We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and cake at The Headland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a cuppa and a piece of cake. Although the service was a little slow to start, it was excellent value for money with a large pot of loose leaf tea and 2 slices of cake coming to just £6.50. A nice comfy lounge with sea views, it made a nice change

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Blondie2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your review of The Headland, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and had the time to enjoy the beautiful sea views from the comfort of our lounge. I look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,592 - 2,598 of 3,679 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spent the day yesterday with a couple of friends at the beautiful Headland Spa. The facilities are first class with extremely professional staff who provide top class treatments (our therapists were Rachel, Xavana and Jess), Well done girls, you were fantastic! Deborah and Martina were also very welcoming at Reception, and always made a point of speaking to us when they saw us throughout the day to check everything was to our liking (even though they were extremely busy throughout the day, they still took the time to acknowledge us and speak). We spent the morning in the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room, followed by a very welcomed relax in the wonderful relaxation room - heaven! We then went for our treatments, ranging from a Kirsten Florian Facial (certainly recommend that!), to a shoulder, back and neck massage, a finger nail tidy and a full luxury pedicure - we loved them all! Lunch followed; well what can I say other than outstanding! I have never tasted such excellent food, and didn't want the meal to end! We enjoyed a glass of bubbly with our meal, and a bottle of wine to round it off. (Thanks to our waitress too - sorry can't recall your name, but you were very friendly and efficient, and didn't intrude during our meal and chatting - you timed everything perfectly). We finished the day off with a further period of relaxation in the Relaxation Room. We left (reluctantly) feeling totally relaxed and pampered. We will be back!. Keep up the high standard!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Spa visit, I will ensure that all of your kind comments are passed onto the Spa team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have wanted to stay here for many years, but never been able to afford it. I took advantage of 3 nights for 2 offer. Out of season, this was amazing value, working out at less that £50 per night including the most fantastic breakfast. Either off the bufftet or off a menu. It was a large coastal room. As a single traveller it was refreshing to be a room with great views and a full bath. The spa, pool, gym are all inclusive. The staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly.
I was there the first weekend in January so had the added bonus of the most spectacular weather, so as a wave junky I couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: all exterior rooms have sea views, but you can also book courtyard rooms that are located surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfinhelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for writing this great review, I am glad that you have had a relaxing stay. I have to agree, this time of year is fantastic for storm watching at The Headland. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The write up and marketing of this hotel is excellent, however the reality does not live up to expectation. The room was old and Tired, and the bathroom was slightly larger than a postage stamp. The bed was uncomfortable, with a large wooden ridge down the middle, which made sleep a challenge, although not as challenging as sleeping hrough the heating banging away from 6 in the morning. Some of my colleagues, were staying in rooms overlooking the sea, and the noise of their windows ratteling made sleep impossible The new parts of the hotel , Spa etc are lovely, and the food was good, but after 2 nights here, I was extremely pleased to get home for some rest.

Room Tip: for those where location is everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It has been exceptionally stormy recently and most of our guests have enjoyed the experience of the wild winds and stunning seascapes surrounding this hotel perched on a headland – glorious views but providing no shelter!

The log fires have burned warmly on the ground floors and we do have Courtyard bedrooms that are snug and cosy on the inside light wells of the building; one of these may suit you more perhaps for a future stay. Alternately there are spacious rooms with gorgeous bathrooms complete with walk in showers; we have 7 different room types at various prices and there is plenty of choice. We hope to welcome you back when the weather is kinder and more clement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

What a beautiful hotel. So grand and full of character! We really enjoyed our night here. The service from the staff was first class. Our room was immaculate with the most comfortable 4 poster bed. The view from our room was wonderful. We used the swimming pool and jacuzzi twice. The best facilities by far! And breakfast was truly delicious with plenty on offer with the added bonus of fantastic views of the sea! Would highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katmaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your delightful review and for your kind comments regarding our staff – we do pass on all feedback and value the time and trouble you have taken to write this. I look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Having stayed here or in the cottages many times over the last 7 yrs our last visit was the best as it was a surprise birthday treat. The food was really good, we ate in the main restaurant and in the terrace and both we really good. Breakfast had a large selection and service was very swift. Upgraded our room to a sea view family suite overlooking the atlantic great seeing the storms come in what do you expect it is January!

Used the spa had a really nice treatment all very professional and the spa area decorated lovely.

Really great time with good friends in a lovely hotel - already booked my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kehoe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

It's always lovely to hear from our regular guests, I am glad that you have had another fantastic stay here at The Headland. I look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

we recently visited the headland hotel newquay cornwall after a recommendation from family haveing being told of the victorian 5 star service, a non believer we visited my o my what an experiance if you want a relaxing pamperd time this is the place for you we shall visit again even just for the quiet small reading rooms dotted around the hotel ahhhh peace and quiet.Top london restuarant meals very nice 5 star rooms comfortable beds and the staff cannot help enough a lovely find what a view from most rooms .The porters imformed us with the greatest of pleasure all about the film the witches that was filmed there cant wait to visit again thankyou all

Room Tip: sea view a must but all rooms excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hn_cy9394zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

What a fantastic review, thank you for your lovely comments. As you said it is a perfect Hotel to visit to relax and unwind, whilst having a stunning coastal view. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
22.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £104 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing