We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class at an affordable price, beautiful place, beautiful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Class at an affordable price, beautiful place, beautiful people”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Russell Kent, From Torquay

we stayed in the Headland hotel in February 2013 and what a fabulous experience we had, the room was excellent with fantastic views, the staff were absolutely perfect, very friendly and very helpful with our little dog (even looking after her while we sat down to evening meal).
I couldn't fault this stay or the staff, if you are looking for the perfect holiday at a very reasonable price this is the place.
Food was excellent, breakfast especially was superb as we had a full Cornish breakfast with all the trimmings.
Newquay just has it all, wonderful scenery and wonderful people, Just relax and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: get a front view overlooking the ocean and just listen to the ocean roar, its so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay at The Headland recently. It is always our pleasure to look after the dogs whilst the guests enjoy their evening!
Our chef was very pleased to read your comments regarding the breakfast, it is a great way to start the day before taking a long walk along the coastal paths, taking in Newquay’s stunning scenery. It will be our pleasure to welcome you all back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,331
    695
    204
    66
    55
See reviews for
945
1,618
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We booked into the Headland for a weekend into a Coastal room. When we got there they had upgraded us to a Fistral room which was better views. The room was exceptional and I couldn't fault it at all. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and although we had been led to believe their prices were really high we did not find them that expensive at all. I can't wait to go back and we have booked our wedding there for 2014,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
It was lovely to read your very kind comments following your stay at The Headland Hotel. I have passed your comments on to the staff in the Hotel. We are always happy to help and like to accommodate all guests in order to feel welcome and at home when they stay with us.
It is fantastic news to hear that you have chosen the Hotel for your very special day. We will all be delighted to see you and your family and friends for your wedding in 2014. In the mean time we look forward to welcoming you both again before the big day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My boyfriend (now fiance should I say) surprised me last Friday and booked us into this hotel (we come to Newquay a lot and have seen it from Fistral beach many times and always wanted to stay!). The hotel is lovely - magnificent from the exterior and beautiful inside too - open fires etc. I was so happy to learn I was staying there for 3 nights.

The girl who checked us in was really helpful and went the extra mile by showing us to our room. My boyfriend had arranged flowers and chocolates for the room, which was another wonderful surprise, which they helped him to arrange! The room was beautiful and had the most amazing view over Fistral Beach. The spa was excellent and we are really looking forward to returning when the gym and treatment rooms are up and running - this was the only thing missing for us this time.

Whilst we were staying, my boyfriend proposed on the beach, so this will now always be a special place for us and we are hoping to have our wedding at the hotel and plan to visit the upcoming wedding fair. We did enquire about a brochure etc and wanted to be shown the rooms that were available for the ceremonies etc. They were really helpful at the reception but their knowledge on the wedding side of things was slightly limited so perhaps it would have been good if they took our details and put us in touch with the event organiser or whoever would be able to give us some more info - perhaps our fault too for not asking them to take details though?

The only other negative was that on the night of our engagement we went to the main restaurant (which is a bit more pricey than the other Terrace restaurant) to celebrate and felt it wasn't really worth the extra money. They were slow to take our order at every point and when the food came we were never asked if everything was ok with our meals. The restaurant was really quiet so I couldn't quite understand why the service was so slow. However, other than that the room is beautiful and the food was lovely and it was a very special evening for us both.

On the plus, we enjoyed 2 lunches and 2 dinners at the Terrace restaurant which was much better in terms of service - really friendly and quick to take our orders etc. and the food was really nice - the menu was perhaps a little limited - we couldn't have eaten there any more times as it would have become too samey but all in all we were really happy with our meals there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smilealice783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Firstly I would like to congratulate you and your fiancée on your engagement. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments, we welcome all guest feedback. I am very pleased to hear you were so happy with the room your Fiancée chose for you both. Our receptionists are always keen to go the “extra mile” as you put it so that you feel welcome and attended to from the moment you arrive.
In the absence of the Events Manager the Reception team are on hand to give advice regarding a wedding and their knowledge is not as in depth as the Events Manager. I appreciate this matter being bought to our attention and I will remind the team to take guests details to pass on to the Events Manager in the future.
The wellness area and pool are indeed a lovely place to relax, with regards to the gym and spa area, this is a new project rather than a refurbishment, therefore it is a little longer in the planning. We are thrilled to say that it will be unveiled later this year.
Our Restaurant and Terrace that you dined in are both equally as popular as each other with the Restaurant being the more formal dining experience of the two. I appreciate your honesty whereby you mention that the service was slightly slow and I can assure you that we will look into this matter further with the Restaurant and any staff members involved. I shall also be sure to pass your comments onto the Terrace Manager regarding the menu size. Each season this menu does change. It would have been possible, on request, to ask for a meal to be slightly altered should you wish, however, this matter can also be looked into.
We are very excited to hear that you are looking to hold your Wedding with us. If you wish to visit the Hotel again to tour the grounds and speak to the Wedding and Events Manager direct we will be able to arrange this for you at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

From the moment you pull up outside this splendid Victoria Hotel you know you have arrived somewhere special. After going through the revolving doors into the foyer you see how they have retained all its character and atmosphere. That impression was sustained as we were shown to our elegantly refurbished seaveiw room. We couldn't wait to get to the spa so put on our cozzies and dressing gowns. It would have been nice if slippers had been provided but it didn't spoil our relaxing experience of the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. We enjoyed a delicious three course dinner and even more amazing selection for breakfast. My haddock and eggs were sublime!!!
The staff were very friendly and made us feel very much at home, and even had time to tell us about all the exciting future developements. The time for us to leave came far too soon, we can't wait for our
next visit.

Room Tip: Fistral View rooms highly reccommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helenfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We always welcome feedback. It was lovely to hear that the Hotel met your expectations of grandeur from the moment you arrived. We do like to make an exceptional first impression!
I appreciate you bringing to our attention the slippers in the pool and wellness area. I am pleased to confirm that once our new Spa is completed we shall be providing complimentary slippers to all guests who visit the pool and spa.
Our chef is thrilled to hear that you found the eggs and haddock sublime! You mentioned our staff made you feel at home. It is lovely to hear that you found everyone so welcoming. We do indeed have many future developments planned over this year and the next.
We will be very pleased to welcome you and your family back to the Headland Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed with my 11 year old granddaughter during half term and we had a really lovely time. The staff are fantastic and the food is excellent. Breakfast was a particular delight with an amazing choice. We loved our room -spotlessly clean and with superb views. The spa area is really beautiful and we cannot wait to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Headland Hotel. We were all thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. It must have been a wonderful time for you being on holiday with your granddaughter and we are pleased to hear that you found all aspects of the Hotel such a high standard.
We hope that you will return to the Headland; we have many exciting plans for the future. Whereby many more happy memories are to be had!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Headland Hotel at the beginning of Febuary half term for three nights and really enjoyed our stay.The staff are all very pleasant and well trained,our room was good with a nice view and the spa excellent.We also enjoyed playing pitch and putt golf and the surf facilities also excellent (offering showers ,changing room and surf board storage was a great service)
We enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant for valentines although for two adults and two children it was a little expensive and we thought the menu in the conservatory was limited in the evening but overall can really recommend this beautiful hotel.Just to complete this review I must also say that I was woken during our second night by someone stroking my face........which I reported to the reception team in the morning !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Headland recently, and for kindly posting a review thereafter. It was great to read that you found the new surf school a positive facility, and that you were able to make the best of our outside activities as well.

I will ensure that your opinion of the menu's which were presented during your stay are discussed the food and beverage manager and thank you for the feedback.

It would appear that you may just have encountered our very friendly ghost, and you should therefore be aware that you are a very important guest indeed! There hasn't been sight or sound of this one for some time now! I hope that our reception team suitably understanding when you were relaying the details to them in the morning?

I hope that you will be back to see us later in the year, best wishes from the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This was our 5th trip to this large seaside hotel and we have always had wonderful stays here. However, this last trip just did not match our previously good experiences. We had booked a Fistral suite and were quite disappointed by how small the sitting room was - just a dressing room really and only contained/had room for one small sofa and a TV! The bedroom was adequate. Our last stay was in a coastal view room for less money of course, but we felt, better maintained than the suite which was just not worth the extra and probably should perhaps not be called a suite. Better to go for a larger suite if you require a decent sitting room. We both needed to work and needed the space. The bathroom was excellent but did not have underfloor heating as the previous room had. There were no slippers provided and apparently none to be had. The menu in the Brasserie is very limited. The main dining room was much better although we felt one or two staff members did not have a good enough grasp of English. But they were pleasant and hardworking. Previous visits have always provided turn-down but not this time and in fact considering this was only day 2 of a new season on the Saturday our room had not been serviced before midday. The spa is still out of commission due to refurbishment which has been going on for an awfully long time. Not a problem, as we knew that before we booked - but others may be disappointed if they don't thoroughly read the website. We felt that the hotel, on this visit, had just lost that edge which it previously had.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for sharing your experience.We welcome all constructive feedback,usually outstandingly good I am pleased to say, but not always as in this case.

We are pleased to be able to offer an extensive range of rooms and suites throughout The Headland, and therefore able to accommodate the needs of all our potential and return visitors alike, relavent to rate and facilities, style and aspect.

Our Coastal rooms offer excellent value for money. However the vast majority of our guests would say that the Fistral beach views,of contemporary beachside styling ,the underfloor bathroom heating,feature bath tubs, and massive waterfall showers that come within the 'Fistral' category cannot be rivalled, and once tried always will be....!

Thank you for your comments with reference to a lack of menu choice and I will ensure that this is raised with appropriate members of the team.I am delighted to assure you that guest slippers will be readily available,once the full spa facility is open.Our turndown service during early evening has always been available and remains so at all times of year. Due to guest preference however and in the interests of keeping guest disturbance to a minimum,we deliver this service only to those that accept when asked, during the check -in procedure.It is quite unusual for bedroom servicing to run beyond mid day where in- house rooms are concerned , this is something that we will be mindful of, but this is not something that we have been made aware of before.

With refererence to the spa being 'out of commission' I feel that I should clarify that it is a brand new £2 million facility, not a refurbished one,and has therefore never been in commission due to still approaching completion in the next couple of months.We have a beautiful Wellness Area which is being very well received by all that experience it. Coming very soon, will be a suite of treatment rooms,relaxation lounges,manicure and pedicure stations and not to mention a brand new state of the art 'LifeFitness'gym.

We hope that you will not be detracted by returning to The Headland when I am sure that you will find everything up to the usual high standards that you have come to expect of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing