We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Fantastic stay, food was stupendous, staff friendly and unassuming and always at hand for advice/help. Their new spa is amazing... what more can is there to say!! This was our fourth visit and would highly recommend, for us it has always will be an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

That’s exactly what we’re here for and we wish our guests similar positive memories of an enjoyable stay with us. The Spa Leisure Area is available for the use of all hotel residents and, as you say, is an amazing facility located within the Headland. Thanks for the recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,535 - 2,541 of 3,543 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay in one of the Headland Cottage, On arrival I was made to feel very welcome by the reception staff and also shown to the cottage.

The cottage itself was amazing, very well furnished and equipment, it was like home from home. The sea view from the living room was fantastic. Most of the hotel staff that I came across were very friendly and helpful.

I booked a 'storm watching' package which included either Sunday Lunch or afternoon tea. When I checked in this wasn't mentioned to me and I later forgot all about it until I checked out. I did mentioned it to reception on leaving, however she didn't seem very interested and just said that a note would be placed onto my booking to say I didn't take it.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and the cottages, however if you book a storm watching package remember to ask about it.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: any with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

I’m so pleased you had a wonderful stay and had a bird’s eye view of the stormy Atlantic Ocean although I’m sorry that you were unable to take up the inclusive offer of Sunday lunch or afternoon tea. We have since reviewed our systems to ensure that guests on our special packages do pre-book all meals or treatments which they are entitled to and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just back from a week at the Headland with my less abled mother who was made to feel so welcome and her every need was catered for . The house keeper really went the extra mile to make sure my mum had everything she needed and this was so very welcoming and kind and would draw us back again given the level of care and consideration ...nothing was to much trouble.

The hotel has an accessible room and this makes life so easy for less abled guests, we used a local care agency who were fantastic to help with personal care whilst staying. the hotel has a ramp so easy to get wheel chair into the reception area however we pointed out it really does need hand rails both sides of the ramp and automatic or sliding door to aid entrance as can be difficult to get in with wheelchair or limited mobility in bad weather .

The night porter took time to speak to guests when passing as did most of the other staff again a nice touch considering they are all so busy.

The hotel has a well presented spa area and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed. My bath room in 116 was tiny and impractical and the shower was an older unit all worked fine and plenty of hot water

This was my 2nd visit to the Headland and we will be coming again for a relaxing break .

The restaurant staff seemed very friendly and nothing was to much trouble , I hope the French waitress who broke her toes is in the mend ...her service and smile really stood out and made our dining experience all the more pleasurable.

Bok yourself a break at this lovely hotel and you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

The suggestions you make are valid and will be put forward for consideration – thank you for bringing them to our attention. Thank you too for your kind comments which have been passed on to the relevant people who were delighted you had taken the time to mention them. I am also happy to report that the broken toes are well on the mend !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Myself and my sister and my dog Tyson had previously arranged to stay at the Hotel back in September however due to our Gran being taken ill the Management had agreed to leave a credit open so we could look to going back to the Hotel…which we managed to do from the 8th to the 11th November.

Our stay at the Hotel was made to be very special one…considering what is going on in our lives with nans illness at the moment etc all members of the staff made our stay a pleasant relaxed one….all so friendly and helpful customer service impeccable.

Can honestly say that across the board have never been in a position to say that we couldn’t find any fault in anything food fab drink good…but what comes to the fore front of everything apart from location and a beautiful well kept Hotel is without a doubt the staff friendly and attentive.

It is a must see not to be missed out on...we are already planning our return trip...we cannot wait!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We’re so pleased you were able to make the trip and that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. We do get to know many of our guests very well and pleased to go the extra mile when we can. Please pass on our very best wishes to your Gran and we wish her well in her recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went to an awards function, beautiful location just outside town with sea views. Building is full of character outside and in. Very well maintained and staffing was excellent - people outside helping to find parking spaces, plenty of staff inside providing drinks, waiting on tables etc.

A very positive atmosphere in the hotel with homely (well stately homely really) decor and furniture.

Food at this function was limited I guess due to budget, but it was very well done and excelent presentation.

This is the sort of place you could not fault for function or for a leisurely break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FullNotGlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We have received excellent feedback following these awards and we love hosting such events at the hotel as it feels that the Headland was made for large functions. Furthermore, we were delighted to be presented ourselves with Gold Awards for both the hotel and the cottages in the Cornwall Tourism Awards which makes us very proud indeed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in Room 210 for 3 nights and it was beautiful. The room had 2 sets of french doors leading on to a balcony and overlooking the cliffs and beach. It had a large fully tiled bathroom, with a separate toilet, a sitting room, chaise settee, which was very comfortable, a fireplace and everything else that you might need. Large, comfortable bed, not sure why it needed 9 cushions on it, but that seems to be the very annoying trend nowadays. Very clean and spacious. Staff are very helpful, special thanks to Aaron and Natalie, who went out of their way to look after me. Downside was the main restaurant held functions every night, so we had to eat in the Terrace, which was very hit and miss. Lots of lovely walks round the bays. Would definitely recommend and go back. I understand the cottages are very good as well.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room with a balcony it is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyndaHilliardEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and your positive feedback which have been passed on to the team. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Your visit did coincide with two large conferences we were hosting at the hotel and although measures were put in place to look after our residents at this time, we are now reviewing how we can make improvements to our service levels so that consistency of our standards can be universally upheld. As an aside, one of the events was the Cornwall Tourism Awards in which the Headland was shortlisted in both Large Hotel of the Year and Self-Catering Establishment of the Year categories and I’m delighted to report we were awarded Gold Awards in both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Last February we started planning our small intimate wedding at the Headland Hotel. We visited a few times to look at the venue and each time the staff could not have been more helpful, we emailed the team often with little requests and changes, again nothing was too much trouble,

We only had 12 of us with 2 dogs but we hadn't made it particularly easy for then.
Each couple were staying two nights. The rooms ranged from Coastal, Courtyard and Best which in itself could have been a nightmare with a few of us with the same surname, but this was executed perfectly.

We booked afternoon tea at 4-00 in the Littlte Fistral Room on the day of arrival which was fab, the food was amazing and they had done the room up in a 1930's style with music to match and candlesticks which were lit set the scene.
Then glasses of champagne at 6-30 delivered to our rooms while dressing for dinner,which went like clockwork
Dinner in the terrace which was a very informal area and lovely and relaxing with lovely food.
On the morning of the wedding we booked surfing lessons with 'Surfing is Therapy', located in the hotel, at 9.15 for 9 of us which again went really well the surfing school catered for swimmers and non swimmers alike
Then we booked 12 mini pamper sessions in the spa.We choose massages. Manicures. Pedicures and facials. Again these worked beauifully with our timing requirements

The wedding was at 4-00 in the Morning Room. The staff where on hand constantly in case we needed anything, followed by canapes and bubbles, served to our guests

In the evening we ate in the main restaurant and they set out the place names,put our chocolates out and placed the flowers from the ceremony in the centre for us.

Every little detail we asked for was delievered without a hitch

We can not thank the staff enough for making us and our guest feel welcome and relaxed during the time we had at the hotel, the staff are all a credit and this is why i couldn't single out individuals for praise , they all deserve it.

We had two dogs with us and they were made to feel really welcome with treats etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 190802Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to look after you and again, congratulations !!! I’m sure you’ll have very many fond memories of your special day here and we look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversary celebrations in future years. On behalf of all of us, but especially the Events team who worked so closely with you to ensure everything was just perfect, thank you for posting this review as it means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £104 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing