We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host Amanda, made us feel very welcome and great location.”
Review of Alderberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alderberry Lodge
Ranked #47 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely host Amanda, made us feel very welcome and great location.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic value for money. This place doesn't accept bookings from stag or hen parties so we didn't have to worry about noise in the night. The location was very central and only a few minutes walk from the centre of town, where there are plenty of good bars and restaurants and only a few minutes further from the beaches. We woke up the next day to a yummy cooked breakfast and despite some confusion (on our part) with regards to finalising the bill, Amanda was very helpful in sorting everything out and was a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    8
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bideford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our room was clean and bright with coffee and tea making facilities with a wide screen tv and radio and a very comfortable bed.
Our hostess Amanda was very friendly and helpful especially with local knowledge. The lodge was within comfortable walking distance of the town and sea, and the breakfast was one to set you up for the day. I would recommend this B&B it is family friendly and not forgetting Coco the friendly poodle who also gave us a warm welcome!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 83malc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Would highly recommend the Alderberry Lodge, Amanda made us feel very welcome and suggested some lovely villages to try in the area. We stayed in room 4 I think, with an en suite.
Everything was modern and clean and tidy and nicely decorated. Breakfast was a full-English which to be honest with all the pasties and fish and chips we couldn't manage on our last day but Amanda was kind enough to rustle us up some bacon butties to take with us instead. The road was quiet and only about 10 minutes from the bars and shops in the centre.
So the only drawback I would say is the parking. There's space for three cars and they are on CCTV but they are a bit awkward so you can easily get blocked in, or out. We couldn't park at the B&B there one night because someone was blocking the third space. We had to park far down a little side road.
Lovely though and I would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatalinaSuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Would recommend to anyone. Really close to the town centre (5mins walk) and close to the beach and we were able to park for free. Amanda is a great host, very friendly and chatty and always on hand to recommend things to do. The room was spotless and beautiful. Very comfy beds and nice bathroom. Breakfast was also great, cooked and continental. If I visit Newquay again I will be staying here as really excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzolizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Would definately stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting Newquay. It's a stone's throw from the town centre and has a lovely, warm atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious - both continental and homecooked full english. Amanda is the best host - so friendly and smily. She made our stay fantastic. Very reasonably priced clean and tidy rooms and excellant shower. Super comfortable bed too! Recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

my partner and i stayed only one night but the service we recieved was amazing Amanda text me to tell me our room was ready early when we got to the hotel we were greeted by smiles and friendly faces.
The room was spotless and shower was lovely.
The cooked breakfast was just what we needed after the lovely nights sleep we had in the comfortable bed.I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing hotel with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexdevon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The room was nice and clean. Good comfy bed. The rooms are cleaned everyday. We would have liked clean towels everyday. The location is really good and near to the town centre. The free parking is a good bonus. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice, full English with cereal, tea/coffee and toast. Would recommend. It is good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahjanedowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pengilley Guest House
Pengilley Guest House
#67 of 105 in Newquay
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#46 of 105 in Newquay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trevilla Guesthouse
Trevilla Guesthouse
#49 of 105 in Newquay
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harrington Guest House
Harrington Guest House
#42 of 105 in Newquay
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 105 in Newquay
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderberry Lodge

Property: Alderberry Lodge
Address: 6 Trenance Road, Newquay TR7 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alderberry Lodge is situated in the middle of Newquay offering something for everyone and all within walking distance. Town centre a few minutes walk, Beaches, leisure centre , Zoo, Stables. We have free car parking and secure storage for surf boards and motor bikes.M All our prices include a full English breakfast with choice of cereals and yogurts. We cater for couples only ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderberry Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing