We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We got a bargain offer to stay at the Headland for five nights. The location is stunning: an imposing Victorian building on a dramatic headland setting. The room was very comfortable and clean with nice sheets although the decor was a bit tired. The reception staff are as good as I have seen anywhere in the world. Special commendation goes to Amber and Danielle. They SO went out of their way to be of service to their customers. Things I particularly liked: the breakfast (especially the fabulous Cornish sausages, black pudding and hogs pudding), the fact that there was free internet everywhere in the hotel, the big TV in our room with 60+ channels. For what we wanted for our holiday, it was hard to fault

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helencoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,218 - 3,224 of 3,665 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

This a hotel with a difference - elegant interiors, no expense spared on our recently renovated suite and wonderful food - but what makes it all work is the charming, professional and wonderfully warm service. The uniquely beautiful position makes it almost impossible not to relax instantly and this is by far the best holiday we have had with our fifteen month old son, to date. The baby listening service meant we could enjoy the wonderful food on offer and socialise with the staff and other guests in the evening. In the day time and throughout the hotel, we were made to feel extremely welcome and special attention was given to our son, who enjoyed all the smiles and praise he received, as well as the many dogs (real and ornate) that he encountered. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnonBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here in Feb half term break, acting mostly on having read some of the good reviews on TA and having spotted the hotel on its headland on a brief trip to Newquay earlier in the year. Unfortunately, we had poor Feb weather with driving drizzle and poor visibility for our 2 days here but that was far outweighed by the very warm greetings on arrival at reception by Dominique, who gave us a tour of the hotel and explained everything in our rooms - our Fistral View room was superb with vast bathroom and comfy beds. Our sons room was in the opposite wing looking towards Newquay, again a lovely twin room. All the staff were helpful, the food was good and we would love to go back again to be able to see the wonderful views and watch the surfers in better sunny weather. !! Would definitely recommend and its far enough away from Newquay town to be quiet, very important bonus I would imagine in mid summer !!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lagoon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We loved the Headland Hotel. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready which we'd expected as it was the day after Easter but the staff were briliant and actually upgraded us to a sea view room so we could check in. Views were stunning, and location is perfect for Fistral beach. The town is about a 10 min walk but you can also walk along the headland and down to the harbour which had lovely views. We didn't eat at the hotel but Breakfast was lovely, again with stuning views.

A perfect couple of days away and we will definately be returning sometime

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The location of the Headland hotel is simply great: well isolated from the town busyness, next to the beach in front of the ocean and well located if you plan to visit Cornwall's top tourist towns/attractions.
Staff is very friendly. It's also very family friendly. Our daughters (4&7) enjoyed the indoor pool.
Restaurant is good without being exceptional (however, the view is wonderful as the restaurant faces the ocean and beach).
Only slight negative: for the price paid, you could expect slightly higher standards for the rooms (for example no fridge, cold/hot tap water separated). But that's a minor drawback compared to the overall quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidC__76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear DavidC_76,

Thank you for your review of The Headland, especially your comments about our 'simply great' location, the indoor pool, and our 'very friendly' staff. I will ensure that the team see your remarks - they will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed their service.

In regards to the hot/cold tap comment, we decide what to use in bathrooms each winter when we do our ongoing renovation work, and usually come to the conclusion that guests prefer to be able to mix water together as it comes out of the tap to create their perfect temperature, rather than having to fill a whole basin to obtain the right mix. I am sorry that this was not your preference, and have noted it on your profile, so that if you choose to visit again, we will endeavor to give you a room that has a separate hot and cold tap, not a mixer tap.

With our on-going renovation work we are putting fridges into the majority of rooms, and I am sorry that you did not have one in your room on this occasion. We do have some moveable fridges available for guests to request if their room does not already have one it it. I have noted this preference on your profile as well.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to The Headland, and thank you once again for your constructive review.

Best wishes,

Veryan Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The hotel facilities were very good the rooms extremely cozy, the restaurant was amazingly beautiful. hotel equipped with indoor pool, terrace, beach sunbathing area, bars and pretty much anything you can think of. Topped off by the most genuine and fantastic staff always eager to help and who truly care about your experience in the hotel. Not the mention great food (try the lobster!) and drinks ! All for a very affordable price I would not hesitate to go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilleVirginie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear CamilleVirginie,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor! I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us - I will pass on your comments about the 'most geniune and fantastic' staff to all of the team here, and I know they will be delighted with your feedback.

In regards to the lobster, I most definitely agree; the Newquay Harbour lobster is some of the most delicious you can eat!

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.

With best wishes,

Veryan Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed in the Headland for our honeymoon at the start of April and had an amazing time. The location,rooms, food, drink were great. The staff were very helpful and professional. We loved it so much after we travelled on to St Ives we returned to the Headland for our last few nights. We would highly recommend this and hope to visit again soon.
The Mc Mahons

(oh and our nieces were all very impressed that this is where the film The Witches was filmed!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendaMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
22.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £104 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing