We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smarties Surf Lodge
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The owners were very friendly and welcoming, the lodge was perfectly situated just outside the busy centre so could still get a good nights sleep and go for a nice walk to explore Newquay. I would definitely recommend staying at Smarties Surf lodge looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for a few days in march and will definitely come back! Comfy, clean, clise to anywhere yo need to be in Newquay and more than reasonably priced. the owner was as friendly as they come. If you stay in Newquay, stay here!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheoFreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Me and 2 friends went for a surf weekend, stayed in a 3 bed dorm.
Everything was great, price, room, location and the owner is really nice!

Only 5mins walk to town and beach so all good!

Would stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Been back to Smarties two years in a row, one with friends and one as a couple. Couldn't recommend it enough. Jackie is helpful, friendly and really knows her stuff about surfing and the local area. Can't wait to book again for next year, and wish I had gone to Smarties sooner. Great value for money and close to Fistral as well as some nice pubs too. If you are looking for something simple and great value I would definitely recommend. Rooms include kettles and TV, which is perfect. Thanks Jackie, see you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great value surf lodge excellent breakfast. Location ideal - didn't need to use the car at all as everywhere is a few minutes walk. Free parking over the winter (from Oct 1st) on the street outside which is an added bonus. Bunk bed mattresses not brilliant (remember it is a surf lodge not a 4 star hotel ) but should be exhausted after surfing so should sleep anyway . Didn't try the shower as used the one at the surf school (Escape Surf - brilliant surf lessons.) Jackie is lovely and her banana cake is delicious! Great fun having a room we could all go in together. Will definitely be going back but will take an extra duvet to lie on !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank April18th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have just returned from spending a week staying at Smarties whilst surfing in Newquay and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Jackie (the owner) was there to great me when I arrived, she showed me around the place and gave me some useful tips on where to go and what to see while I was in the area.

The rooms themselves are basic, but very clean and well maintained, the 3 bunk room I stayed in had a sink and coffee making facilities, which was very useful.

I didn't opt for the breakfast, as I was up and out early every morning, however the smell was delicious as I rushed out the door, damp wetsuit in hand.

The surf lodge itself is a 5 minute walk from the town centre (down the hill) and a 10 minute walk to Fistral beach if you take the footpath along the edge of the Golf Course. If you need provisions there is a great Spa 100m down the road opposite a very handy launderette which is open until 20:00.

As a number of people have pointed out, parking is a bit awkward outside of the lodge, however easy parking can be found on any of the adjacent streets, and I had no problems leaving my car there for a week.

Top tips: when checking in, remember to ask for the front door code, and the WiFi password and write them down ! Also after a hard days paddling, the Headlands Hotel Spa will let you use all of the facilities for £12 per person (which is more than worth).

All in all a cracking place, with a friendly owner, which is good value for money. I will certainly be staying there again for my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

12 of us stayed at Smarties for a stag weekend. The rooms are basic but perfectly clean , comfortable and great value for money. Jackie was friendly and accomodating. She greeted us with a cold beer and homemade banana cake-a really nice touch. Members of our party arrived at different times of the day/ evening and jackie came back to check each in without complaint. Jackie understandably requested a £30 bond off each member of our party which wss refunded after s room check before we left.Five minutes walk from the town centre , highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarties Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarties Surf Lodge

Address: 84 Crantock Street, Newquay TR7 1JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £45 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarties Surf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated to a high standard, the accommodation at Smarties Surf Lodge is modern, clean and comfortable. There are bunk, twin and double rooms, all which have LCD TV and DVD player, wireless internet access and most have en suite facilities. Ideally located, a few minutes walk from Fistral beach and Newquay's nightlife. Great surfing packages and full English breakfast available at this easy-going surf lodge with a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Smarties Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smarties Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing