We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Previously we had visited the hotel for dinner and afternoon tea and were very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff and the level of service we received. Consequently we decided to book a family break staying in one of the cottages in The Headland Village. We had a wonderful stay. The self catering cottage afforded us the luxury of relaxing in our own spacious, well appointed 2 bed cottage, but also enabled us to take advantage of the hotel's many facilities The cottages are set within the grounds of the hotel and are well built and thoughtfully appointed. The views from our cottage were stunning and it was a wonderful feeling being so warm and comfortable inside, watching the huge waves on a stormy afternoon! A really great hotel with extremely helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure we had a super stay with them. We are really looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,089 - 3,095 of 3,618 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Myself and my current partner have just enjoyed a lovely two night stay at the Headland. We were extremely impressed with the Hotel. Our room (305), had a balcony which overlooked the lovely Fistral beach and provided us with a lovely roar of the sea. Inside, the room was tastefully furnished and had a lovley firm four poster bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size too. The whole decor of the Hotel is really impressive with sofa's and chairs plentifully distributed all over. The views out to sea are simply unbeatable in my opinion, and give the place a lovely cosy feel. The food was delicious too. Both the Terrace dining area and the Restaurant offered lovely food. The breakfast impressed me most as there was a simply fantastic choice on offer!

The staff here, are simply unbeatable. We found them all to be friendly and courteous whilst providing a class a service. They made the place feel really homely and made us feel like the only guests there.

The only small fault I could think of was, there was a very small choice of beer at the bar. And the bath towels were a little on the small side. Minor issues really.

I really recommend this hotel and hope we can return there again, very soon.

Thank You

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisdom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel is amazing i went to my mums wedding and they are all very frendley. the beach is well is amazing. i would love to come again. I would recmend it for weddings!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Once again the Headland surpassed all other hotels we have stayed in. This has become a special hotel for us as my partner decided to ask me to marry him during our stay!

We had a courtyard room which is one of the cheapest as they don't have a view but the room was perfect for us both, the bed was very comfy, there was hardly any noise from other guests and it was kept very clean. We had an issue with our room keys not working after we checked in, Tom on Reception was very helpful and even came back up with my partner to make sure they were working properly.

We ate in the brasserie for two nights and then in the Restaurant to celebrate the special occasion. All the staff were lovely, the quality of the food was outstanding and worth the price paid.

Breakfasts were equally as good, although they could do with a greater selection of cheeses. I ordered eggs benedict on one occasion and it was cooked perfectly, the rest of the selection at breakfast was the usual you would find at most hotels but the quality was so much better.

You did get some noise from the groundworks for the extension being built outside but this did not affect our stay in the slightest - you only really notice the building work if you actually go for a walk round the back of the hotel along the coastline - it appears to be being kept very unobtrusive for guests.

The staff at the Headland are all very friendly and make you feel at home. We hope to visit the Headland again next year.Thank you for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becca240280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We took a last minute break here and pleased we did, only for one night wish we could have stayed longer. Great first impression on arrival. Our room had the most amazing view and the sun was shining. The room was clean and well maintained, we did not dine at the hotel we had dinner at a local restaurant The Lewinnick Lodge great food service a bit slow but worth a visit as the restaurant sits on the cliff.
Back to the hotel, the breakfast was great and the staff really friendly
Would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Just want to congratulate the Headland on what was the best wedding reception we have ever been to. We attended Jacquie and Ricks wedding yesterday and from the moment we stepped into the Headland the service was just excellent. The food was fantastic.
Well done to you all!
The wedding planner was worth her weight in gold!
Only live 6 miles away but wished we stayed!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I got married at the Headland in September this year. We cannot praise the team there enough for their professionalism and attention to detail, but equally the friendly manner in which it was delivered. We spent 9 months planning our event, with many stays at the Headland as part of that planning, and we can honestly say that we have always had just the best experience, from the management and wedding planners, bar staff, reception team and not to forget some of the best food coupled with a view that quite frankly, doesnt get any better. We would recommend the Headland to anyone and thank them for our amazing wedding.

Room Tip: The views from the South Side of the hotel over Fistral are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,027 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £105 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing