We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic easter break in a beautiful hotel”
Review of Porth Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porth Cove
Ranked #45 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

We decided to go to Cornwall for our easter weekend and I heard great reviews of this hotel therefore was happy going there.

A beautiful hotel, felt at home and had great friendly service. The rooms were very comfortable and clean!

I couldnt have asked for a better location and the views were breathtaking. There was plenty to do in such a close proximity and was never at a loose end.

Would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel and would definitely go back again!

Thank you to Ivonne and Jim for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

I can't fault the location or the welcome we received. The room was clean and fairly well fitted out. For us it was a tad small, especially to the ensuite. The breakfast was very average. It felt like really cheap ingredients were being used. The coffee in the room was dire. Avoid it at all costs. Good place for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenfeegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porth, Owner at Porth Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Our rooms do vary in size and price,but all our bacon and sausages are locally sourced (not supermarket).our eggs are free range from a local farm.our beans are branston,and the coffee in the rooms is Maxwell House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had an amazing weekend in this quaint hotel with dramatic views of the sea. Close enough to Newquay for the nightlife but without being on the doorstep. Wonderful owners that really go a long way for the personal touch and the breakfast is amazing. Great touches around the hotel reminds you how close you are to the sea and an amazing sun room to pass away the lazy afternoons. Definitely going back...

Room Tip: Sea view all the way. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmletHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After visiting Newquay last year, we decided to come again this year but wanted somewhere away from the town centre as we found it too noisy last time, even though it was in November and way out of season. The hotel looked small and cosy in comparison to the ones surrounding it but this is what we wanted. Jim and Yvonne were wonderful hosts: the room was bright and decorated tastefully, with a sea view to top it off nicely. Breakfast was quickly and perfectly cooked each morning, and Yvonne gave us advice on local attractions and restaurants. The beach was just over the road and we even managed to trek back from Newquay town centre one evening, which made to be a pleasant walk. Our mini holiday was exactly what we wanted and needed and we will definitely be returning next year! Have recommended Porth Cove to all my friends!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - the sunsets are not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Porth Cove in September 2012 with my girlfriend for a local music weekender. The views out to the sea and of Newquay were superb. The room size was very nice and the en-suite was perfect too. We ate breakfast on our last morning which was to die for (even though it was only beans on toast).

Both Jim and Yvonne were pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. If you do stay here then check out The Mermaid pub at the bottom of the hill on the beach, but book a table (if you're eating) as it's very popular!

We will no doubt be back sometime next year and we're both looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoddzDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We decided on the spur of the moment really to have a short break to Newquay. When we arrived we were greeted by Jim, showed us to our room. The room was very clean, had everything that you would want.
The views from the hotel are lovely, with seating to watch the world go by, and a beautiful sunset in the evening with a drink from the hotel,bar.
Breakfast was good, with many choices, at a reasonable time.
Jim & Yvonne always ensured that everything was ok, offering ideas what to do for the day,
Porth Cove is somewhere that we will most certainly go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarissaB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Thank you Yvonne & Jim for making our stay so pleasurable. We were fortunate to say in Room 2 which is at the front of the hotel. The views from Whipsiderry Beach right across to The Headland at Newquay are fantastic. Room was lovely, clean and so relaxing.
Breakfast was good too. Hope you continue to get lots of happy guests.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra for a sea view room, they are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggiebird2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
4.2 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
770 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Cove

Address: Watergate Road | Porthcove, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a family run guest house with a range of rooms to suite all needs,because of this it has a more personal feel.we run an honesty bar and have ample free off road parking.we also offer free WiFi in all public areas,and are situated directly above the stunning Whipsyderry beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porth Cove Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing