We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our week at the tregarthen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tregarthen Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“our week at the tregarthen”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

we had another great week with Julie and Jim,still very high standards.Our room was very clean, breakfast was very good with plenty of choice for starters including fresh fruit,juices,cereals with a full english available or full vegetarian available or anything you wish. Julie knowledge was very helpful of places to see and visit and even were to park

Room Tip: all rooms are of a very high standard there are no bad ones,all rooms except one are on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
121
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
S.Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great welcome on arrival from Julie and great place to stay. Good room with private entrance and off road parking as well. Only short walk to centre and beaches, good base for visiting attractions in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dainye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Tregarthen B&B is an ideal location for your stay in Newquay,in fact anywhere you may want to go in the Town,including the beaches are within a 30 min walk.It has private off road car parking,and that in itself is a bonus these days.
The welcome we received on arrival was great,Julie puts you at ease and is a mine of information on where to go and what to do in and around Newquay, but also her knowledge of how to get almost anywhere in Cornwall is second to none.
The rooms are spotless and comfortable the breakfast will set you up for the day.
All in all a great holiday,and a great base to explore from.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArrawnCwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

After arriving like 2 drowned rats (riding through a huge storm on Bodmin), we were made to feel instantly welcome by Julie. We were shown to our room, and quickly and efficiently checked in.
And what a room! With its own access door, it was more like a boutique hotel than a B and B. Immaculately clean and spotless, beautifully decorated and warm.
The Guesthouse is quiet, and a short walk (15mins) from town. We cannot fault it in any way. The food was excellent, and nothing is too much trouble. We would thoroughly recommend this place, and will certainly stay again...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryandStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Booked on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews, which when they are consistently glowing can sometimes lead to disappointment.

Not the case here though; in order of discovery:

Excellent off road parking.

A warm welcome.

A comfortable room with our own direct outside access, excellent shower, flat screen Freeview TV and all the now expected comforts (tea, coffee etc) as well as a fridge and provision for eating takeaways if so desired.

Only 10-15 minutes walk from decent places to eat

Quiet location and quiet room (ground floor with no-one above you) guaranteeing a good nights sleep.

Excellent breakfast (and Easter Eggs all round on Easter Day!!)

Julie and Jim have been running Tregarthen for many years now and have it down to a fine art.

We'd be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCroker1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stay at Tregarthen regulary over the New Year period and wouldn't stay anywhere else, Julie and Jim are the perfect hosts who have always looked after us, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Offroad parking is a bonus and its only a brisk ten minute walk into Newquay. Perfect in every way

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 105 in Newquay
242 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.2 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#8 of 105 in Newquay
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregarthen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregarthen Guesthouse

Property: Tregarthen Guesthouse
Address: 1 Arundel Way, Newquay TR7 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julie & Jim welcome you to Tregarthen, a Bed and Breakfast offering you a very high standard of accommodation, taking bookings of couples and families only. Tregarthen Guest House is situated in the prime location for Lusty Glaze & Tolcarne beaches and the bustling town centre of Newquay. Fresh, modern, affordable accommodation in the Tregarthen Guest House, Newquay, Cornwall. We offer short breaks and special offer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tregarthen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregarthen Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing