We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food as usual”
Review of Shanghai Express

Shanghai Express
Ranked #35 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant food as usual”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We took a couple of old friends from "up Country". Lennie was there to greet us with his friendly welcoming smile. The food as usual was superb and Lennie was a perfect host. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Great value and great food. I'd recommend Shanghai Express

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_the_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    76
    23
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malvern worcs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We always go to Shanghai express when we come down to Newquay but this time as we now have a baby got takeaway, still amazing food,went to collect and the order and it was straight out and the staff as per usual were very friendly, I highly recommend this Chinese as it's the best in Newquay.

Helpful?
Thank adzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must ”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

On our annual trip to Newquay we always visit here. A nice little find, tucked out the way. Great food, nice staff. Highly recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank MummySofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Chinese in Newquay!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were recommended to visit Lenny's for a meal by our hosts at Geckos Rest and could not have been more pleased. We went twice in the five days we were in Newquay and enjoyed delicious food both times. Very friendly and welcoming place to come and relax. Look forward to eating here again next time we visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chinese meal”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

went to this restaurant when on holiday , was excellent staff were friendly and very good prices for the food , will deinately go again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milliebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Express also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Shanghai Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing