We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location- hotel average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Headland hotel has a superb location overlooking Fistral bay with outdoor and indoor pools, a spa and a pitch and put course. Our room was on the third floor and was OK but considering the price I have stayed in better. What was annoying was that the desk and chair were placed immediately in front of the wardrobe so if a person was sat there the wardrobe could not be opened and there was no way through to the bathroom.
The breakfast was really nice and the service and variety of food was good.The hotel does seem to have a lot of functions weddings etc which I appreciate hotels do have to do. On the Monday of our stay the restaurant and the whole large lounge area were closed as there was a conference. This meant that guests staying in the hotel had to have breakfast inn the terrace area and obviously could not use the large lounge area, it did feel, like guests were being shunted around to make way for functions. Please also check your bill carefully. I checked mine and there were 2 items showing that we did not have. When this was queried I was told someone had left without giving room numbers so it seemed the cost was put on our bill ,the bill was altered immediately

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay although I’m sorry to read that your experience was not entirely positive and for this please accept our apologies. Our internal courtyard rooms are snug and cosy and these entry level rooms do represent extremely good value for money, however I would suggest perhaps that one of our fabulous Fistral or Ocean View rooms would better suit your future needs: I would be only too happy to assist you with your next booking and provide detailed room plans - please do contact me personally. Please also be assured that we do value the individual needs of all of our guests although it is inevitable that some groups and weddings do have an impact however, the Headland is a large hotel with an enormous amount of space on the ground floor where usually guests are able to find a quiet corner quite easily. Finally, with regard to the discrepancy with your bill, this is most unusual and I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,794 - 2,800 of 3,743 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked a few days break at the end of August and had a really relaxing time. Lovely room with a view over the Atlantic. Each day started with a splendid breakfast where you were not rushed to vacate your table for the next person, with plenty of food to suit all palates. All hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has plenty of space inside and out to stop unwind and relax. Will definitely be booking again for next year.
Best of all we were able to take the dog to enjoy our break with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 513Amanda789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Our Headland Spa is the perfect place to rejuvenate and escape the rat race – perhaps next time you may wish to treat yourself to some well deserved ‘me-time’!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We just love it here. Have been many times and always come home refreshed, recharged and keen to go back. The cottages are better equipped than home; worthy of their 5 star rating. The hotel is an experience not to be missed. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the hotel is spacious and relaxing with fabulous views over the Atlantic Ocean from the main sitting area. They serve the best breakfast we've ever had - sets you up for the day. The indoor pool area with sauna, steam room and huge hot tub offer a wonderful way to unwind after a day walking or fighting the waves. I tried a Cornish massage in the newly built spa this summer which was divine - we watched it being built last October and are delighted with the finished product. Can't wait to see what new delights are on offer for our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Well, we can’t wait to show you the delights on offer too! The final phase of the Spa is all but complete and includes a gorgeous luxury VIP couples suite, rhassoul mud room, hydrotherapy suite and relaxation lounge. The owners continue to reinvest in the Headland and are next looking to redesign the outdoor leisure area and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked for 1 night then changed for 2 then due to work I had to go back to one.... still with me?
there was an error on the price of the original booking, which I rang to rectify whilst amending booking- remember this it comes up again later!
I booked the cheapest room a courtyard and was kindly helped with our bags by Rory 5* guy- who had only just started there. I was extremely tired and wanted a good nights sleep , there was a fan noise so I asked to change rooms. This was room 033. This took at least 40 minutes to sort out, the next room 030 was great. so we unpacked and went down to the wellness center which is brilliant, loved it. My only comment to management would be to up the cleaning esp detailed cleaning. Go around and look behind doors when they are shut etc.
When we tried to book the dinning room, we were told it was full, so if you want to eat in there do so when booking.
Meanwhile back in the room- the on the wall 'hoover' style hairdryer could not cope with my long hair and i had to send for reinforcements, which quickly arrived - full marks.
Methinks i will have a cuppa , lovely variety of teas coffee etc but nooooo kettle would not work until I moved it to another socket!
We went to dinner in the terrace bistro . As we settled in then the wedding band tuned up - what a row! I thought here comes that migraine, but luckily they stopped.
Food was delicious, no problem with my gluten free food and they had gf bread.
Couple things were not quite right no steak knife or mustard until asked for. But overall great.
up to bed , bit concerned about the wedding noise but as it is a grand old building not a problem, good nights sleep.
Lovely breakfast, spot on.
tried to check out in a hurry as going to World belly board championships, the error had not been put right (see earlier) then my card played up not taking refund so to cut a long story short made us late!
summary-- lovely hotel, great food, but felt a little confused old new bits of building, standards not consistent across the staff but will go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfercazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post the good, and not so good, comments which we value as an indication of what is needed to improve the level of service offered to our guests. Rory was especially pleased to see you singled him out for praise! The issues you have raised here have been passed to the relevant departments for review. With specific reference to the Spa, I would like to welcome you back now that the Gym is installed and the builders (almost) gone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just had a lovely holiday at the headland's ,august bank holiday week, its the third time we've stayed in the cottages,they are clean comfortable and have everything you need, it feel's so good to sink into the cosy crisp bed's after a full day's surfing.
The charm and lovely relaxing atmosphere of the hotel;s lounge area's is perfect, so much nicer than modern decor, all the staff were helpfull and polite. Just can't wait for our next visit, as our twelve year grandaughter said it's just like home.
M A.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We’re delighted you and your family had such a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home from home’ very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at The Headland for a 2 night DBB break. We had stayed before a few years ago and were pleasantly surprised at the improvements made to the hotel.The Spa in particular is a relaxing and excellent addition to the hotel facilities and the Terrace is a great place to spend a couple of hours enjoying the sunset. Because we were late in booking we were given a side view classic room which was comfortable enough and had a partial sea view. The food was exceptional, with a varied menu including a number of fresh fish dishes served in a spacious dining room overlooking the sea.

For me the two outstanding things that made our stay so enjoyable were the friendly staff and the fantastic views. As a regular business traveler it makes such a pleasant difference to stay at a hotel which isn't part of a large chain. We would certainly go again, and perhaps try out the cottages next time.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We’re delighted you enjoyed our new Spa at The Headland. It has been very exciting to see the development of this area which now also incorporates a state of the art gym. The owners continue to reinvest in response to guests’ feedback and are pleased to see that your review included so many positive comments. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here for our wedding anniversary!

On arrival we were checked in efficiently and shown to our room, our room was nice, clean,spacious and had a great view!
We didn't eat in the restaurant so we can't comment on the food but the breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice.
We did have treatments in the spa, and they were fantastic my therapist Rachel was very professional and attentive! I am a beauty therapist myself so I am probably more critical than most but I couldn't criticise anything.
On the morning of our wedding anniversary the hotel had sent us a card which was a lovely personal touch.
All the staff were very polite, I have no idea why some reviews are critical of staff!!
My only slight negative is that I would say it was a teeny bit pricey but we had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miranda016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We’re so pleased you chose to stay at The Headland to celebrate your very special wedding anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back and to enjoy more of our fabulous Spa treatments. For the ultimate in pampering, we have a special VIP suite for couples offering luxurious massage treatments and a chill out area which will be perfect for your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £110 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing