We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit, when can we come back?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First visit, when can we come back?”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After popping into the Headland for a coffee last year we promised ourselves a stay in this beautiful hotel, so when we found an excellent deal on their website we booked a ‘Two Night New Year Recharger’ and I am so glad that we did.

From the friendly reservations team, the warm welcome on arrival, the fabulous view from our Ocean View room, the fantastic food both at breakfast & dinner and the incredible new spa with its aromatherapy showers and Cornish sea salt steam room to the every present, ever helpful staff nothing could be faulted.

We arrived stressed and worn out but left two days later feeling on top of the world and raving to friends and colleagues about our wonderful weekend. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room for the wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
What a delightful review from your first stay here at The Headland! I am glad that you had a chance to come and relax here and that you enjoyed your stay. We would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,323
    685
    201
    64
    54
See reviews for
942
1,603
77
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I have just had 3 nights here and have had a great stay. We have not stayed here for 2 years and the stay again here was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We used the leisure area which was excellent a great swimming pool with hot tub, sauna and steam room. Our room was facing Fistral beach and was very clean and tidy and very well decorating. Only a 10 minute walk into Newquay which at this time of year was very quite and not many shops open. Will come back here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonMeadowbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Headland. I am glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and had a chance to use our fantastic leisure area, I look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was our second stay. We went last May for a wedding and were so impressed we decided to go back for my birthday in January. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough - from the beautifully clean, well equipped bedrooms, to the lovely decor, fab food in the terrace, to the scrumptious breakfasts. But most of all the good old fashioned customer service. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you - nothing is too much trouble. This hotel is fab for couples, families, young and old. Brilliant - this hotel is now a firm favourite an I know we will be returning many more times.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and quiet, but if you want a view don't choose a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em1968ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am glad that you have returned to The Headland after your first delightful visit. Our staff do like to make people feel welcome from the moment they arrive to ensure you enjoy every second of your holiday experience. I look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for a weekend before Christmas. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and well looked after. The hotel's public areas are warm and welcoming (despite the weather) and fit the building and location. Our room was spacious and very nicely decorated with a great view over Fistral Beach. Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly, helpful and courteous, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The new spa is great, it was quiet when we went so didn't seem too crowded. We would recommend the Headland Hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for recommending us, it's always nice to hear such wonderful feedback. I am glad that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed your time here with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I used the Headland Hotel for the TVR Car Club's annual post Christmas Bash. From the initial enquiry to the function itself their organisation could not be faulted. Without exception all the staff were exceptionally helpful and efficient so would have no hesitation in recommending them and will definitely use this venue again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevo648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas function here at The Headland, our staff will be delighted with your comments. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Wow! Didn't we get a lot of wind this Christmas??!! No, not talking sprouts here...windy, blustery weather and we were right on the edge of it all in Newquay, staying in the five star cottages at The Headlands Hotel at Fistral Beach!
The cottage was well-equipped...everything thought of and when we were helped down to our cottage we were so pleased to find it cosy and warm with a log-effect gas fire going already. A welcome pack of teas etc and a bowl of fresh fruit awaited us and some fresh milk in the fridge too. The double height ceiling made the kitchen/diner cum sitting room seem even larger. Fantastic views from a large window facing south west, windows and French doors to the sides and even our en-suite window had a terrific view!!! The gales hardly gave up so the sea looked terrific most of the time we were there! Stunning location, hard to beat! Cottages are dog-friendly too so Toby came along for Christmas too! Everywhere very clean, good sized bedrooms and bathrooms.
Staff at the hotel are on the whole, quite brilliant. Top marks go to Marie/Maria who made sure we could have the use of a wheelchair whilst we were staying, as our daughter had ankle surgery in early December...so now you all know who we were!!! Thank you, it was a great help as we had had so much trouble trying to source one local to the hotel, and it would have proved difficult to get one in the car for our long journey as well as presents and the dog! Waitresses and waiters were fun and amusing as well as very busy! They were all kind enough to make sure our daughter was comfy!
We ate most of our meals up at the hotel and although at times the service could be slow, the staff always tried their best and were lovely peeps! The food was very good but real issue is that the dining room probably needs more staff, especially on Christmas Day itself, as waiting times were long. A huge error was a slip-slidey tray of sorbets...most of which ended up down my sister-in-law's dress...ve ve sticky, the waitress was mortified...but they weren't so delicious anyway and thankfully sister-in-law brought plenty of lovely clothes with her!
All three of us used the spa for treatments and the staff there were great and the treatments super. The spa is a beautiful haven and I am not surprised it has won awards...well deserved! I was scrubbed, buffed and polished to within an inch of my life and enjoyed every minute of it!
The hotel itself looked fab - all dressed up with beautiful Christmas trees and the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed the Call my Bluff wine tasting quiz and were very happy to win!!! The local Newquay brass band entertained us with great renditions of carols and they were appreciated by many, especially the little children who joined in with sleigh bells!
All in all, a super Christmas break for us as we had a rather stressful year. Would love to go back and enjoy The Headlands' hospitality - storm watching,again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWils1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have called into this hotel many times for coffee.
It has lovely grounds to walk around and fantastic views over Fistral beach and the Atlantic. The views are spectacular especially when the surf is high.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith999kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for a great review, we are so fortunate have such delightful views from our Hotel and Cottages. I look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing