We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent break”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Spent a few days the Headland in order to have a relaxing time. It fitted the bill exactly! The staff were very helpful & friendly when approached, but did not intrude. The views from the hotel were superb - there were surfers to watch for 12 hours of the day if you wanted to do so. Our room was well appointed, with the requested walk-in shower, & excellent views of Fistral Bay.
Retaurant food was varied & tasty, again with attentive, cheerful staff. Plenty of comfortable places to sit and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments which our staff have seen and appreciate very much. Your feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,350
    706
    206
    67
    57
See reviews for
956
1,639
79
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have been going to The Headland for 20 years but this was our first visit for five years. In our view the hotel was good but is now better. We stayed in a Fistral view room with outstanding views. We ate in the restaurant and the terrace and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality. The hotel has clearly benefited from money being spent on it and the new Spa looked lovely. We will certainly go back.The new terrace overlooking Fistral Beach is lovely.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the sea then the Ocean, Fistral or other side rooms are good. The side with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. There has been heavy investment made by the owners of the hotel and we are rightly proud of our new Terrace and the Headland Spa which we believe complement the grandeur of the old building perfectly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Fabulous hotel to stay in due to location and age of hotel. Spacious rooms (we had a courtyard view) but rate included breakfast, complimentary robes during our stay and a wonderful backdrop - it is hard to get closer to the Atlantic Sea! Staff very friendly, good stay, would return.

Breakfast was ok, service was good but please stop guests bringing their mobiles and having loud conversations! My husband and I are in our 20s but even we appreciate some time off from mobile phones when admiring the sea views from the restaurant - please ban them at breakfast - it spoiled the wonderufl piano playing and relaxation at breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for posting your comments and I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that mobiles can be a disruption, however, most guests recognise the ambience within the restaurant and respect their fellow diners. We don’t normally have problems in this regard and I think when listening to live music, most people naturally put their phones on silent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had previously stayed at this hotel some 25 years ago with my parents and was looking forward to returning. I'd booked a courtyard room as I was using the hotel as a base for visiting local attractions, therefore I was not overly concerned about not having a room with a view. The room was very comfortable and i could not fault the cleanliness of the room, or in fact the hotel. The price was extremely reasonable and included breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style although you could also order items from the menu, the breakfast selection was very good and I could not fault the service.

I was also very impressed with the welcome at reception on arrival and was checked in without any delay, also a very nice touch was the receptionist offering to show you around the ground floor of the hotel prior to showing you to your room.

The pool was open until late in the evening which you could access with your room card, the only downside to the pool area was that no lockers where available. Also after reading an earlier review i was not happy to leave items unattended in the changing room therefore i would leave my bag insight on one of the poolside chairs.

The hotel location is defiantly its major selling point, the views from the headland and walks along the cliff top are not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review; I’m so pleased that after waiting such a long time to return, we lived up to your expectations! The Spa lockers are available for all guests using the leisure area and you may also use the hotel safe and your own room strong boxes if additional security is required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went to visit the new spa at the hotel this Sunday with a friend and I have to say it was stunning. It has been done beautifully and the staff are very helpful and freiendly. I had the Atlantic Seaweed treatment which was amazing. Highly recommmended and I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauradennis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
This is a fantastic treatment and the Spa team are delighted that you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will be able to come back soon to try their seasonal Winter Warmer treatment which is exclusive to the Headland Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages at this property and it was lovely. Spotless, beautifully and simply decorated with a well kitted kitchen. The views and location can not be beat! Very, very well thought out. Responsive but unobtrusive staff. Can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars2dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Your heavenly review is a pleasure to read! We too can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We has stayed at the Headland a few years previously, and were not disappointed on our return. We had a very pleasant ocean view room, and I would say that there can't be many hotels in the World with a more beautiful location. Service was impeccable and food was excellent. The only small criticism I would make is that there were too few disabled parking spaces.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGD1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and I so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comment suggesting we increase the number of disabled parking spaces; this is something we can put forward for discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing