We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,278)
Filter reviews
4,278 results
Traveller rating
2,970
888
255
90
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,970
888
255
90
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages terrace restaurant samphire restaurant fistral view courtyard room storm watching main restaurant four poster bed hotel facilities dog friendly hotel beautiful hotel self catering relaxation room stunning views cream tea steam room overlooking the sea
Filter
Updating list...
3,574 - 3,579 of 4,278 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Fantastic hotel on beautiful fistral beach in Newquay, the most child and dog friendly hotel with luxurious spa and rooms, lovely lovely staff and the most decadent breakfast you can imagine. Not cheap but worth every penny

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you very much for your posting to TA following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found The Headland to be friendly, we are very proud of all of our staff who contribute in numerous ways to make this one of our core strengths. I do hope that you will visit us once again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times and we can honestly say that the hotel and staff are greatly improved. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The new outside sitting area with the full view of the sea was fantastic and we could have happily sat there all day just chilling out. If you like breakfasts this will satisfy your needs. The only thing missing in the Terrace restaurant was pasta dishes and the soup was the same two days running. Apart from that FANTASTIC, we didnt want to come home. Improvement work continuing in September 2012 cant wait for the finished look with the spas etc. We think a member of staff should be checking the car park at weekends as we saw a few people use the car park for the beach that were not staying at the hotel. The room we had was a full ocean view (we thought it was a partial so nice surprise). Very comfortable room. Would like shortbread biscuits and not stem ginger biscuits in the room. (Can't stand ginger ).
Looking forward to our next stay :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea are at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hilary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review which was a real pleasure to read, it would seem as though you had the advantage of some of our beautiful Cornish weather during your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed the new glass fronted Veranda which along with The Terrace wraps around the Fistral Beach end of the Hotel perfectly! Thank you the mention of parking (which thankfully we have plenty of) as you can imagine this can be a challenge at peak periods. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Headland for the third time, we hope you will choose to enjoy many more visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here the last week of August. Overall we had a fantastic time at the Headland, the room we booked was a coastal view family room and I was very disappointed with the view which was essentially the golf course and car park, only if you went close up to the window and craned your neck could you see the the coast. On complaining about this the management were impressive in their response and gave us a different room the next day which had the expected view - superb!
The facilities are good and no doubt will be even better once the refurbishment is completed.The atmosphere is relaxed and all the staff do their best to help.We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. The only niggle we have regards the evening meal in the restaurant, although the food is of a good quality the vegetarian option was not.I would expect the vegetables and potatoes to be included with the main meal and not an extra (£2.50) and I do feel the restaurant lacks atmosphere, it can feel a little pretentious -not sure what can be done to address this, only when we come again it will be on a b&b basis.

Room Tip: if you book a coastal view family room try not to get 122
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you very much for your TA posting in relation to your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you felt it necessary to re locate to another of our Coastal family rooms but I am pleased that you were perfectly satisfied both with the outlook of your new room and the attention of our staff who took care of your request. We have Coastal rooms on two elevations of our Hotel and therefore there are a variety of views possible, both of which get requested by returning guests. The 'greeness' and surroundings of our approach golf course and the activity that can be experienced by being above our main frontage and the grandure of the drive beyond, are often favoured .The team and I look forward to welcoming you next time, and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just returned from the headland hotel where we had a fabulous holiday. The hotel is very relaxed, with great views of Fistral beach and the Atlantic. The new spa area is lovely place to wind down after a day on the beach. Our teenage son described his holiday, as one of his best!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your summer holiday with us at The Headland. Please pass on our thanks to your son also for rating us so highly ! Hopefully he found time to visit Ben in the new ‘Surfing is Therapy’ surf school. I am delighted that you enjoyed our brand new spa facility and I have pleasure in letting you know that by this time next year we will have some beautiful treatment rooms as well, not to mention a stunning new state of the art gym to work out in. Hopefully we look forward to seeing you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you're just looking for somewhere to rest your weary head and don't mind sleeping in what feels like a cupboard- then a courtyard room will do the job. However the views from the hotel are spectacular so I was bitterly disappointed to find our room not onlyhad probably the crappiest view in Cornwall but wasn't bIg enough to swing the proverbial! Shame as the hotel is lovely and the service really good. Too many children though-school holidays to be avoided.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mairthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you for your recent posting to TA following your recent stay with us and it was extremely disappointing to read your classification of the Courtyard room you occupied. I do believe that we are very specific in how we describe this category of room on our website so that we do not receive complaints of this nature. These rooms are described as 'great value' on our website and are the entry level bedroom category of six higher rated categories; they do therefore enable many would- be guests to enjoy a stay with us at a wonderful rate. I have attached the link from our website which supports a typical Courtyard room.
http://www.headlandhotel.co.uk/rooms/courtyard-rooms.php

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can help arrange any future reservation you may consider making in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews