We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Headland occupies a beautiful spot overlooking Fistral Beach. But unfortunately we were extremely disappointed in our stay.

We were in room 307 which looked out towards the sea. I thought I had booked one of the newly refurbished rooms and if that was what we had been given then the standard is low at best - mouldy windows, dirty looking carpet, terrible shower, rusty radiators.

We had a king size bed which was two singles pushed together which was very uncomfortable and certainly not what is expected of a 'luxury' hotel.

They are however very dog friendly and we were given some poo bags, treats and a 'bed' for our dog.

We were offered a turn down service which was terrible - all they did was pull the curtains over the dog's bed. Bins were not emptied, bed not turned down, no clean towels. My husband spoke to reception and they said they would send someone to change the bins but they never came.

Service was mixed. We only ate in the bar so that we could have our dog with us. The first time we had to wait and eventually had to seek someone out to order a coffee. The second time, one meal arrived cold but Sanjay's curry was very good.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was very good though.

We spoke to the manager about how these little things made our stay disappointing. He couldn't do much for us, and we didn't expect anything. We definitely are not the sort of clientele (age demographic) the Headland is after.

We won't be going back, definitely not recommended and a waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Selinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I have looked into your turn down service on the night and, at the time following your call, we immediately offered to rectify the situation but this was refused. I did have the opportunity to meet you on departure - you explained that the traditional style of this hotel was simply was not your personal taste and that you had already made a reservation for another hotel locally. The weather has been gorgeous and I hope you had a lovely time.
Perhaps we could discuss whether one of our 5 star cottages may be suitable for your future requirements. They are all of an exceptional high standard and contemporary: we have had consistent positive comments and furthermore, they are dog friendly, all have private gardens / decking and enjoy an unrivalled position on the headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,297
    676
    198
    62
    52
See reviews for
928
1,585
75
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were looking for a dog friendly hotel. Instead of just booking over internet i rang up and spoke to Katie: I felt so confident that this was the right place to book: We were not disappointed. Overlooking Fistral Beach it was perfect. We were lucky with the weather. We arrived on Monday 14 th October:) How dog friendly was this Hotel.... it was a home from home for dogs: Dogs are not allowed in the Main restaurant, which we knew before arriving: Toby was allowed in the Bar and the lounge: We were able to eat in the Bar and had breakfast in the lounge.... Perfect!!!
Also we were able to sit out on the veranda with Toby too:) There were dog bowls in the Bar and veranda. When we arrived in the room, there was a throw for the Bed / chair doggy "poo" bags and 3 chews, together with a letter for Toby explaining everything, from the resident dog.
This hotel is very traditional and has a lovely feel about it: We are looking forward to our next visit there. They also have cottages, which we checked out before leaving.... What views of the beach / sea there are from them. Toby met lots of doggy friends there. He will look forward to seeing Sam there (Sam came with his mum from London) again hopefully next time we go.

The staff there are so very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Thanks to all of you:

Oh and i must thank Richard for my Jeff o'cake Cocktail:)

Thanks to all

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwynnie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
It’s a pleasure to see our guests enjoying their holiday with their four legged family members and our location is perfect for some unrivalled coastal and beach walks which must provide some of the best dog walking in the country. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great location and 360 views from the hotel. Lovely, newly refurbished spa. Good dinner in the terrace bar and a nice breakfast selection. Well priced accommodation but rooms a little dated. Unfortunately the wifi didn't work. Will be nice once they've completed the renovation plans and refurbishments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieSerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. We offer an extensive range of rooms and suites and go to great lengths to ascertain the needs and preferences of our guests at the time of booking, ie: from the very classical Victorian décor through to our stylish and contemporary Fistral rooms. Comprehensive detail is available on www.headlandhotel.co.uk and our reservations team will be happy to make sure you get exactly what you require on all your future bookings. With regard to wifi, we are working with Superfast Cornwall and have been advised that our connection is imminent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Spent a few days the Headland in order to have a relaxing time. It fitted the bill exactly! The staff were very helpful & friendly when approached, but did not intrude. The views from the hotel were superb - there were surfers to watch for 12 hours of the day if you wanted to do so. Our room was well appointed, with the requested walk-in shower, & excellent views of Fistral Bay.
Retaurant food was varied & tasty, again with attentive, cheerful staff. Plenty of comfortable places to sit and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments which our staff have seen and appreciate very much. Your feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have been going to The Headland for 20 years but this was our first visit for five years. In our view the hotel was good but is now better. We stayed in a Fistral view room with outstanding views. We ate in the restaurant and the terrace and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality. The hotel has clearly benefited from money being spent on it and the new Spa looked lovely. We will certainly go back.The new terrace overlooking Fistral Beach is lovely.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the sea then the Ocean, Fistral or other side rooms are good. The side with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. There has been heavy investment made by the owners of the hotel and we are rightly proud of our new Terrace and the Headland Spa which we believe complement the grandeur of the old building perfectly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Fabulous hotel to stay in due to location and age of hotel. Spacious rooms (we had a courtyard view) but rate included breakfast, complimentary robes during our stay and a wonderful backdrop - it is hard to get closer to the Atlantic Sea! Staff very friendly, good stay, would return.

Breakfast was ok, service was good but please stop guests bringing their mobiles and having loud conversations! My husband and I are in our 20s but even we appreciate some time off from mobile phones when admiring the sea views from the restaurant - please ban them at breakfast - it spoiled the wonderufl piano playing and relaxation at breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for posting your comments and I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that mobiles can be a disruption, however, most guests recognise the ambience within the restaurant and respect their fellow diners. We don’t normally have problems in this regard and I think when listening to live music, most people naturally put their phones on silent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had previously stayed at this hotel some 25 years ago with my parents and was looking forward to returning. I'd booked a courtyard room as I was using the hotel as a base for visiting local attractions, therefore I was not overly concerned about not having a room with a view. The room was very comfortable and i could not fault the cleanliness of the room, or in fact the hotel. The price was extremely reasonable and included breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style although you could also order items from the menu, the breakfast selection was very good and I could not fault the service.

I was also very impressed with the welcome at reception on arrival and was checked in without any delay, also a very nice touch was the receptionist offering to show you around the ground floor of the hotel prior to showing you to your room.

The pool was open until late in the evening which you could access with your room card, the only downside to the pool area was that no lockers where available. Also after reading an earlier review i was not happy to leave items unattended in the changing room therefore i would leave my bag insight on one of the poolside chairs.

The hotel location is defiantly its major selling point, the views from the headland and walks along the cliff top are not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review; I’m so pleased that after waiting such a long time to return, we lived up to your expectations! The Spa lockers are available for all guests using the leisure area and you may also use the hotel safe and your own room strong boxes if additional security is required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing