We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely time here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely time here!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked a 2 day break through Secret Escapes and can't fault the price we paid. Nice location and lovely view from room but the room although very clean was rather dated. The bed and pillows were unfortunately hard and uncomfortable and the mattress could definitely do with being replaced or at least a mattress topper in place.
The spa and treatments were excellent and that made our weekend. The main restaurant, food and range of wines was excellent but the bar service and conservatory restaurant had very slow service.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Overall a value for money weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinybone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,339
    697
    206
    66
    55
See reviews for
953
1,622
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in (and, yes, we do visit many). Very pleasant, happy and helpful staff and service, excellent dinner and breakfasts, newly decorated and clean bedrooms and bathrooms, glorious view across the Atlantic waves, sash windows which open with ease (stick some cardboard in their edge if they rattle in the high wind!). Public rooms are newly, well decorated. Cannot recommend the Headland enough. Book up and go!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Wow, what an excellent review! ! Your recommendation of The Headland is fantastic and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January. The service was excellent, food was superb and the location great for the beach and the town. Only slight negative was the poor wifi coverage in oiut bedroom. I will definetely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A grand hotel, with a great deal of recent investment..
We visited as a surprise birthday treat. The reception staff where fantastic, wishing my wife a happy birthday on arrival, & even bringing a birthday card to the room on the day too.
First rate health & fitness facilities. However the Jacuzzi was closed for repairs on the Monday.
We booked a Best Room, with views over Fistral, brilliant. Although we did have some noise from a function on the Sunday evening. This however did not go on late.
We eat in the restaurant on two evenings, with the food very good, but did find it slightly strange vegetables where not included in the dish price.
All in all a very enjoyable break.
Many thanks

Room Tip: Health & fitness facilities can be used on the day of arrival & departure before check in, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJSMJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am glad that your wife has enjoyed her birthday and that you enjoyed your stay here. The Headland really is a fantastic place to celebrate an occasion, I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a cuppa and a piece of cake. Although the service was a little slow to start, it was excellent value for money with a large pot of loose leaf tea and 2 slices of cake coming to just £6.50. A nice comfy lounge with sea views, it made a nice change

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blondie2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Headland, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and had the time to enjoy the beautiful sea views from the comfort of our lounge. I look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spent the day yesterday with a couple of friends at the beautiful Headland Spa. The facilities are first class with extremely professional staff who provide top class treatments (our therapists were Rachel, Xavana and Jess), Well done girls, you were fantastic! Deborah and Martina were also very welcoming at Reception, and always made a point of speaking to us when they saw us throughout the day to check everything was to our liking (even though they were extremely busy throughout the day, they still took the time to acknowledge us and speak). We spent the morning in the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room, followed by a very welcomed relax in the wonderful relaxation room - heaven! We then went for our treatments, ranging from a Kirsten Florian Facial (certainly recommend that!), to a shoulder, back and neck massage, a finger nail tidy and a full luxury pedicure - we loved them all! Lunch followed; well what can I say other than outstanding! I have never tasted such excellent food, and didn't want the meal to end! We enjoyed a glass of bubbly with our meal, and a bottle of wine to round it off. (Thanks to our waitress too - sorry can't recall your name, but you were very friendly and efficient, and didn't intrude during our meal and chatting - you timed everything perfectly). We finished the day off with a further period of relaxation in the Relaxation Room. We left (reluctantly) feeling totally relaxed and pampered. We will be back!. Keep up the high standard!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Spa visit, I will ensure that all of your kind comments are passed onto the Spa team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have wanted to stay here for many years, but never been able to afford it. I took advantage of 3 nights for 2 offer. Out of season, this was amazing value, working out at less that £50 per night including the most fantastic breakfast. Either off the bufftet or off a menu. It was a large coastal room. As a single traveller it was refreshing to be a room with great views and a full bath. The spa, pool, gym are all inclusive. The staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly.
I was there the first weekend in January so had the added bonus of the most spectacular weather, so as a wave junky I couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: all exterior rooms have sea views, but you can also book courtyard rooms that are located surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfinhelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for writing this great review, I am glad that you have had a relaxing stay. I have to agree, this time of year is fantastic for storm watching at The Headland. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
850 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing