We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Happy Days”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was the 4th time at the Headland and once again they did not disappoint . We were upgraded to a fabulous room on arrival which was nice . The room had a four poster bed and fabulous balcony looking out to sea . The staff in my opinion are their greatest asset . They could not do enough for us to make our weekend special . The evening meal was top notch as always and the breakfast was as good as it gets . Really looking forward to visiting again early summer . If you want a relaxing break/holiday , give the Headland a try .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for returning to The Headland, I am glad you have enjoyed another stay here. I will pass your kind comments to our staff, including your delightful comments about our Restaurant. I look forward to seeing you both again in the Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,339
    697
    206
    66
    55
See reviews for
953
1,622
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I cannot sing this hotel's praises enough, this was mainly down to the staff. They were so helpful, attentive and happy...all the time! We had such a lovely stay, thank you very much.
The room was very tidy and clean. The spa was lovely, and a perfect place to relax in the evenings. The gym is very well kitted out.
I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtyard which was nice, but we had friends with a seaside view which was incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emlec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! Our staff really do work hard and will be delighted with your comments, I will ensure that this feedback is passed onto all of the teams. I look forward to seeing you again soon for another relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Headland and loved it! The hotel is traditional in the corridors and public areas, but the rooms are fab.
We had a fistral suite, the decor was lovely, very good size and the view was amazing. The sound of the sea was fantastic. The spa was clean and lovely, although children using the pool and jacuzzi was slightly frustrating but as a teacher trying to relax....
We enjoyed the break however a wedding disco on a night did make the walls of the room shake which wasn't very helpful for getting to sleep!
Overall a good break with amazing views, staff friendly especially Louise at breakfast who took the time to talk and made us feel welcomed. :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BristolCurlywurly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Fistral Suites, they really do have the best views over the Atlantic Ocean. I will ensure I pass on your kind comments to Louise, who I am sure will be delighted. I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent 3 days over Valentines weekend in the self catering cottage Waterside 3 which had a wonderful view of the sea from the lounge and bedroom. The cottage had everything you could need for a relaxing break away.

Room Tip: Waterside 3 has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda19652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our delightful 5* cottages. There really is no better way to relax than overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean, we are very fortunate to have these views at The Headland. I look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,080 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were taking a drive up the north coast today and visited the town of newquay for the first time in a while,what a miserable drab place it has become!. In need of a warm drink we stopped by here more out of desperation as this was at one time a good town. Splendid staff,great surroundings and views,just wish it was later in the day so we could have taken in a lunch.
Will we return?...certainly if as unlikely it seems that we shall ever bother with Newquay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very fortunate at The Headland to have such great views and as you said splendid staff! I hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a great long weekend here in February 2014. We arrived on Friday morning and was given a tour of the facilities by Sarah and completed the formalities. Our suite on the second floor (210) was excellent. It had A living area, Bedroom, separate toilet and bathroom and french doors from both the bedroom and living area onto a balcony.
We were on a bed and breakfast deal 3 nights for the price of 2. In hind sight as we also had dinner in the hotel every night may have been cheaper to take the half board option.
The food from both the main restaurant and the "Terrace" was of excellent quality. All food is freshly cooked so expect very good food not fast food and don't be afraid to ask for what you want they do their best to accommodate all tastes.
The new Spa area is very impressive. The pool and steam room were great. The Sauna had an issue and was not working the weekend we stayed.
Like all hotels of this age there are some issues. We had some extreme weather conditions with 70mph winds and driving rain which meant the French windows leaked so we had towels protecting the carpet etc.
Overall we had a great time and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suite 210 is a lovely room and has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamworth_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay! I will pass on your kind comments to our Restaurant and Terrace staff, who work very hard to provide an excellent quality of service. I look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I just popped in for a drink one evening but it was great. The hotel has a very old hotel kind of charm and the bar has lovely views onto the ocean. My cocktail was delicious and the service was fantastic. I would be very tempted to return for a proper stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor, I am glad that you both had a fantastic evening here at The Headland. I hope we have tempted you to come and stay here soon, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
851 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing