We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent holiday in October 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Recent holiday in October 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Absolutely fantastic 5 star hotel. Wonderful personal, warm service from all the staff. Wonderfully dog friendly whereby our dog could go into the hotel and bar area so that we could have lovely relaxing evenings in the bar even though we stayed in the cottages attached to the hotel. A great base for travelling around Cornwall or simply relaxing at the hotel; surfing in Fistral bay and having lovely walks along the coast.

Room Tip: Cottages are fantastic and give you that bit of independance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
On behalf of the Headland team, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your dog back to join us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,262
    665
    194
    59
    51
See reviews for
909
1,564
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

What can I say! Second stay in the cottages, this time with my husband. Who equally loved these cottages. From the first night he was already planning a trip down next year!
These cottages are truly, lovely. It helps as the location is amazing. Hearing the waves crashing on the cliffs is soooo relaxing.
Dined in the terrace, love the menu and portion sizes good. Again, Penny our cocker spaniel made very welcome, she also loves it hear. Cottages def. 5 star. Some things about the hotel could improve, as we we're unable to book a spa treatment for a whole week of staying there! Yet other guests from other hotels had managed to get appointments. I feel guests staying should be a priority! Anyway, would def. Stay again but would like to be able to book some treatments. Many of the outside spa guests we're using a special deal, where we would have been paying for 4 individual treatments!
Hopefully this will be managed better by next year.
So moral is book well in advance to avoid disappointment :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review and making the observations regarding availability of Spa treatments. Since its launch, the Spa has proven to be extremely popular with residents and non-residents alike and, as word of mouth spreads, I’d strongly recommend that advance booking is essential especially for our monthly specials which are advertised throughout the hotel and on the website. The Spa lounge and gym are now open and soon we will be able to offer six treatment rooms which should overcome the problem you highlight here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a fabulous hotel with wonderful views over Fistral Beach.
We celebrated our Son's Wedding here only last weekend and although it was October the weather was beautiful. We had drinks and canapes on the hotel lawn with stunning views of the sea and beach below. It really was the perfect venue.
The hotel is large with huge public rooms and a fabulous recent addition is the terrace area overlooking the sea. Our meals were excellent and the breakfast will set you up for the day!
Some of the party stayed in the hotel itself but we stayed in a 6 berth cottage adjacent to the hotel itself. The cottage was fabulous with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms so getting ready for the wedding wasn't too difficult.
I would imagine staying here in the depths of winter would also be great and the hotel does short winter breaks, so we may be back shortly!

All in all, a great weekend and everyone who attended the wedding had a great time. Thanks to all the friendly staff for making this special occasion even more special!

Room Tip: Pick a room where you can see Fistral Beach and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craftytaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
To be chosen as the venue to celebrate such an important occasion as a wedding is always a tremendous honour and one our staff truly thoroughly enjoy. On their behalf, I thank you for your lovely review and am delighted that you, your son and daughter in law and all your guests had such a lovely and memorable day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My Wife and I visited the Headland Hotel several times during our two weeks stay in Newquay and found it a very friendly and welcoming hotel. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. We had friends with us on a couple of occasions and the Hotel were able to cater for a gluten free diet, they even had gluten free scones. Great place to spend a lazy afternoon overlooking Fistral beach. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyDE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
It’s kind of you to post this review. Our chefs are able to cater for all dietary requirements and if advance notification is given, they will enjoy preparing something extra special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my partner in September & had a lovely comfortable stay, we booked an ocean view room & the view was outstanding, (loved watching the surfers) the rooms were very clean & the bed was really comfy, staff we very pleasant & breakfast was lush with a wide variety. Loved the spa only downfall i could not book in for a treatment as they were fully booked so i would book before hand to avoid disappointment but overall a lovely stay thanks :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannechamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. You are right to book your Spa experience in advance and I suggest you have a look at the online treatment menu as there are so many fabulous offerings to choose from!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

It is with disappointment and anger that I find myself writing this review. My Husband and I choose to stay at the Headland Hotel because we thought it was the Fairy Tale Hotel that we had always admired for afar since meeting in Newquay 15 years ago. The Hotel was also perfect for us because it would allow our Welsh Springer to come with us and she would also get to enjoy running on Fistral beach.
Our complaint with this hotel is not based on the room, the food, the spa or the location. It lies directly with the owners of this hotel that proudly advertise the hotel as being Family-owned and run for over 30 years, the hotel and cottages pride themselves on delivering outstanding service in a world class position on the Atlantic coastline. This is not the service we received when we found out that our keycard was stolen from the changing rooms in the pool/spa area and then the keycard was used to assess our room that had our irreplaceable dog Saffie in it. I must point out that this is the first hotel I have stayed in where no lockers are provided in the pool area changing rooms. As a result I and everyone else in the pool had no means on securing our room key.

Thankfully whoever broke into our room did not steal our dog but took our car key, other valuables, wallet and purse. Our car was stolen from the carpark along with a lot of things as we had only been at the hotel two hours and had not completely unpacked. That evening the police came to take a statement and discuss the incident with the hotel but the owners did not appear. The following day we spent the morning trying to sort transport back to Surrey, organize emergency money and emotionally dealing with the traumatic experience of the previous night. The owners still did not appear to say how sorry they were or to see if were ok or to check we were able to get home? However when we requested that we would like to see the owners Mr Armstrong appeared, within 15 minutes (we were told he is always walking around the hotel) So why had he not bothered to come to see us before? Was it because he does not care what happens at his hotel? Did he not think the incident was not serious enough? Did they feel the hotel was at fault because the spa reception was not manned and there were No lockers in the pool area?
After a few days at home we expected the hotel to have contacted us to see how we were and see if there was anything they could do to support us. Two weeks passed and the hotel had still had not bothered to e-mail or even bother to pick up a phone. We decided to seek professional advise and subsequently wrote a factual letter to the hotel and asked them to reply within 14 days and yes as you guessed they did not bother to reply. Finally after sending a reminder and a letter written from the BHA (British Hotel Association) and the local MP we received an e-mail from their insurance company asking why we thought the hotel was liable. We also finally got a response from Mrs Armstrong and she basically said she hoped the insurance company had been in contact and if not please let her know.
Most people reading this will probably think if they stay at the Headland Hotel this wont happen to them and I hope it doesn’t, but until the hotel address the security of the pool this cannot to guaranteed. Also be aware if something does go wrong during your stay the owners are unlikely to care or have any empathy for what happens.

Well in short this was not the Fairy Tale we had spent 15 years dreaming of. This whole experience has been and continues to be very stressful. It has left us feeling like we never want to stay in a hotel again especially one that is not part of a chain. The hotel has completely washed their hands of the whole incident and left it with the insurance company who as you would expect care even less than the owners (if thats possible).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank welshsaffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
There are very few incidents of theft but sadly this event occurred in August. The bedrooms have strong boxes, use of the guest safe is available, there are lockers in the leisure area and the manned Spa reception desk is right beside the pool entrance.
The senior management staff on duty dealt with the incident and the proprietor saw the guests on departure. Before the police and insurance companies from both parties had time to investigate fully, the hotel was asked to pay in excess of £20k, with the threat of court action if this was not forthcoming. At the time of writing this response in late October, the hotel's insurance company is still waiting to hear further from the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I like this place; the view, the room, the staff. It's a bit eccentric, not smooth and the staff are human - so it's not perfect but we'll be back next year. Food - breakfast is very good and whilst I note others have complaints, just ask the staff, it will be sorted. Evening meals reduced the review from five to four.
I guess you also have to remember that it's your holiday and time can be a bit more fluid if you relax.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are a family business and are perhaps more personable than many of the large corporate chains. Our guests enjoy the friendly, relaxed nature of the hotel and staff, which may be what you refer to as eccentric, and the hotel also holds 4* accreditation for its facilities and high standards in customer service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing