We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We needed a break away from the stresses in London and the Headland delivered as only a grand hotel can with a comfortable room and splendid food. Loads of nooks and seating areas around for relaxing between walking along the Atlantic shore and cliffs. I love the whimsical wallpaper and the way they don't take themselves too seriously, while still delivering topnotch quality. The new spa area is wonderful, and the sauna bliss, though for me I would prefer a larger pool. We've been staying at the Headland as a family since the late nineties, this was our first time as a couple, and we'll be visiting many times again. Lots of weddings now compared with a few years ago, what a wonderful venue.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are cosy and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothea871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, and I am delighted to read that once again it would appear that The Headland has delivered much of what you were seeking. The new Wellness Area has been a huge success particularly with our return guests, and we are very excited about unveiling the beautiful new spa towards the middle of 2013.I hope that we will welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,902 - 2,908 of 3,621 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Visited for lunch on a Saturday at the end of September. Have both eaten here and stayed here over the years so expected certain standards from this amazingly located hotel. Boy did we get a shock. What a comedown. All the money which has been spent on the building and renovation work would have been better spent on staff training. There was a conference of some kind on and I don't know if the children who were running wild all over the hotel were with attendees or if they were guests but no adults in sight and staff seemed oblivious to what was going on. The mess the girls left in the toilets was unspeakable.
It was nice so we sat on the terrace - in beside the dead plants. To get there, because we had to use the side door, we had to squeeze past a trolley full of dirty dishes. What a smell of stale congealing food. No mean feat for my mother who is elderly and not particularly mobile.
Firstly the drinks order was wrong. Then the cutlery came after food was served, and lastly a soup spoon came after we had to ask for it. Soup cooling rapidly by that time. Other food was ok but not startling. In fact very mediocre for where we were and had had on previous visits.
The glass surrounds had panes missing and were dirty.The constant traffic going past the terrace kicks up a lot of dust and is noisy.
A lovely new decked seating area has been made and is very comfortable. Pity there are only steps to it. No access for mobility impaired member of our party. Why on earth does it look down into the dirty water in the roof channel below. Or are we supposed to be mesmerised by the view and will not notice it? How long before the water becomes stagnant and smells?
Great pity the outdoor pool is no longer heated. We had such fun in it on previous holidays. It needed a good clean as well. The new indoor pool is small and I think it would be overcrowded.
If this is modernisation then we could well do without it. This used to be a grand hotel but sadly the attention to cleanliness and standards has gone. Looks as though the clientele has too. It used to be busy on a Saturday lunchtime but there were only 2 tables taken in all the time we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

How disappointing to read a review such as this one, both in content and style. Thank fully this is not the norm in terms of the experience or memory that the vast majority of guests to The Headland share with us. It is our intention to look after all visitors as well as our residential guests, on this occasion it would seem that we failed miserably and for this I apologise.
We have begun developing a beautiful new Headland Spa now that the 'high' season has past. Our guests are regularly seen looking at the drawings that we proudly display inside the Hotel, and our staff can be heard sharing the updates on our progress. We find this all very positive, but likewise we ensure that future guests are made fully aware of any potential disturbance to their stay, both at the time of booking and through our website updates.
On the weekend that you visited the Hotel there was a returning medical conference who had virtually taken 'exclusive use' of our bedrooms and facilities. This included not only the delegates themselves, but also their respective families including their children who enjoyed their own booked entertainment programme. We were delighted that they deemed their event highly successful and have since re booked the whole Hotel once again for one year’s time.
I feel obliged to point out that on arriving at the Terrace Restaurant the side door that you used is for staff use and a also fire exit. However there is a main entrance through the Hotel which allows for the avoidance of any steps at all and additionally provides access to the 'lovely new decked seating area' that you refer to. The glass that you describe as missing had been removed quite deliberately and as one of our routine procedures which is carried out when there is an inclement forecast incorporating high winds. We are a very coastal location overlooking the stunning Fistral Beach, the small price we pay for this however is lots of brisk salty winds straight off the Atlantic Ocean, also the reason why we could be forgiven for trying to maintain flowers more successfully into late September.
As you rightly point out, we do not heat the outdoor pool from mid-September without the promise of a warm and settled period of good weather ahead; we advertise this fact in our literature, and find it a perfectly acceptable and reasonable policy to have in place. Additionally it is a shame that you have made an assumption with regards to overcrowding within our stunning new Wellness area. Our guests who stayed last summer were delighted with the dramatic improvement, and very much congratulating the Hotel on such a bold investment and enhancements in the current climate.
The Hotel has had one of its busiest years for some time, and it is regrettable that you have not been able to join the high levels of enthusiasm and praise that is infiltrating around what is being achieved at The Headland at the current time. I would have hoped to have had the opportunity to have dealt with your concerns at the time of your visit however I hope that you will contact me personally if I can be of any future assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Hotel is a wonderful place to stay.
We stayed for one week and we liked every minutes to be there.
The new pool is a bit too small, but in the early morning we where
the only one.
The breakfast is english, super the hot menue.
The staff is very nice and helpful. Cornwall is a beautiful country
and we would like to come again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Headland during your recent visit to Cornwall, and I hope that you will be back to see us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September. We stayed in a balcony suite which had the most amazing view! Our suite had 2 bedrooms so that would be great for families with children! The balcony was private and we left our doors open all day and night as to hear the sound of the waves crashing against the shore below. Because we had such an amazing room and view, we ate just about all of our meals through room service on our balcony--we had amazing weather during out stay! The food was 'ok'-maybe 3 stars.

The bathroom was very nice! There was a MASSIVE walk in shower, large enough to fit about 10 people! There was also a seperate, deep bath tub, 2 sinks, and heated flooring. The bathroom looked as if it were brand new. We had an electric fire place in our room, and large canopy bed in the main bedroom and 2 twin beds in the second bedroom. The seperate bedroom also had it's own window and tv.

There is a lovely spa in the hotel which was being renovated during our stay so we did not get to fully use this, but will do on our next visit! The hotel staff were friendly. The hotel is very dog friendly and they will supply food for your dog, treats, dog bed/bowls, etc. There are some nice walks around the hotel and I believe the beach outside the hotel attracts a lot of surfers. The beach is also dog friendly!!

Overall, we spent just under £1,000.00 for 2 people/1 dog, 2 nights stay, eating most of our meals through room service on our private balcony. The hotel is a bit dated in some places, but they are doing a lot of remodeling which is bringing the hotel up to date and it looks great!

If you're in the area, this is a great place to stay and I would recommend getting a room with a view! The waves are quite loud crashing below, but I found this to be very very relaxing! After my stay, I actually went out to buy a sound cd of waves to help sleep upon going home to London! However, I can appreciate that perhaps some people may not like the 'noise'. So it is worth saying that the back of the hotel is facing the coast, the front is facing a field so would probably be more quiet, but you would miss out on the amazing view!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel faces the coast, front faces a field. So front would be quieter, but you would mis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTimeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for this review it is truly wonderful and other than endorse that I think you have described The Headland experience beautifully I don’t know how to follow it! I am delighted that you had such a relaxing time at The Headland and I would imagine that the sounds of crashing waves and all that fresh sea air will stay with you for some time, well until next time maybe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A very memorable stay at a brilliant first class hotel! Service was perfect, friendly and welcoming. Rooms comfortable, and neat and tidy. Wonderful views, of the Atlantic and the Fistral beach, especially whilst dining. Breakfast, dinners, and afternoon teas were first rate. Will go back again! A quality modern hotel, but with a hint of quality hotels of old!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Big_Al191270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review and very much appreciate you taking the time in doing so. We genuinely hope that we deliver a careful balance of understanding modern day comforts and expectations whilst maintaining timeless care and attention to the service that you should expect in a hotel such as The Headland. We hope you have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I visited The Headland Hotel, Newquay in May 2012 with a friend of mine, both of us pensioners and both have walking difficulties. We stayed for 2 nights in a sea facing twin room.
The room was spacious and very comfortable although the beds were very close together.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean with many different types of areas to relax in. We ate in the conservatory bistro and found the food very good. We ate breakfast on the last morning in the restaurant and found it was plentiful and of good quality. The staff were very helpful and even accompanied my friend to the buffet and carried her plate back to the table for her.
Altogether a good experience.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have a sea view so make sure you ask for one on booking (if desired)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANE E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff were able to assist you and your friend when required and to make your stay even more comfortable and manageable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Love the Headlead. Was only there 1 hour and was feeling so relaxed, leaving the London worry behind. Food , staff, room everything great.. New swimming pool area with sauna and steam very nice but could get very busy at times. Want to get back there right now

Room Tip: You pay for what you get. So for a Big sea view room costly but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HotHotJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for your review, I am sure prospective guests of The Headland or those contemplating a return visit would like to imagine themselves being put in the same place and state of mind as you found yourself, we all look forward to welcoming you back ,the Spa opens in May 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £106 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing