We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB-U-LOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is truly a home from home, dogs welcome, friendly service, fab food, & facilities getting better. We only live 30 mins away, but we come to stay to really chill out. Just out of the Newquay mayhem to feel isolated, but ten min walk to centre of the town. The most fabulous views all around. Lots of work going on in the grounds at the moment but not effecting the running of the hotel. The cottages in the grounds are fantastic value & are really luxurious. We come over often just to sit on the deck & have lunch. The food is always good and the dog gets free food too !!! Dogs are allowed on Fistral beach all year round so great in summer or winter. The hotel rooms are spacious & well decorated, but best of all are the staff. The service is amazing & rivals the best hotels & cruise ships we have had holidays on. Will keep coming back & look forward to all the new things they are building & planning.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxytida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

This is a terrific review and what a wonderful picture you have painted of The Headland, we are all very proud of the Hotel and Cottage Village and everything that it stands for. As you rightly mention and we would very much agree, our staff are an all important equation in the success story. We never take such an enviable position, and stunning location for granted, but it does make a very special and memorable setting for so many of our return guests.Thank you very much for being a very valuable return visitor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,814 - 2,820 of 3,547 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just returned home after spending 3 nights at the Headland. I have stayed an numerous hotels in Newquay and the Headland is by far the best!! The staff were very friendly and we were even given an impromptu tour by one member of staff! I think the fact it ix not part of a chain and follows no corporate agenda is really nice, it retains great charm! The room was great, view was fantastic! The new spa is excellent and it was nice to be asked for feedback by another member of staff on this facility which goes to show they are interested in the residents experiences at the hotel. Breakfast was awesome!
It is nice that the hotel is so dog friendly - this was not expected. I have stayed at many other hotels with a dog a not felt as welcome. The staff all seemed very happy to see our dog and that just added to the whole experience. Overall, I would find it difficult to fault the place! Great work, I look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank btw2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review, and for sharing what sounds like a very enjoyable short break with us. Your experience very much reflects how we would hope to be portrayed by our guests, it would seem that there is a very strong preference from our regular guests, to be staying in a privately run Hotel and of course for being so dog welcoming! We look forward to seeing you back at The Headland again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was my first stay at the Headland for over 20 years as I used to holiday there as a child and was determined that I would stay there again one day. The hotel's situation is the USP and you really feel like you've arrived somewhere special as you drive up to it. The rooms were comfy (bed was lovely), spotlessly clean and warm. Shower was excellent. Majority of staff were extremely friendly (one miserable barman let them down) and helpful. Breakfast was good although we had to wait a long time to be seated and served on Sunday morning although apologies were forthcoming. I just wish we could have stayed longer but we will next time!

Room Tip: Have the Eggs Benedict for breakfast- superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for a lovely review and how lovely that you finally re traced your foot prints of some 20 years earlier, quite remarkable. The Headland must have made quite an impression coupled with fond memories the first time around. My apologies that there was an unsatisfactory ‘blip’ to your experience on Sunday morning, but a matter that we will follow up. Please don't leave it so long next time before coming back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Booked this Hotel on Late Rooms. Beautiful location, beautiful hotel. Impressive lobby, dining room etc. We had a courtyard room so no view it was very small but adequate for the price we paid we were happy. My only let down was the Hotel was more dog friendly than children, unfortunately I am asthmatic which is triggered by animals. This was not made clear on Late Rooms! The reception were very good and assured me that House keeping was spot on and the room we had hadn't had dogs in recently, however I did find it strange seeing dogs wondering up and down the corridors, thankfully they were not allowed in the dining rooms.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLK133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent short stay with us. I appreciate your honest feedback with regards to the extent of just how 'dog friendly' you found our Hotel to be. Unfortunately, it is not always possible to give as much detail about our Hotel as we would like on others websites; however I will be looking into this as a matter of genuine interest for future guests who intend to use this route to book, over the next few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Our fourth trip to the headland (third time in the cottages) and I still can not fault our stay. Our welcome was first class. The staff were fantastic going out of their way to help us when we enquired about bike hire. Although there is building work happening at the moment I felt this has been well planned out with as minimal disruption as possible. The new pool area is fantastic - especially love the new steam room and aromatherapy showers. A big thank you and well done again headland. A special thanks to Sarah and Rob for all your help throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for continuing to be a loyal follower and guest of our Headland Cottages and I am delighted to read that you were made to feel so welcome by our staff, I will ensure that Rob and Sarah are aware of your kind mention of them.
As you rightly say we are well under way at the current time with the ongoing development of The Headland Spa, and next year we will be unveiling a beautiful new facility for our guests to enjoy some well earned relaxation and pamper time. It’s been a very exciting time of late; meeting with some truly outstanding spa product houses along with all their welcome advice and suggested signature treatments, our website will have the most up to date developments as they happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was our third stay in the self catering cottages (first with a new baby) and once again we weren't disappointed. Lovely clean spacious apartment with everything you need for a self catering stay, and a great child friendly atmosphere in the hotel.
There is some building work going on at present but apart from a little disruption in the car park did not bother us at all. Facilities in the hotel (available to all in cottages) are now even better with a great new spa complex with pool, steam room sauna etc. Perfect for an afternoon of relaxing. Food in the terrace bar was lovely and it was nice to be able to pop over for a drink and to relax in one of the many areas with big comfy sofas.
It has been a perfect place for holidaying both as a couple and with children, and we look forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: When booking a cottage use the interactive map to see what kind of room and view you get - each one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay in one of our cottages. Additionally I am delighted that you also found the time to experience the beautiful Wellness area in the Hotel, it will be wonderful for all our guests to complete the full experience, when the full complement of the Headland Spa comes to fruition in May 2013.Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming back your toddler next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After doing the usual trawling of the net to try to find a hotel that accepted dogs we finally opted for the headland. A little over our budget but boy are we glad we did.
From arrival to checkout. nothing was a problem for any of the staff at the Hotel. The room's were superb, clean and fresh on arrival and then again when they were made up everyday. Views were just amazing. The breakfast at the Headland really is something else with a huge variety on offer you just cannot walk away from breakfast without feeling content.
We had our Springer, Sophie with us and she was made to feel as welcome as we were and the pleasent receptionists even dogsat for us while we had Sunday lunch in the restaurant.
If you're not interested in dogs then don't let this deter you. The hotel is sparkly every where and the fact that it allows dogs has no bearing on the service or cleanliness of the premises.
You can walk (with our without a canine) and witness further stunning views of Newquay.
My guess is the Headland is one of the more pricey hotels in the area but is worth every penny if you are looking for quality. If I was pushed it would be impossible to find fault with the any aspect of our time at the Headland and we are already looking for suitable dates to return next year.
Thanks Headland - a big thumbs up for all involved.
Daren, Michelle and Sophie.

Room Tip: Coastal views are as good, if not better than sea views and may be slightly cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear Daren, Michelle and Sophie.
Well, your review is just fantastic and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing it on this particular forum. If I was considering a stay at The Headland I think it would convince me to stay for sure!
With regards to our pricing strategy, we remain very confident that The Headland does and will always continue to represent great value for money and that is what is most important to us. We have a whole range of bedrooms and suites in various categories, and we can therefore appeal to most budgets.
It sounds as though Sophie also enjoyed her change of scenery; we are often reminded how difficult it can be for dog owners to find a Hotel that genuinely welcomes dogs, as opposed to just ‘dog friendly’, as well as dog sitting!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £107 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing