We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, very friendly and in stunning location - highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I took my mother to the Headland for her birthday for a two night stay. It's in the most amazing position and looks very striking. The staff were warm and welcoming and their friendly professionalism is definitely part of the Headland experience. Whether we were at reception, the bar or in the restaurants, the service was top class and always with a smile. The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was very spacious with fabulous views of the ocean. A few minor gripes were that we didn't have a fridge in our room and the shower was not very good. I think the bathroom could also have done with a hook as there was no where to hang anything. My mother found our room a little bleak, for example, there was only one curtain on the window which made it looked unfinished and the walls were very bare. But the beds were very comfortable, it was spotlessly clean and we loved the view. In addition to the lovely staff, the superb location, the sumptious interior of the hotel, the food was absolutely wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed every meal. Everything we ordered was cooked to perfection and full of flavour - I would say that the chef definitely has the x-factor! All in all it was a really enjoyable few days and not only will we definitely return, but I would recommend the Headland Hotel to anyone. I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RebeccaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,466)
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,014 - 3,020 of 3,467 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

As the title suggests we are regular and freqquent guests. We stayed in the cottages (Beach 2) We have stayed at the cottages since they were first built.

They are of an excellent standard. I think the hotel are planning a refurbishment programme in early 2012.

That said, there is absolutely nothing wrong with them.

As always we were greeted by pleasant and efficient staff. We don't need any welcome tours (we could probably do them on behalf of the hotel!)

Ou 20 month old Wheaten Terrier ,Maisie, as always was made a fuss of by the staff and it was really nice to be remembered by the staff.

We were here to celebrate my wife's birthday and had a truly fantastic meal in the main restaurant. The table d'hote is very good value and an excellent standard of food.

We accompnanied it with a decent bottle of pink Sancere. Yet again this was a memorable evening complimented by pleasant,engaging waiting staff.

We only have one minor gripe and that is the reluctance of the hotel to recognise repeat visitors - I don't think s complimentary bottle of wine is too much to ask for.

We will be returning again - no doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevenc4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback on the cottages, and especially your comments about the staff, which I will pass on - they will be delighted to receive them!

In regards to starting the renovation programme, our indoor swimming pool will be redeveloped in early 2012 - it will feature new changing rooms, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, aromatherapy showers, all very exciting! The spa will be started the following year, and is promising to be simply amazing.

Adam Cornish, our current Front of House Manager, has been promoted to Deputy General Manager (Cottages), and is keen to implement lots of new ideas in the Headland Cottages, including a more comprehensive loyalty scheme - I hope you will enjoy the results of his efforts in a future stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With best wishes,

Veryan Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Headland with the family dog (Max) and what a welcome change it was to feel so welcome with your pet. On arrival the staff were very friendly and once checked it we were given a small tour around the ground floor to show us where everything was and also explained a little of the history behind the hotel. Once in our room we were very pleased with the decor and cleanliness. Drinks in the hotel were a little over what you would pay in the pubs but not overpriced considering you are in a 4 star hotel with beautiful surroundings (and there was always a bowl of water available for Max) We were able to take Max everywhere in the hotel except the main dining areas but could still eat/drink in the bar or ballroom area. We were travelling without our two teenage sons on this occasion but as we enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to come back in July with our children and stay in one of the hotels 2 bedroom cottages which look fabulous. I don't know if teenagers would appreciate the '4 star hotel thing' but as regular visitors to Cornwall (normally camping or caravaning) hope they enjoy the bit of luxury The Headland has to offer.
Small warning to any smokers who are considering it, you have to treck across the lawn at the front of the hotel about 40m to the smoking shelter which is almost hidden from view completely, not pleasent in your flip-flops in the rain!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yewcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Having recently returned from another weekend at The Headland my wife and I felt we should tell others just what a special place it is. From check-in at arrival to the enquiry whether our room was up to standard ( and of course it was Facing the Atlantic Ocean)) to a cup of tea in the lounge facing the Atlantic/Fistral Beach everything was perfect. This was followed by a superb dinner (the waiting staff in the restaurant could not have been more well informed, polite or helpful) of three courses which would have done justice to a top London restaurant, and a lovely night's sleep. Need I say more? Day 2 followed the pattern of Day 1. Well done Headland, stay just as fabulous as you are!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Perfectweddingday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Loved the Headland Hotel, stayed in room 230, a Fistral View Room, and it was stunning. The views from all our windows (which were plentiful) were gorgeous. The room itself was lovely, a tradition feel but newley decorated, large comfy bed, nice crisp sheets and extremely clean. The bathroom was exception with large walk in shower, large bath, twin sinks and under floor heating. Just gorgeous.

The staff at the hotel were so helpful, polite and courteous and made you feel very welcome. We will be back, very soon ;0)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 504164Michelle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

this was a lovely hotel, great service, good attention to detail; and genuinely family friendly, food local, and public areas spotless despite being busy,

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeverleyTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We got a bargain offer to stay at the Headland for five nights. The location is stunning: an imposing Victorian building on a dramatic headland setting. The room was very comfortable and clean with nice sheets although the decor was a bit tired. The reception staff are as good as I have seen anywhere in the world. Special commendation goes to Amber and Danielle. They SO went out of their way to be of service to their customers. Things I particularly liked: the breakfast (especially the fabulous Cornish sausages, black pudding and hogs pudding), the fact that there was free internet everywhere in the hotel, the big TV in our room with 60+ channels. For what we wanted for our holiday, it was hard to fault

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helencoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £122 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing