We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A great place to stay, we stayed in one of their cottages. On arrival we were greeted with enthusiasm and shown to our cottage, everything explained and all with a big smile and friendly manner. We were offered help, on arrival and on leaving, with our luggage. The cottage was great, very comfortable and furnished to a high quality. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff even though they were extremely busy with a wedding over the weekend. Great place to stay and enjoy lots of walks.....we took dogs with us and they were welcomed too! We shall return for another stay.

Room Tip: Seaspray 4 cottage had lovely views from the sitting room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for posting a lovely review following an autumn break in one of our cottages. It is a truly wonderful time of year to enjoy the endless options of coastal walks as you rightly point out. Additionally to have a beautifully sandy beach on your door step such as Fistral, and which is dog friendly all year round, was surely a significant bonus. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will choose to come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,942 - 2,948 of 3,665 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

We booked this very last minute Sunday morning to be exact for that day got the 2 for 3 offer got there about 530 Sunday night and from the minute we arrived was so glad we booked the hotel was amazing we had a fistral room which over looked the beach and sea our room had under heating in the bathroom amazing view just got home today and want to go back staff so friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble would def recommend this hotel cannot wait to go back food was amazing we only ate in the terrace but the food portions should carry health warning portion for the fish and chips was large to say the least chips best I have ever tasted all I can say. Is amazing cannot wait for spa to be finished as could def make a girlie weekend although 3 half hour drive amazing def recommend hotel

Room Tip: Fistral or ocean view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suepat4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for sharing with us what sounds like a great stay. Any previous guests that have stayed in a Fistral room or suite at The Headland will know exactly the wow factor you felt on arrival, as well as the unbeatable view that you awoke to each morning; simply stunning and we see it every day!
We look forward to you staying with us once again when our spa is open in May 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

You just cant get any closer to the water without getting wet! Our room looked directly down onto the rocks and provided a lovely spot to watch the weather roll in. We enjoyed the top service throughout this hotel and we were made to feel welcome at all stages. Even if your not a guest in the hotel, try the coffee shop on the southern side of the building, its great place to sit and enjoy the view whilst enjoying a delisious cornish cream tea.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaldrickArmadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review following your stay in one of our Headland Cottages. They are so popular no matter what time of the year, but those which allow you to feel like you are simply on the ocean’s edge are just amazing; we certainly do understand why individual cottages are requested by name for return guests and soon become firm favourites! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This was our 4th stay at the Headland Hotel and a very special one for us as we were there on our mini-honeymoon having got married a few days before. All the staff at the Headland were fantastic from booking through to check in, changing rooms and checking back out again - they are a credit to the hotel. Maria in Reservations dealt very expertly with my requests! We even had a congratulations card waiting for us in our room which was a lovely touch.

The ongoing improvement works did not affect our stay at all - there was a slight disturbance at breakfast when the workmen started too early but it didn't affect the experience.

Food was of an outstanding quality and our dinner in the Restaurant on our last night was amazing - the Headland Signature dish of Lobster Macaroni Cheese was a delight and left us wanting more and is highly recommended.

The renovations to the pool area are fab and I can't wait for the rest of the spa to be up and running - I just hope that with the additon of a conference centre, it doesnt detract from the overall Headland Experience, I am sure the hotel management will work hard to make sure this doesnt happen.

We stayed in a suite for 2 nights and then moved to a cheaper Courtyard room for the rest of our stay - it was a bit of shame that there was such a difference in the rooms - the suite has been recently renovated and was lovely, the bathroom was modern with a walk in shower and large double ended bathtub...the Courtyard room was neat and tidy and nicely decorated but the bathroom could do with some modernisation work, the windows also had a tendancy to rattle in the high wind as they have not been replaced with the newer double glazing - It is a perfect room though for someone to use just as a base if they are spending lots of time out and about.

I was very unwell for most of the trip (nothing to do with the Hotel, I must add) but I couldnt have imagined being ill anywhere better! We look forward to coming back in years to come and to see all the changes as they take place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becca240280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us once again, and I am delighted that you had a successful stay on such an important occasion. It must be fantastic feeling to have been able to return to a Hotel that you already knew so well, and felt confident in trusting us to work our magic. The team as always will be made aware of your review, in particular your reference to Maria our reservations supervisor was very kind.
Please be assured that our future development phases are planned over a good number of years and will only be rolled out with the values and personal attention that the Armstrong family have always demonstrated when investing in The Headland.
Sorry to hear that you were not feeling your best whilst with us but that nevertheless you were still able to feel comfortable in our care. Best wishes for your future together and we look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We needed a break away from the stresses in London and the Headland delivered as only a grand hotel can with a comfortable room and splendid food. Loads of nooks and seating areas around for relaxing between walking along the Atlantic shore and cliffs. I love the whimsical wallpaper and the way they don't take themselves too seriously, while still delivering topnotch quality. The new spa area is wonderful, and the sauna bliss, though for me I would prefer a larger pool. We've been staying at the Headland as a family since the late nineties, this was our first time as a couple, and we'll be visiting many times again. Lots of weddings now compared with a few years ago, what a wonderful venue.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are cosy and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothea871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, and I am delighted to read that once again it would appear that The Headland has delivered much of what you were seeking. The new Wellness Area has been a huge success particularly with our return guests, and we are very excited about unveiling the beautiful new spa towards the middle of 2013.I hope that we will welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Visited for lunch on a Saturday at the end of September. Have both eaten here and stayed here over the years so expected certain standards from this amazingly located hotel. Boy did we get a shock. What a comedown. All the money which has been spent on the building and renovation work would have been better spent on staff training. There was a conference of some kind on and I don't know if the children who were running wild all over the hotel were with attendees or if they were guests but no adults in sight and staff seemed oblivious to what was going on. The mess the girls left in the toilets was unspeakable.
It was nice so we sat on the terrace - in beside the dead plants. To get there, because we had to use the side door, we had to squeeze past a trolley full of dirty dishes. What a smell of stale congealing food. No mean feat for my mother who is elderly and not particularly mobile.
Firstly the drinks order was wrong. Then the cutlery came after food was served, and lastly a soup spoon came after we had to ask for it. Soup cooling rapidly by that time. Other food was ok but not startling. In fact very mediocre for where we were and had had on previous visits.
The glass surrounds had panes missing and were dirty.The constant traffic going past the terrace kicks up a lot of dust and is noisy.
A lovely new decked seating area has been made and is very comfortable. Pity there are only steps to it. No access for mobility impaired member of our party. Why on earth does it look down into the dirty water in the roof channel below. Or are we supposed to be mesmerised by the view and will not notice it? How long before the water becomes stagnant and smells?
Great pity the outdoor pool is no longer heated. We had such fun in it on previous holidays. It needed a good clean as well. The new indoor pool is small and I think it would be overcrowded.
If this is modernisation then we could well do without it. This used to be a grand hotel but sadly the attention to cleanliness and standards has gone. Looks as though the clientele has too. It used to be busy on a Saturday lunchtime but there were only 2 tables taken in all the time we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

How disappointing to read a review such as this one, both in content and style. Thank fully this is not the norm in terms of the experience or memory that the vast majority of guests to The Headland share with us. It is our intention to look after all visitors as well as our residential guests, on this occasion it would seem that we failed miserably and for this I apologise.
We have begun developing a beautiful new Headland Spa now that the 'high' season has past. Our guests are regularly seen looking at the drawings that we proudly display inside the Hotel, and our staff can be heard sharing the updates on our progress. We find this all very positive, but likewise we ensure that future guests are made fully aware of any potential disturbance to their stay, both at the time of booking and through our website updates.
On the weekend that you visited the Hotel there was a returning medical conference who had virtually taken 'exclusive use' of our bedrooms and facilities. This included not only the delegates themselves, but also their respective families including their children who enjoyed their own booked entertainment programme. We were delighted that they deemed their event highly successful and have since re booked the whole Hotel once again for one year’s time.
I feel obliged to point out that on arriving at the Terrace Restaurant the side door that you used is for staff use and a also fire exit. However there is a main entrance through the Hotel which allows for the avoidance of any steps at all and additionally provides access to the 'lovely new decked seating area' that you refer to. The glass that you describe as missing had been removed quite deliberately and as one of our routine procedures which is carried out when there is an inclement forecast incorporating high winds. We are a very coastal location overlooking the stunning Fistral Beach, the small price we pay for this however is lots of brisk salty winds straight off the Atlantic Ocean, also the reason why we could be forgiven for trying to maintain flowers more successfully into late September.
As you rightly point out, we do not heat the outdoor pool from mid-September without the promise of a warm and settled period of good weather ahead; we advertise this fact in our literature, and find it a perfectly acceptable and reasonable policy to have in place. Additionally it is a shame that you have made an assumption with regards to overcrowding within our stunning new Wellness area. Our guests who stayed last summer were delighted with the dramatic improvement, and very much congratulating the Hotel on such a bold investment and enhancements in the current climate.
The Hotel has had one of its busiest years for some time, and it is regrettable that you have not been able to join the high levels of enthusiasm and praise that is infiltrating around what is being achieved at The Headland at the current time. I would have hoped to have had the opportunity to have dealt with your concerns at the time of your visit however I hope that you will contact me personally if I can be of any future assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Hotel is a wonderful place to stay.
We stayed for one week and we liked every minutes to be there.
The new pool is a bit too small, but in the early morning we where
the only one.
The breakfast is english, super the hot menue.
The staff is very nice and helpful. Cornwall is a beautiful country
and we would like to come again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Headland during your recent visit to Cornwall, and I hope that you will be back to see us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
22.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £103 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing