We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four nights in May 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Four nights in May 2012”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a fabulous historic hotel, perched on the edge of the ocean, staying here is just like being an extra in an Agatha Christie mystery, minus any murders. Service is very friendly, the indoor pool had just been opened, both restaurants are great (we preferred the more casual restaurant near the bar for dinner but the sunset through the formal dining room windows is quite something). We were upgraded on arrival and stayed in a room overlooking Fistral beach. Enormous bathroom with heated tiles.
Guest laundry with coin operated machines available.
Dogs welcome with dog-sitting available!
There are adjacent cottages where you could self cater but also use the facilities of the hotel.
Quite exceptional.
One suggestion for nearby attractions - The Eden Project is an excellent day out. http://www.edenproject.com/
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,297
    676
    198
    62
    52
See reviews for
928
1,585
75
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Fabulous location.Well furnished room . Superb new pool area. Service polished,staff invariable polite and helpful. Food excellent. There are major extensions to the hotel being carried out but these are unobtrusive and we were not disturbed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Mark from Derby. Cannot believe we found a gem of a hotel like the headland. The staff are brilliant and nothing to much trouble, room 223 was outstanding in all areas, restaurant nice and food plentiful. The new pool was fabulous , relaxing late in the afternoon was a tonic. We spent four days in may relaxing in and around the hotel and nothing was to much trouble for the pleasant staff ( Sarah and Tom ) . All I can say to people reading this is book it . Overall ten out of ten . Would I stay again , absolutely YES .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C8CKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Excellent hotel where the staff could not do enough for you. We had not visited Newquay for 17 years and were a bit hesitant with what is being said in the press about it.
This hotel is in a fantastic location ,far from the hustle and bustle of the town.We had a courtyard room, as we did not expect to spend much time in our room, which was excellent value for money.The hotel facilities were excellent ,we really enjoyed the bunkers to sunbathe in. My only critisism would be the fact that dogs are allowed in the public rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferTickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages with breathtaking views but we did have use of the hotel facilities. Its a gorgeous ionic Victorian hotel used in a number of films/photographic shoots and we loved it.

The staff are well presented, polite and helpful. The hotel is yards from the Fistral Beach to which it has access.

Two very minor points would be - it would be great if cottage guests could get easier access to the coast by use of a gate with security code and the shower would be much improved by a glass panel rather than the rather droopy shower curtain that allowed water on the bathroom floor. But as I said, these are minor points and overall, we had a wonderful time and hope to return next year. Friends have already booked having seen our photos :)

We never used the well being centre or new pool as it is not yet finished and presently there are no changing rooms, which may be fine for hotel guests who can change in their rooms and use their robes to the pool but not really viable for those in cottages.

Once the builders have left site, Im sure the views will be even more beautiful and parking much easier!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hethmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

What a amazing weekend we have just had. The hotel staff were very welcoming, the locations was fantastic and the newly refurbished spa facilities were great. I would highly recommend one of the rooms with a view of Fistral Beach...south facing, looking right across the beach and with lots of surfing action what more could you ask for.

If you can afford it, treat yourself to a truly wonderful experience at the Headland Hotel Newquay

Room Tip: The Fistral Rooms are hightly recommeded for their great views of the beach and the surf
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel is as close as you can get to staying in one of the manor houses of England with the lovely interior design.. Yes, it is a historical hotel! Yes, it has a commanding view of the ocean! . Yes, it has a wonderful included breakfast! (Two great restaurants on site). Even the rooms remind me of a lovely room in a spacious home. We had a top floor with a side view of the ocean. Everything is pristine with continuing upgrades being done on this hotel. New swimming pools,a spa, steam room etc.are there to give a more complete resort feel. I am so glad that we were able to spend three nights here. A very lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing