We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We came for a four night break with our two dogs in November and couldnt be faulted. Room excellent (we chose an internal room with no view but not in it much and facilities were excellent), food fantastic and service marvellous. Only comment is that drinks very expensive but to be expected in a hotel of this standard I suppose and driveway could be lit up at night as very very dark when walking into town

Room Tip: Internal room more than adequate and much better value
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing The Headland, I know it's not easy to find dog friendly accommodation in such a wonderful location. If you stay with us again I would recommend speaking to our Reservations Team to find the best room for you. I hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,471)
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,427 - 2,433 of 3,471 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel and is dog freindly, great as a dog owner like myself, the staff are great and the hotel is very nicely decorated and goes back to the glory days of great victorian hotels.
The location is stunning and the food was good, we stayed in a budget room wich was adequate for our needs overall worth a vsit.

Room Tip: The budget rooms are much smaller but are still satisfactory the larger rooms look splendid but come...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonahA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Headland. It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our wonderful views. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the headlands with our 6 year old daughter along with our two dogs for their Christmas package. We enjoyed many parts of our stay however some things we found quite misleading.

The good things:
The spa is excellent. You can tell a lot of money has been spent refurbishing this area. Myself and my husband both had a treatment and really enjoyed it. I had a lovely girl called Vicky (blonde hair) who was also very professional.
Very dog friendly, it's obvious that the location is stunning with some great walks for the dogs. Some nice little touches in the rooms for the dogs too but at £15 per dog per night this is kind of expected!
Other touches to do with the Xmas package such as a good quality present for the children (and adults) was very much appreciated.
Breakfast was lovely, a very good selection of foods for all tastes and the items from the menu were particularly good (eggs Benedict/florentine were delicious).
The room was nice, it is worth paying more for a nice view.
Most of the staff were very polite and helpful, some stood put more than others sorry I can't remember names!
The games room the for children was very good and kept our 6 year old entertained. The face painter on Boxing Day was amazing, the best I have ever seen.

The not so good:
The package on the website clearly stated on Christmas Eve that a 'special afternoon tea' was included from 3pm. This special tea actually consisted of a piece of christmas cake and a cup of tea/coffee! Last time I checked afternoon tea included scones, finger sandwiches, little cakes etc... After complaining/checking (and I think the man who delt with us, Luke was embarrassed that the afternoon tea wasn't so special) we were sent some cheese sandwiches and a glass of fizz each to apologise. I wouldn't have minded I just don't like something sounding great only to not get what you are promised.
Also on Christmas Eve a champagne reception with canapés started the evening... The champagne was nice but I couldn't find a canapé.... Maybe hiding with the afternoon tea?
We enjoyed our evening meals in the restaurant, Christmas Day was particularly nice. The service was good however quite mismatched (and I appreciate it was very busy) but I spotted a family of 4 wait so long for their food, whilst many people who were dining later got their food quicker. This happened to us the night before and is particularly frustrating if you have small children.
Also watch out for the menu, which may state seasonal vegetables and potatoes are included, only to not recieve any. We got some after asking though, but we were made to feel like we shouldn't. Again, I wouldn't have minded but don't write it on the menu if it's not included! Maybe it's because I work in the hospitality trade too that I notice these things...
Make sure you look over your bill carefully when checking out, we had a £5 charge for something we didn't recognised, which was apparently for the risotto I had the night before (no supplement was stated on the menu the night before and for a vegetarian risotto is really shouldn't be £5 extra!)

All in all, a good stay but small details missing.

Also a tip maybe to consider for the future.... Being vegetarian (I know it can be annoying) the menu especially in hotels can be very restrictive (risotto two days in a row) usually one main corse choice. Having a vegetarian menu to pre order from at the start of your stay is something I've had in other hotels and I feel it works very well. The dishes can then be prepared in advance so chef know how many of each to make so everyone's happy :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 185Emma185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely room, fantastic view ,stunning location, amazing staff all so helpful,
We were shown around before being taken to our room not just sent there, the spa looked so inviting a pity we didnt have time to use it.

Room Tip: sea view is to die for.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Headland. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully if you do come and stay with us again you will be able to book some 'me' time in our wonderful new Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came here for a one night stay for a weekend away. The welcome was friendly and polite and the staff were keen to do anything they could to help.

The room was comfortable if a little on the small side however there was a full shower AND bath in the bathroom.

Facilities were very good with access to the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna included in the stay (and chargeable spa treatments available).

Evening meal and breakfast were both good quality and a fairly reasonable price (breakfast was included - evening meal £25 for 2 mains). The choice at breakfast was also good with cooked, cereal, toast, continental and fruit options available.

All in, a pleasant stay and we would definitely consider returning.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank southwestsam411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of The Headland following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and taking the time to post this review, I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have stayed at a few hotels in Cornwall and I'm yet to find a better one.
The location alone sets itself apart from most but add to this the splendour of the hotel and the excellent service, you have the perfect combination for a great getaway.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St3v3m4c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Headland and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Long ago we chose this hotel for its location right over the unrivalled wildness of Fistral Beach. Where else do you hear the crashing waves and watch surfers in the moonlight from your bedroom window?
We've been visiting each year for our family outing for at least 10 years, which must speak for itself, but this year deserves special praise for that "wow" factor created by the new spa and the particularly impressive service, together with the excellent standard of cooking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your very positive posting to Trip Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure to once again look after your family for your annual visit to The Headland am delighted that it was a success for all.I look forward to seeing you once again next year, Best wishes Darryl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £119 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing