We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit 4 to the headland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
WALES
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Visit 4 to the headland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our fourth visit to the headland,and as expected it didnt disappoint,as always we selected a best room,its not cheap, but well worth that little bit extra. The food was wonderful,and the restaurant was great ,i suppose one shouldnt complain too much about the glorious weather(12 May 2014),but in the evening the sun can be a little overpowering if you are seated by the window.And if thats all there is to complain about then there aint much that needs fixing

Room Tip: Try to get a fistral beach view room,its well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNISWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us and having stayed several times before you have clearly become a true Headland supporter, thank you!

Best wishes
Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,231
    657
    193
    58
    51
See reviews for
898
1,540
74
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hentland and this time we went for one of the cottages. Well, it was just lovely. The rooms were spotless and the view of the sea was just magical never stay anywhere
else in Newquay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

The cottages really are a great place to stay if you like all the benefits of staying at The Headland but with the luxury of your own space. Cornwall is an eclectic place to stay with a different experience to every season. The Cottages are a great place to storm watch in front of the fire in Winter or chill out with a cocktail watching the sunset on the Veranda in the Summer.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My Husband and I are keen surfers and have stayed at The Headland many of times. We recently asked the Headland to host our Wedding and was not disappointed one bit!. The day was all that we wished for in this special location of ours thanks to the Staff and in particular Claire in the Events team. The day went without a hitch and all our guests were treated with 5* service, many of our guests brought their dogs and they were just as content. Rooms are lovely and fit in with the seaside and hot air balloon theme that the hotel have but whether you are in a Courtyard or a Best room they are all just as beautiful. The facilities are amazing and breakfast service/selection is great,The Headland have one of the best steam rooms I have been in!.
This will not be our last stay and I would recommend anyone to go, keep an eye on their website as they have some amazing offers that my Husband and I always try to take advantage of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S_Turner252014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.

The Headland is a perfect base for many water sports activities. We even boast our own ‘Surf Sanctuary’ Surf school with Kitesurf, SUP and Surf hire/lessons. On one side of the Hotel we are 200 yards from the UK’s most famous surfing beach and on the other side we are 200 yards from Newquay’s most popular SCUBA and Snorkelling sea life reserve.

I will pass on your comments to Claire who will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your special occasion.

Again, thank you for such a detailed review and we really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the Headland cottages May bank holiday 23rd to 26th May.
This is my 5th visit and we were not disappointed. They are continually improving the hotel and this was the first time we visited with the Spa complete and the cottages now have wifi.
The cottages are lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean. They do a daily clean and replenish toilet rolls, empty bins etc, so you have all the service of a hotel but with the space and flexibility of a cottage,
There were 6 of us and 2 dogs, but with three en suite bedrooms, there was plenty of room for all of us.
The staff are all friendly and attentive. The hotel is an imposing building and I can understand some people may be a bit daunted and think it may be too formal. But the staff make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
The location is perfect, and a glass of wine on a cottage balcony / decking looking at Fistral Beach is up there amongst my favourite things to do.
We had dinner in the Terrace on the Saturday night. Lovely food & great service.
It is the perfect location for a weekend away from everything, good food, lots of lovely walks
I would recommend it for couples or families.
We have stayed in Huers 5, Waterside2, Tide 2, Seaspray 5, Seaspray 1 and this time Huers 9. They are all decorated to the same high standard and the website gives you a good description of views, gardens etc.
We are already planning our next trip - can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for such a positive and detailed review.

We are so lucky to have such a perfect location and iconic hotel. It would be an injustice if we did not put 100% of our effort into making sure that the buildings and guests are looked after to a high standard.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals in the hotel really look forward to welcoming your family back soon.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is victorian. Large bathrooms and small bedrooms. Lack of plugpoints and restaurant which has few options. Great location and ideal for a family holiday. Nice friendly staff but not ideal for business. I was given a two single room which was not great since I needed a double bed. TV was smaller than my Laptop monitor. Room was not serviced properly the first night.
Overall a very average stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hs8071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

The Headland is a fabulous example of late Victorian architecture in a truly stunning location and a site of historical interest. Over the years the hotel has undergone extensive continuous refurbishment and remodelling of various areas.

We have several dining options including The Terrace with their own menu and fresh daily specials, the Restaurant has a Table D’Hote menu with a selection of five starters, five main courses and five desserts which changes daily on a three day rotation. The Restaurant also offers a selection of a la carte dishes should any guest require further options.

Our courtyard rooms are very popular amongst corporate guests and include a range of Double and Twin bedded rooms. Our reception team are happy to organise an alternative room should you have specific requirements depending of course on availability. We also offer a complimentary turndown service in the evening which includes drawing the curtains, turning down the bedsheets, and turning on bedside lights. This is an optional service and is offered on check-in complimentary for the duration of your stay.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked 2 nights at the Headland for myself and my wife as a surprise 40th wedding anniversary present. The booking process was easy and the lady I dealt with could not have been more helpful. I booked a Fistral room as by looking on the website it offered exactly what I was looking for, how disappointed was I it did not bear any resemblance to the picture. If they show a picture of a named room then that is what you should get. We had an very nice meal in the Terrace but did find the menu very limited and expensive. As a smoker I was expecting the hotel to provide some sort on facility, they do but it is 40 meters from the hotel across a field not good if like when we were there it was pouring with rain, there was a wedding in the hotel and many of the guests were also smokers and expect them to go to the lean - to was ridiculous it was no wonder that we all stood outside the main door and unfortunately had to get soaked finding a bin to put the butts in. I would not return to the Headland as I consider it over priced.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the rooms out carefully. Eat out in Newquay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for review and I am glad you found our booking process easy.

Our Hotel offers 96 individually furnished rooms meaning no two will be alike. Many of the rooms vary in styles but all are maintained and refurbished on a regular basis.

I am glad you found your meal on the Terrace enjoyable, additional to the Terrace menu we also include a specials board with fresh local dishes which change daily as well as our main restaurant which serves a further two menus.

The Headland is a smoke free hotel, however we provide a smoking shelter adjacent to the front door in the main car park which includes ashtrays and cigarette bins. The Western Terrace is also a designated smoking area with Ashtrays on each table, we only ask that you respect other guests when smoking here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Walking distance to the city centre and 2 min walk to beautiful Fistral Beach. Amazing views and delicious meals. I did not have any of the treatments unfortunately but did use the gym, pool and sauna. Very good!!!! I recommend this hotel 100%!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 282Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Neyron, Assistant Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, it is great to hear that you have had such a great time here at The Headland. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing