to watergate bay, it would be an excellent spot for surfers. As it is, most visitors will feel disappointed and even uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenwood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I had the pleasure of staying here as part of a surf course I was doing and it was all included in the price. Before I went, I checked out the website and it looked okay. Upon arrival, I was somewhat disappointed. Like the other reviewer, I had to hunt for someone to tell them I was here and be shown to my room. Whilst I was looking for someone, I looked around and saw an pool room with loads of junk & dust in it.

Some random person came in and firstly took me to a room that was unmade and told me to wait. About five mintues later I was taken to another room (which was ready) and was told that i'd be staying there. I enquired about eating facilities as I was under the impression that there was a cafe but was told that they could 'knock something up for me'. It transpires that they don't actually have a cafe or anywhere to prepare your own food which meant that you either had to get a bus/taxi into Newquay or walk 20 mintues down a hill towards Watergate Bay to the pubs there. I did ask for a cup of tea and cheese sandwich one morning and after the look I got, I wasn't going to be asking again!

The room itself was a good size with a double bed and a bunk bed with own handbasin. There are two toilet/showers on each floor which were clean and tidy but the room is neglected. Dated wallpaper hanging off the wall due to damp, old crusty carpets, squeaky beds. I was apprehensive to open any cupboards so lived out of my suitcase for the week. Was nervous that at the weekend, I would have other guests joining me but I needn't of worried as there was only one other guest who was there and thank god, he was on the same surfing trip as me so we were in this together. I tried to arrange to leave early but due to engineering works, I was stuck.

The other people who were in the lodge lived there. At the end of my nightmare stay, I learnt that they had to make renovations in order for the business to continue. I was told that they get really busy over the summer months and if this is so, they should have the revenue to tidy the place up. Its a large lodge and the photos on the website are absolutely misleading and really shouldn't be on there! There is so much potential going to waste. There is also a garden they use for camping, wouldn't reccommend that either.

Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denijenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJ8990, Front Office Manager at Watergate Bay Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2011

Watergate Bay Surf Lodge is now under new managment. The staff are currently working hard on renovatating the lodge for an already busy 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.1 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
3.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
4.3 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
770 reviews
2.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Surf Lodge

Address: Tregurrian | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £30 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayergate Bay Surf Lodge is a family run lodge, located at the beautiful Watergate Bay, Newquay. Just 5 miles from Newquay Town Centre, and 2 miles from Newquay airport it is the perfect holiday and adventure destination. With on site surf camps and lessons, as well as many amenities nearby there's no better location for a holiday in Cornwall. Rooms start at just £10p.p.p.n, and we're open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Watergate Bay Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watergate Bay Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing