We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It just gets better the older it gets.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch on Thames, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It just gets better the older it gets.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was my second stay at The Headland and this was better than my first ten years ago. I got a free upgrade to an ocean view room room - stunning view and room. The public areas were well maintained with all the original features retained with the odd modern twist, i.e. modern recessed ceiling lights.There were large comfortable sofas and arm chairs with coffee tables on landings off the impressive stair case, ideal seating when waiting for someone. The bar area and terrace were very comfortable and the prices reasonable. There is now a spa, not my scene, but if you like that sort of thing it sounds ideal. The only down side to my stay was the sodium flood lights illuminating the building, my room had fairly thin curtains so the room was too light at night. Not a major problem

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for returning to The Headland, I am glad that you enjoyed your stunning view from your room, we are so fortunate to be in such a fantastic location. Thanks for posting your review and I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,262
    666
    194
    59
    51
See reviews for
909
1,565
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed for two nights in November having books through Secret Escapes. Got a really good deal with bottle of wine and box of fudge in the room upon arrival, as well as dinner included on one of the nights.

The hotel looks impressive when you arrive and the reception staff were friendly and helpful and gave us a tour of the hotel on our way to the room. The room itself was immaculate, with great views of the beach and sea and was very nicely decorated and extremely clean.

Dinner was good, but the breakfasts???? WOW! Exceptional breakfast menu, with anything and everything you can think of. So much nicer than the bog standard English breakfast buffet! Eggs benedict, kippers, porridge and honey, veggie cooked breakfast, omelettes, all cooked fresh to order. It's was in addition to the juices, yogurts, fresh fruit, cereal, toast and pastries.

The addition of the new leisure club and spa offers guests something else. The club itself is very tastefully decorated and offers swimming pool, sauna, steam room, massage showers and jacuzzi. The spa looked very nice as well, although I didn't get the chance to book any treatments. Maybe when I go back next time......!

All in all a very nice two night stay, with friendly staff and great food. Why more can you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
What a fantastic review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff will be delighted with your wonderful comments and I will ensure that I pass them on. I am looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel was how friendly and helpful the staff were. The hotel itself is beautiful and cozy.
The spa/leisure area was very modern but the swimming pool, jacuzzi area was overly crowded on the Saturday (the gym was quiet!). Sunday was better.
While dinner in the restuarant was delicious, the portion sizes were very small and we were left quite unsatisfied. Breakfast was excellent.
All in all, a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaTh00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay, and I'm so glad that you had such a delightful time with us. I will let the team know you were well looked after, and I welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed on 2/3 January 2013 during the storms.

The location is amazing and the hotel is beautiful. There were a few cracks in our bathroom and there was a sign on the door warning that the shower will set off the fire alarm unless the door is shut but other than that it was clean and comfortable.

The food was good however service was a little slow. We were told that the restaurant was 4 members of staff short the night we ate in there but 30 minutes is still a little too long to wait for 2 drinks.

The hotel is dog friendly...although we didn't take our dogs we did think that maybe we could go back with them. However, dogs seem to be allowed in the whole hotel (apart from the restaurant) and we were woken twice in the night by barking pooches!

The spa was gorgeous but full of out of control children. Whilst I'm sure this is attractive for families, and it was understandable considering the weather outside, we felt as thought 6pm was a little too late for children's swimming to end. I'm sure this wouldn't be an issue when travelling in term time!

Room Tip: Go for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPatts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fabulous hotel in an amazing location. We have been to this hotel quite a few times and it never fails to please. The food is always exceptional and a really good varied menu is always available. The staff are very polite and helpful. I love it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely, beautiful decor. Never had a problem with noise whenever we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for returning to The Headland and writing this review for us. I am so glad that you have enjoyed another stay with us here and I very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I'd popped into the Headland hotel very briefly a couple of years ago for something connected with my work so when I was entertaining my sister, brother-in-law and their 16-month old son between Christmas and New Year and we'd found many places to have lunch on the N. Cornwall coast full I suddenly remembered that the Headland hotel seemed nice.

This place sets the standard for warm welcome, relaxing spaces, stylish but beautiful decor, family-friendliness, efficient but unobtrusive service and great dining. We had lunch in the terrace conservatory (but were given the option of sitting in the lounge areas if we preferred) and very soon had the dilemma of what to choose from the varied and tempting menu. Our waiter (Archie) was brilliant - he made a friend instantly in my nephew (the biscuit he gave him helped a bit!). It's a tough call between leaving people alone and giving them some humour but this chap let his character show and it's such a refreshing change to see (compared to the usual 'Enjoy...' we often get at generic hotels / restaurants). Other staff we spoke to and saw were equally great.

We all enjoyed our food, which was not only tasty and inspiring but also great value for money. Walking back through the lounge area to leave we again admired the way families were able to enjoy themselves - and dogs were welcome too which is lovely.

So it was no surprise that despite living in Cornwall (and often having guests to stay) we all found ourselves taking back brochures with the idea of staying at the hotel in the future.

If you've got any character and love good quality, unfussy things in life and a stunning view of the sea then this is a hotel for you - whether you're a retired couple, newly-weds or a family.

Well done to team Headland - don't change a thing and we'll be staying with you with friends / relatives / dogs etc in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It truly is great to hear feedback about our staff and the Terrace Restaurant, your kind comments have been passed on to the relevant people who were delighted you had taken the time to mention them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We visited for our 5th wedding Anniversary on a travelzoo deal. 2 nights bed and breakfast with dinner one night for £209.

Wonderful welcome by staff who showed us around and took luggage to room.
Anniversary card in room. Room with a fabulous sea view. Beds extremely comfortable. High quality finish.
Breakfast was Devine using local produce. All of high quality.
Very modern spa, shame they had no appointments left for treatments! We would definitely have utilised this. Pool small but all the same beautiful, sauna, steam room, aromatherapy showers, jacuzzi. Lovely staff!

Evening meal was three courses of wonderful dishes.
My hubby chose smoked salmon and crab to start- it was beautiful. He had a fillet steak with truffle mash for a supplement of £6, with every penny. Sticky toffee pudding for desert.
I chose pig cheeks, cod fillet and cheese & biscuits.
Coffee was also complementary. Good wine list.

We will definitely visit this beautiful hotel in a fabulous location again with or without a deal!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
What a fantastic review, so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary here at The Headland. I apologise that you were unable to book a Spa treatment. When you return, I would advise booking a treatment in advance as they are very popular. It would be lovely to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing