We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Indian Restaurant”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is without doubt the best Indian restaurant you will visit outside of India. I have had many meals at the Maharajah every time its great, the food is always lovely and the staff always friendly. If your lucky enough to visit in the summer you will love the view over Newquay bay watching the surf, the local fishing boats and if you time it right the most amazing sunsets.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2015
Hi!

Thank you for your great review and rating, we are happy you loved the food, service and views at Maharajah, looking forward to your next visit!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,406
    361
    156
    83
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location,great service,fab food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

One of the best Indian meals we have had for value for money. Large portions , very tasty in a fabulous setting with the beach vista from our table. Staff were attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Public relation at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2015
Hi!

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed the food, service and views at Maharajah, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This is an average price indian resturant, we did think that being newquay and right on coast it would be over priced but seemed same as we would pay at home in birmingham. The resturant is not as big as you would think from the outside, the best thing is the beautiful view the dining room has a huge bay window that is the whole end of the room and you can see the gorgeous coast line and blue sea and there is a big tv screen showing the beach areas. The meal was ok, not as good as we were hoping but we are from a place which specialises in balti so maybe my expectations were too high? Would go again just for the location as it is a stunning view and would be ready not to be impressed with the food. There is parking across the road which was a few pound.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pezza_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's Busy - Take a chill pill or book!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There were 4 of us and we had to wait, nothing wrong with that it was busy for all to see. Got our table in the end and it was worth the wait.

We all had different dishes from mild to very spicy and it was very good.
Will visit there again when in Cornwall, which will be later this year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gds187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2015
Hi!

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed the food at Maharajah and we'd like to thank you for your patience while waiting for your table, we look forward to your next visit!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic service!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant as a last minute thing as we couldn't find anywhere that was still serving food, when we arrived they were about to stop serving but allowed us to come in, the staff were so welcoming and the food was absolutely beautiful with very generous portion sizes. The owner came out alot and engaged with us and made us giggle alot, ever so friendly. So glad we came here and would eat here ever day if possible :) definitely recommend!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ruby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfbSWEngland, Public relations at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2015
Hi!

Thank you for your positive great feedback and rating, we are happy you loved the food and service at Maharajah and we were delighted to serve you even at the last minute, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing