We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Outing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Long ago we chose this hotel for its location right over the unrivalled wildness of Fistral Beach. Where else do you hear the crashing waves and watch surfers in the moonlight from your bedroom window?
We've been visiting each year for our family outing for at least 10 years, which must speak for itself, but this year deserves special praise for that "wow" factor created by the new spa and the particularly impressive service, together with the excellent standard of cooking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your very positive posting to Trip Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure to once again look after your family for your annual visit to The Headland am delighted that it was a success for all.I look forward to seeing you once again next year, Best wishes Darryl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,634 - 2,640 of 3,672 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in Dec 2013. We cannot fault the lovely building in a great location, the military precision of the wedding organisation nor the amazing and child friendly staff. However I have to question the logic of putting us (a family with a 2 year old boy) in a room (109) directly over the dance floor of a Christmas party. The music got progressively louder up until 1AM by which time the boy was wired and didn't get to sleep until 3 AM thus leaving his already exhausted parents completely sleep deprived. Other guests in rooms further from the music didn't hear a thing and got a good nights sleep. I guess it is the nature of the old building but if you are expecting sound insulation forget it as the following morning I was awoken early (having had little sleep) by guests next door loudly vomiting. In short: nice place, room had a comfy bed shame we didn't get much sleep in it.

Room Tip: If there is a party going on (and there probably is as they are well set up for parties) stay away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I am sorry to read that your stay was not very successful, with respect to your quality of sleep. I can only apologise at this point; I hope that you had a helpful and satisfactory response from one of duty manager’s at the time.
I suspect that on this rare occasion when there was both a Christmas party and wedding taking place concurrently; our reservations team have allocated a room with the potential of some awareness that there would be entertainment in progress. As an attendee of one of these events; we have made an assumption, wrongly, that you be unlikely to be your room whilst the entertainment was in progress. Clearly we had overlooked that this was a ‘family’ room and therefore the high possibility that you staying with children.
Please do get in contact if at any time you are considering a return stay as I would be delighted to manage this booking personally. Thank you for this feedback which we acted upon,
Glad you enjoyed the wedding and our beautiful building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have stayed in the hotel a few times and rate Room 236 as part of one of our most special holiday experiences ever. This year (November, weather cold!) we stayed in one of the cottages for the first time, as we decided to bring the dog along with us - we ended up staying for extra time as they are so good! They are rated as 5 star and they really are - very well furnished, a great kitchen area and beautifully warm at all times - we turned the radiators down and didn't need the additional gas stove.
We had never taken the dog away with us before - appreciated the advice sheet from the hotel's own dog which tactfully laid out the ground rules! - but we found she was well provided for, with the cottage's small (tiled) lobby area making an excellent place for her bed and an old bed cover left to put on any furniture she might choose to get onto - she doesn't do this but we covered the cream armchair up anyway.
Our package included dinner in the hotel one evening and this too was very good, the staff are friendly and attentive. We used the hotel bar most evenings, lovely to sit by the log fire with a cocktail, local cider or Tribute!
We hope to book 236 for our ruby wedding stay in 2015 but will certainly come back to the cottages before that. Highly recommended in all respects.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but I would recommend 236 (4-poster bed, facing the sea, small balcony) or one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I can understand why you have stayed in that particular room on a number of occasions, it is a very popular choice. The Cottages offer a very different experience, a real sense of freedom and space, your very own cottage by the sea!
We look forward to seeing you back at The Headland in the New Year, and you are very welcome to bring your dog if you choose to return to room 234

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Headland hotel, WOW! It is a stunning hotel which combines an old style with modern and is everything you could ask for.
Firstly, its location....... Right next to the world famous surf beach of Fistral, amazing views of the Cornwall coast line and a short walk in to town for shopping.
The spa is perfect for a relax and has every kind of treatment and beauty regime you could wish for and a fantastic gym for those who still have any energy left!
The restaurants serve beautifully cooked and presented food which will make your mouth water and give you really hard choices when looking at the menu!
Whilst the hotel is impeccable, the cottages are equally stunning and provide a beautiful and secluded place to stay and are self catering which gives you a bit more freedom. Personally I prefer the cottages to the hotel!
And the staff, well they make the place! They are all perfectly dressed, tidy, polite, kind, helpful and are always available to assist with anything.

Room Tip: They are all good but the cottages which are on the sea view side are just idyllic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zchobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Headland Hotel, Cottages and Spa. We are very fortunate to be able to offer the beauty of space, either the luxury that of a five star self-catering cottage break on the rugged North Cornish coast, but having the all the services of the hotel close at hand. Alternatively, and as you rightly say, there is also the hotel with all the services you would expect from Cornwall’s finest. Hot off the press, is the news that our spa has just gained ‘five bubbles’ from the Good Spa Guide!
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and taking the time to post this review, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After a quite stressful few months, we decided to treat ourselves to a weeks break by the sea. We booked a Headland Cottage with a view of the sea, and were not disappointed. The cottage was very well appointed and comfortable ( apart from the bed ). It was warm and cosy and we loved it. We dined a couple of times in the Terrace restaurant which was very good. We have nothing but praise for the experience, except perhaps the lack lustre reception staff and the bed ! ( a board with a mattress ). However, minor points and we will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank chiefy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were looking for somewhere special to celebrate a milestone birthday where our dog would also be welcome. As regular visitors to Cornwall we knew about the Headland so decided to treat ourselves .From the moment we arrived we received excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was gorgeous, the lobby and lounge were like stepping into a Victorian Gentlemen's club, the whole atmosphere was luxurious and the food was divine. Above all was the way the staff took care of our dog, there were no stuffy rules, he could go anywhere except the restaurant and if we had wanted to eat in there we could have left him with the reception staff. For a true taste of luxury in a fantastic setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and Fistral Beach I doubt it could be beaten. Give it a try, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Atlantic have the best view and a few of the best rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

A truly wonderful review, thank you very much indeed and I am delighted that you were made to feel so welcome at The Headland. It is certainly our focus and absolute priority to achieve this for all our guests, and in our case, often the family dog as well! We genuinely welcome well behaved dogs to stay at the hotel, recognising that for many of our guests, they are very much part of the family. Having Fistral Beach just below the hotel is another serious consideration for those owners who like to give their dog a really good work-out; it remains one of the few beaches in Cornwall where dogs can run freely, off the lead, all year round.

Whilst still very much retaining an air of Victorian elegance throughout, The Headland has benefitted from an incredible level of investment in recent times; not only throughout many of our rooms and suites, but we are particularly proud of the recently unveiled, Headland Spa, complete with 5 bubbles from the Good Spa Guide.

Thank you for your recommendation to those who may be considering a visit to The Headland in the future, we sincerely hope that you may have the opportunity once again as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here in November. It was a wonderful weekend. My father is disabled and we also have my fairly frail Aunt over for lunch. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff from dietary requirements to helping us with Dads wheelchair. They made our stay so relaxing considering all the things were have to consider with mobility needs etc. The food was very tasty. Had a lovely dip in the pool and a treatment at the spa. Great value for the money. We will def return. The surroundings are lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melnowl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of The Headland following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend, and know how important that everything falls in to place when you had less able relatives or friends to consider. Your comments are most complimentary and welcome, thank you and best wishes for the year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
22.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £103 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing