We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beautiful Headland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Beautiful Headland!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages, they are beautiful, but it was not as clean as it should have been for 5 star. The bathroom floor wasn't clean, but as soon as i complained they sent someone to clean it. We were also surprised when we arrived we were presented with a £150 deposit, which wasn't mentioned anywhere on the website or when booking the cottage. It is in a beautiful location surrounded by sea views, however, which I suppose made up for all the little faults. We enjoyed going to the bar where a member of staff called Aaron was very helpful and friendly as were the other members of staff, but didn't bother trying the restaurant as the food didn't look anything special, & being this close to the sea there are quality eateries everywhere.

- Rooms not as clean as I'd like from a 5 star hotel
- Amazingly stunning location & surroundings
- Beautiful hotel
- 4 days was not long enough!!!

Room Tip: Can't speak for the hotel rooms, but the self catering cottages are beautiful and well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahKille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with at one of our Headland Cottages. It was most unusual to learn that any of the Cottages are anything other than immaculate upon occupation by our guests; however I am re assured to hear that we rectified the situation upon request. These situations are very rare indeed however, should not have occurred in the first place, please accept my apologies.
With regards to the charge of £150 deposit charge which you have referred to, I can confirm that this clearly stated within the terms and conditions section of our website.
It is a shame that you did not indulge in the seasonal menu and the array of fresh daily special s on offer in The Terrace; table reservations are often essential, due to the popularity of this restaurant with residents and locals alike, and I think may well have been pleasantly surprised.
I do hope that this will not detract from any future stay that you may be considering with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,339
    697
    206
    66
    55
See reviews for
953
1,622
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was our first trip not only to The Headland Hotel but also to Newquay!

Having spent most of our business and leisure stays in hotel rooms the 5 * cottages were a very welcome change.

We opted for the cottages for several reasons: We like to eat breakfast at our leisure, we like to have direct access to the outside either to a balcony or garden and we like to have our own front door. On top of this I am studying so having the large kitchen table and WiFi access was invaluable!

They come equipped with absolutely everything you need including; dish washer tablets, washing up liquid, kitchen roll and salt and pepper mills. There is also a complimentary tray of beverages and a carton of milk in the fridge as well as dressing gowns. Attention to detail - love it! Obviously you also get the flat screen TV, DVD player and stereo.

Towels and bins are changed daily, but you don't get the knock on the door at silly o'clock and, if they do knock at an inconvenient time, they come back when you ask!

Outside of the french doors there is a decking area with table and chairs leading to a grassed area and the most captivating sound and sight of the Atlantic Ocean!

Parking is away from the cottages but the lovely staff use a wicker trolley to bring your luggage around for you.

Unfortunately due to my going through chemotherapy for the dreaded breast cancer, we didn't test out the gym or pool, something we would normally be into before we've unpacked! Next Year though!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Tide Three Cottage, is a two bed with lovely sea views. However from what I can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank customerserviceagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Your review was wonderful, thank you so much and I am delighted that your first experience to the Headland Cottages was an enjoyable, and I am sure we will have the pleasure of you trying not just our current Spa facilities but the full works next year! It is really positive for us to know that the 'little things' or attention to detail that you describe is appreciated, and contributes towards making 'your time' as relaxing and easy as it can possibly be. Good luck with your ongoing treatment and best wishes from us all until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is truly a home from home, dogs welcome, friendly service, fab food, & facilities getting better. We only live 30 mins away, but we come to stay to really chill out. Just out of the Newquay mayhem to feel isolated, but ten min walk to centre of the town. The most fabulous views all around. Lots of work going on in the grounds at the moment but not effecting the running of the hotel. The cottages in the grounds are fantastic value & are really luxurious. We come over often just to sit on the deck & have lunch. The food is always good and the dog gets free food too !!! Dogs are allowed on Fistral beach all year round so great in summer or winter. The hotel rooms are spacious & well decorated, but best of all are the staff. The service is amazing & rivals the best hotels & cruise ships we have had holidays on. Will keep coming back & look forward to all the new things they are building & planning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxytida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
This is a terrific review and what a wonderful picture you have painted of The Headland, we are all very proud of the Hotel and Cottage Village and everything that it stands for. As you rightly mention and we would very much agree, our staff are an all important equation in the success story. We never take such an enviable position, and stunning location for granted, but it does make a very special and memorable setting for so many of our return guests.Thank you very much for being a very valuable return visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just returned home after spending 3 nights at the Headland. I have stayed an numerous hotels in Newquay and the Headland is by far the best!! The staff were very friendly and we were even given an impromptu tour by one member of staff! I think the fact it ix not part of a chain and follows no corporate agenda is really nice, it retains great charm! The room was great, view was fantastic! The new spa is excellent and it was nice to be asked for feedback by another member of staff on this facility which goes to show they are interested in the residents experiences at the hotel. Breakfast was awesome!
It is nice that the hotel is so dog friendly - this was not expected. I have stayed at many other hotels with a dog a not felt as welcome. The staff all seemed very happy to see our dog and that just added to the whole experience. Overall, I would find it difficult to fault the place! Great work, I look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank btw2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, and for sharing what sounds like a very enjoyable short break with us. Your experience very much reflects how we would hope to be portrayed by our guests, it would seem that there is a very strong preference from our regular guests, to be staying in a privately run Hotel and of course for being so dog welcoming! We look forward to seeing you back at The Headland again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was my first stay at the Headland for over 20 years as I used to holiday there as a child and was determined that I would stay there again one day. The hotel's situation is the USP and you really feel like you've arrived somewhere special as you drive up to it. The rooms were comfy (bed was lovely), spotlessly clean and warm. Shower was excellent. Majority of staff were extremely friendly (one miserable barman let them down) and helpful. Breakfast was good although we had to wait a long time to be seated and served on Sunday morning although apologies were forthcoming. I just wish we could have stayed longer but we will next time!

Room Tip: Have the Eggs Benedict for breakfast- superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you for a lovely review and how lovely that you finally re traced your foot prints of some 20 years earlier, quite remarkable. The Headland must have made quite an impression coupled with fond memories the first time around. My apologies that there was an unsatisfactory ‘blip’ to your experience on Sunday morning, but a matter that we will follow up. Please don't leave it so long next time before coming back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Booked this Hotel on Late Rooms. Beautiful location, beautiful hotel. Impressive lobby, dining room etc. We had a courtyard room so no view it was very small but adequate for the price we paid we were happy. My only let down was the Hotel was more dog friendly than children, unfortunately I am asthmatic which is triggered by animals. This was not made clear on Late Rooms! The reception were very good and assured me that House keeping was spot on and the room we had hadn't had dogs in recently, however I did find it strange seeing dogs wondering up and down the corridors, thankfully they were not allowed in the dining rooms.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLK133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent short stay with us. I appreciate your honest feedback with regards to the extent of just how 'dog friendly' you found our Hotel to be. Unfortunately, it is not always possible to give as much detail about our Hotel as we would like on others websites; however I will be looking into this as a matter of genuine interest for future guests who intend to use this route to book, over the next few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Our fourth trip to the headland (third time in the cottages) and I still can not fault our stay. Our welcome was first class. The staff were fantastic going out of their way to help us when we enquired about bike hire. Although there is building work happening at the moment I felt this has been well planned out with as minimal disruption as possible. The new pool area is fantastic - especially love the new steam room and aromatherapy showers. A big thank you and well done again headland. A special thanks to Sarah and Rob for all your help throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you for continuing to be a loyal follower and guest of our Headland Cottages and I am delighted to read that you were made to feel so welcome by our staff, I will ensure that Rob and Sarah are aware of your kind mention of them.
As you rightly say we are well under way at the current time with the ongoing development of The Headland Spa, and next year we will be unveiling a beautiful new facility for our guests to enjoy some well earned relaxation and pamper time. It’s been a very exciting time of late; meeting with some truly outstanding spa product houses along with all their welcome advice and suggested signature treatments, our website will have the most up to date developments as they happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
852 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing