We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cooked my own food!”

Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lusty Glaze Tripadvisor Beautiful brunches, leisurely lunches, cosy coffees and seaside suppers... Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant is nestled just a short walk from the centre of Newquay, on the North Cornish coast. Come rain or shine Lusty Glaze serves up freshly cooked and locally-sourced culinary delights in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. With a beautiful menu specially created for each season, as well as some rather tasty specials and the ever popular Hot Rocks, this beachfront dinning experience is not to be missed. On a warm evening, it's easy to forget you're still in Cornwall! As well as hosting weddings and our legendary Headliner Sessions, we also hold a free live music evenings featuring some of our favourite local artists. Spanning a range of different genres, these nights are always special, as everyone relaxes and unwinds, glass of wine in hand, soaking up the atmosphere. And even with a focus on top-notch food, it is still very likely that your chairs won't match, your spoon and fork may be different patterns and your waiter will be wearing flip flops... after all, we are still the laid back family-friendly restaurant that we always have been!
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cooked my own food!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Cooking your own food might sound like a con when you're paying to eat out.....far from it! I had fillet steak which I cooked a mouthful at a time just to my liking on my own volcanic rock! It was absolutely delicious. The chips were yummy too.

For me the best thing about this place though is the location, it was absolutely stunning. We booked for 7.30pm and watched the sun set over the sea as we ate. It was beautiful!

I would really recommend this place, it's such a shame it's a good 6 hour drive away for where I live! Although that adds to the novelty. I hope to find more gems just like this on my travels!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milly97, Manager at Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the hot stone experience - cooked a mouthful at a time is absolutely the best way!

Its an absolute pleasure to receive reviews such as this as it makes all the hard work worthwhile when it is appreciated, thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cornwall

Kind regards

Andi Milson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    156
    58
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great food, service, location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had our last meal of our recent holiday here, and to sum in a single word, it was the highlight, we had a great location on the beach, watching the waves and the sunset, the food quality and presentation was exceptional, the service first rate (we asked for no beer in our fish batter and that was no trouble), would recommend to anyone.

If there was any cause for concern, then we could have done with a bigger table (there were six of us) and cos we were on the beach, it was tilting on the sand - but I guess that added to the experience.

We selected the 'hot rocks' cooking method - novel idea and an experience in itself

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Family_Of_Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food and hospitality with wonderful location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Everything cooked fresh. Had sole which was cooked to perfection. Good local drinks served. Staff really welcoming.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have recently moved to Newquay but have lived in Cornwall for 30 years and for some reason only visited for the first time a few Sundays ago to watch the Dodgeball final. Of course it helped that the weather was absolutely tropical but it really is the perfect place - I didn't want to leave! In fact stayed til midnight! Ate paella on the beach in the evening and tried the restaurant food as well for lunch. All first class. Best band too! Motown Pirates

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a relaxed meal”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Food was good. we had fish and chip, hamburger and mixed mezzo. All well made and quite good value. service was very slow though but to be expected after all this isn't fast food place. good drinks choice and friendly waiting staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing