We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Carvynick Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carvynick Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carvynick Country Cottages
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Carvynick Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

On arriving into the grounds we were able to chek straight in and go into our cottage, it smelt and looked freshly clean and the cottage was able to cater for all of our basic needs! The badminton court is a unique experience as he court is not what you would expect and reccomend it to anyone going to stay here, me and brother were on the court every morning of our stay! Following this we had a round of golf and the course did seem well maintained throughout the stay!
The only thing stopping this place from getting the full 5 is the fact every single morning the staff member was late (normally by 30 minutes) which stopped us from using the facilities until the reception was open and bearing in mind the reception closes at 8 most nights which is very early, you need to make the most of the place being open while you can!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Carvynick for a long weekend and couldn't fault the accommodation. We stayed in cottage 20 and was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. The design works really well with the bedrooms downstairs. There were 4 adults and a young baby and still their was plenty of room. Having two bathrooms worked really well and were surprised to see that toilet roll, tea towels and washing up liquid were provided. I wish we could have stayed for longer!

The location was perfect for exploring Cornwall! We didn't use any of the facilities as we were too busy being a tourist!

We accidentally left a few items behind and being over 3 hours away they were happy to post them to our home, fortunately a friend picked it up whilst in the area.

Look forward to visiting again :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy7574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

5 of us stayed here from 28-30 June. We overlooked the golf course from nearly all windows. Rooms were good sized and so were the bathrooms. Comfortable beds and lovely soft towels. Very clean with all equipment you need for a self catering holiday

Great facilities and a wonderful bar and restaurant on site

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DirtyStinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at Carvynick for a long weekend and were very happy with our stay. The onsite pub/ restaurant menu seemed a bit pricey, and there were no other options for the evening so we went out most evenings. We did know this in advance though (all the info is available on their website) so were perfectly happy to go out. We did cook at home one evening and had all the kitchen equipment we needed.

We knew we would need a car as it is located in the country side, but it is 6 miles to the nearest supermarket, so it is worth bearing in mind when out and about.

The cottage was a good size (we had the 3 bed bungalow) and the views were beautiful. The beds were all made up and towels, loo roll, washing up liquid, tea towels etc were all there ready for us. Sounds silly but less to think about. My only observation was that the 2 bathrooms are both en-suite so someone sleeping on the sofa bed or in the 3rd bedroom would need to walk through one of the bedrooms to use the loo in the night.

The storage heaters were not working but electric heaters with timers had been provided in every room and had timers to go on and off, so it was never cold.

We didn't know about the utilities charge in advance (£15 for the weekend), or that the hot tub and sauna carried a charge. It would have been useful to know this in advance but it certainly wouldn't have stopped us visiting.

Overall we were all very happy (2 adults and 2 children) and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have just returned from a Mon -Friday stay. e stayed in cottange number 12 - waking up to the fanatastic views was a treat. We were 6 adults sharing a two bd cottage - a double room - twin room and double sofa bed. As the weather was so perfect we were out all day but did use the golf course badminton court and pool -£3 charge for set of clubs - £5 for hot tub session. the restaurant and pub was open but we preferred to drink in te view from our patio and prepare our own meals in the well appointed kitchen. Our towels and linen for the sofa bed we were waiting for us and I had no reason to contact reception. My only criticism would be that the pool opened earlier than 9 and close after 7:40 - even the pool table and badminton court closed early. You definitely need to amuse yourselves in the evenings. Brilliant stay - will definitely return to vist Padstow Polperro Looe Fowey Newquay and St Ives again..

Room Tip: 2 cottages have the benefit of a consevatory - usefule if you are adults..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerne147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Carvynick over the New Year period, with two very close friends. The two bedroom cottage we had was warm and cosy, and had fabulous views over the golf course and hills. It was reasonably well equipped - my only gripe being the uncomfortable settees - they definitely needed replacing.

Despite being full, the place was very quiet and although not having a lot of facilities, it suited us. There was parking for 1 or 2 cars at the front and additional parking at the rear.

Newquay wwas not far away and there were numerous good restaurants, plus some excellent supermarkets and at Summercourt itself there was a very well stocked local shop only a few minutes away from the site.

This is a place we would definitely like to revisit as it provides a wonderful base for exploring Cornwall and is a home form home.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage / bungalow rather than the cottage / houses - views from the windows are magnif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We have just spent a week in Carvynick cottages. Lovely 'upside down' cottage with bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs with open plan lounge/diningroom/kitchen upstairs with a small balcony area. The facilities in the cottage were excellent. The only minor complaint is that the settees weren't the most comfiest to sit on - probably cos they convert to a sofabed. The swimming pool was excellent, as was the badminton court and golf course. The whole complex was clean, well maintained and peaceful. The cottages are very centrally located for both coasts and Eden Project (over-rated in our view). The onsite restaurant and bar was closed but there is a pub in the village of Summercourt a short walk away and lots of pubs within a short drive. There is a large Morrisons within 5 miles for all your supplies. We had a 2 bedroom cottage so there was plenty of room for the two of us. The cottage sleeps 7 but it would be a bit cramped with so many people. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susiediy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
6.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Tolcarne Beach Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
5.1 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvynick Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvynick Country Cottages

Property: Carvynick Country Cottages
Address: Summercourt, Newquay TR8 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Cornwall in a picturesque setting with far reaching views, Carvynick Holiday Park near Newquay extends a warm welcome to those seeking tranquil family holidays in Cornwall. Located only 15 minutes from the stunning Newquay beaches, dramatic Cornish coastline and only 14 miles from the world famous Eden Project. Our central location provides easy access to all of Cornwall's many attractions. Our holiday park consists of well presented self-catering holiday cottages, perfect for quiet family holidays, short breaks and holidays in Cornwall. We have a fabulous Touring park, with spacious, luxury touring pitches specifically designed for Caravans, Motorhomes and RVs of all sizes, including Winnebago or American Motorhomes. We have excellent on-site leisure facilities, such as a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna & hot tub, or you can have a more lively game of Badminton on our full sized court. * All touring pitches have private decked areas and are fully serviced. *Picturesque grounds with spectacular views across the Cornish countryside * Indoor Heated Swimming Pool * Badminton and Indoor Sports Hall * Sauna and Hot Tub * On-site restaurant & bar * Easy Access just off A30 * 15 minutes from Newquay beaches and attractions * The world famous Eden Project only 14 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Carvynick Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carvynick Country Cottages Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing