We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian restaurant in miles”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in miles”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is without doubt, the finest Indian Restaurant in Newquay. Good food and friendly staff and a great choice of menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time you write a review. It is always great when our customers think we are doing a great job. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    340
    144
    74
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall ,england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most gorgeous Indian ever!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I always use the Maharajah in Newquay as its only a short drive. They never fail to give the best service possible. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere in here is amazing the smell as you walk through the door makes your mouth water. Lastly the view is to die for!! 10 out of 10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traceyhoney1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
What a great review! Thank you. Our chefs are proud of the traditional Indian food they serve and our staff enjoy being able to make sure our customers have the best experience. We llok forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Picked this restaurant after looking at previous reviews for this and others locally - nice restaurant with great views of the bay and very friendly accommodating staff. All food is lovely, the extras such as rice and nans are enough to share between 2, service very quick , a lovely restaurant with good ambience and would go again. Do book a table,if you want a table in the conservatory area with a sea view.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dewi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that Tripadvisor pointed you in our direction. It is always great when our customers appreciate the traditional Indian food we serve. We hope you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A lovely Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant as we had passed it on our way in to newquay and fancied and Indian. We had a superb meal, really varied menu, for 2 of us with poppadoms , starters, main courses and couple of side dishes with a couple of beers was £50 which is what we are used to paying back home. Good choice, easy to find, had parking, nice outlook over the bay, staff really helpful and friendly, attentive as well, would def recommend and would go back,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shep24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Indian cuisine”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

There are a number of good 'Indian' restaurants in Cornwall, but the majority are actually Bangladeshi. The Maharajah in Newquay is probably the ONLY genuine Indian restaurant west of Bristol. And well worth a visit. The food is excellent and many dishes use their own unique recipes. Staff are courteous and efficient, and knowledgeable and helpful when questioned about the menu. Prices are reasonable. Views are spectacular if you manage to get a coveted window table. And to round it off, they have draft Indian beers!. Excellent experience all round. If you are staying locally, remember to pick up a takeaway menu for future reference as you leave as they will also deliver

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is always great when our customers recognise that we are traditional and serve authentic Indian food. We are proud of all our staff, our chefs producing magnificent food and our waiting staff who are happy to help and advise customers. The view we can't take credit for but are pleased when you enjoy it as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing