We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time to relax.”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel staff could not do enough for us. We took our two dogs , a West Highland White and a Scotty, who were also made very welcome. The room was large and light with a very comfortable bed. The Hotel itself was very clean and well maintained with very good amenities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,288
    674
    198
    61
    52
See reviews for
922
1,581
75
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH EAST ENGLAND
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have now stayed at the Headland in their cottages for 3 years on the trot, to celebrate New Year. We are a family of 3 with grandparents and our most loved dog! We have had some of our best New Years here.
The cottages are first class, beautifully decorated and very cosy.
We can only agree with other comments, the staff and management are superb!!
It is so lovely to stay at a "family run" hotel, who obviously love what they do and appreciate their staff as it shines through.
Can't wait until December!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NELLY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thingwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is an impressive hotel in a magnificent location. I found all the staff here to be professional and courteous. The good reviews are justified.
I was in a room yet to be refurbished and preferred the older style, as it felt cosier than the contemporary design.
Outdoor pool is very big and very warm, reason enough for me to return here. I am booking for next summer.
The Witches starring Anjelica Houston was filmed here.

Room Tip: My older unrefurbished room had no maintenance issues and was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieangeThingwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband and I, accompanied by our four year old son, had a great three night break at the Headland Hotel. Our room was very comfortable and had great views of the sea. This is an ideal location with beach and coastal walk on the doorstep. Newquay town centre is a 5min walk away.

Staff at the hotel were very attentive, breakfast was plentiful and the free facilities which include games rooms, swimming, both indoor and outdoor, pitch and putt and tennis, made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac020872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in room 110 , recently refurb , ideal for family , coastal view room , Children 9 & 13 had seperate room with TV - lovely suite with beautiful bathroom - ideal that room had fridge for snacks & drinks as stayed as B&B -

Main restaurant did not eat in , as for children terrace restaurant better option .

Surfing with Ben & Gemma worth money as kids had great time & made holiday ! - They were very friendly & made it so easy to start surfing!

Cleaning & room service excellent , swimming & steam room lovely for adults & had full view of kids whilst in sauna .

Check in ,would have preferred to be advised that wedding partyin on particular night & would have made alternative arrangments on dining on night , as long wait for food & would have booked table

Amber & Vivyane ,service was excellent would come back & recommend great holiday & thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We recently stayed at The Headland for 5 nights over the August bank holiday weekend on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package. As a family group of 5 (3 generations!), we booked a coastal view family suite and a coastal view twin room. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable although the bathrooms could do with updating.

The location is fantastic overlooking Fistral Beach and it is a pleasant stroll into Newquay. The outdoor pool is great but as many other travellers have mentioned, the indoor pool and changing areas are in need of the planned refurbishment.

From a dining point of view, without exception all of our meals were of a very high standard. The daily chaning dinner menu means the food is always fresh and is cooked to perfection. The breakfast is also wonderful with lots of choices available for self-service plus a menu offering a range of options cooked to order.

Our only issue over the 5 days related to service in the bar/restaurant. On one night we wated 30 minutes to be served a pre-dinner drink and on 2 of the 5 nights it took almost 3 hours to be served 3 courses plus coffee which really was too long. Unfortunately, the night where the bar service was poor and the service in the restaurant slow was also the night we celebrated our daughter's 8th birthday and it was a disappointing end to the day.

Having said that, the staff are the jewels in this hotel's crown. We mentioned the service to the duty manager and this was turned around for our last 2 nights in the hotel, something we very much appreciated. The hotel's own feedback form asks you to name any members of staff who were remarkable and to be honest it was impossible to name only one. With one exception, we found the staff to be incredibly courteous, knowledgeable and trained to a high standard.

We did think the holiday was expensive - our bill for 5 people for 5 nights came to nearly £3,000 - but we all had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilliamPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in July as I wanted to get away and relax by the beach. The location of the hotel is absolutely un beatable and the view from was just perfect. However this was let down byt the room itself. The room was obviously not one of the renovated rooms. The 'double bed' was two twin beds pulled together which was not confortable at all and the pillos were thin and lumpy. The bathroom, whilst clean, was absolutely awful and the shower was completely pointless and pretty much unusable.
This really was so disappointing as I called and spoke to someone rather than book online, and had made the point that I was coming for a few days to relax and wanted to be by the beach and in a wonderful setting. This room was not wonderful at all. I will say that the breakfast was excellent and also the dinner that I had in the restaurant was superb. Very much want to return for a few days of relaxing in September but am put off by the possibility of being in a very poor room again, despite being quite specific about what I wanted and not requesting a budget room.

Room Tip: Be very specific about what you expect in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the location, views and dining in The Restaurant, and I am sorry that the Ocean View room did not live up to your expectations.

In regards to the pillows, the Head Housekeeper has put new pillows into the room - thank you for the feedback on them.

If you choose to visit The Headland again, you might prefer a Fistral view room, as they have wonderful bathrooms with walk in showers with 1ft wide power shower heads. However, if you would rather have an Ocean view room, we can ensure it is a Queen sized double, rather than the King/Twin bed option. Please do speak to our Reservations Team, as they will be happy to ensure you stay in the perfect room for your requirements.

Best wishes,
Veryan Armstrong, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing