We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were guests here for a wedding and the whole day was simply perfect.

The weather helped out a bit, with champagne and canapés on the lawn with such a stunning background a wonderful start to the day.

The food was excellent with the roast beef being probably one of the best we've ever had. No mean feat when you think of the number being catered for.

As we didn't plan on being in the room very much, we went for the "budget" option of a courtyard room. This was perfect for our needs and was a decent size, nicely appointed and exceptionally clean.

I can't think of anything negative to say. Thanks.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Aggiehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for a lovely review.

The weather can provide endless opportunities for photographs and refreshments during weddings and events here on our grounds. We have been very lucky to have some stunning sunshine and sunsets throughout May and June this year. Our lawn is a great place for drinks and canapés during a comfort break overlooking Fistral beach and the Atlantic Ocean.

I believe one of The Headlands biggest strengths is coordinating various weddings and events whilst maintaining a high level of service to all of our guests.

I am so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,345 - 2,351 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Have been coming to the Headland for many years, first with my father and now I'm coming with my own family. Great child friendly hotel that keeps evolving with time. We stayed during May half term with my sister and her family as well as our aunt, total of 4 adults and 3 children (7-9 year olds).
Positives:
Love the new spa and pool but unfortunately I could not get an appointment for a massage....next time I will book ahead
The quality and variety of food at evening meals and great service were a highlight!
Location and views :-)

Work in progress/areas of concern:
- lounge service... On the day of arrival we had lunch off the lounge menu. It took 90+ minutes for a few club sandwiches and pizza to arrive!!! Not great when with three hungry children... Despite numerous requests it seemed service was very unorganized but after I complained to reception (and move back our dinner reservation due to late lunch..) service suddenly became very attentive!

We had two Ocean view family rooms which have a kingsize double and bunk beds. Nicely furnished rooms with good views of the Atlantic but the rooms were small compared to similar type of hotels/price so not great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curvy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much indeed for keeping The Headland within your family tradition. I am absolutely delighted that you have continued to patronise The Headland, in fact we are very fortunate indeed by how many ‘three generation’ families do the same, often staying in a combination of both family rooms and suites within the main hotel and also our very cosy cottages.
We were incredibly busy during the May half term week and I am most apologetic that the service slipped in The Terrace on your arrival day. Our beautiful new spa was also in high levels of demand despite being really very sizeable by normal standards. I hope you will be pleased to know that within this next week, our guests will be able to book their treatments on- line either prior to their stay, or at least check availability for treatments at their leisure during their stay.
I do hope that we will see you back at The Headland in the not too distant future.
Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel you would not know there was any dogs staying here no smells or barking. Great venue for a weekend break or a wedding. The food was lovely from evening meal to breakfast. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel it is much appreciated. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back once again to The Headland in the future for some of your own leisure time after what I expect was a very full day whilst attending the wedding celebrations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived early Saturday evening for a two night stay,the hotel staff were friendly and willing to help wherever possible. As many reviews have already said the ocean view rooms are a definate must,as is a visit to the spa. What I was really surprised about is that while we stayed there two wedding receptions took place over two days and because of the professional staff you wouldn't even know they took place. I definatly will be back,for a longer stay,two nights were not enough.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dartskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

It is great to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and thank you for sharing your personal experience of The Headland first-hand! It was most unusual for us to host two weddings in such close proximity to each other but it would appear to have been over the May half term week and many of the wedding guests were staying with us and enjoying their own leisure break having travelled long distances. I think we may well have converted a number of new Headland guests of the future. Our staff get to see these comments, and I am sure will be delighted to know that you found them helpful, many thanks for this.
Darryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we have stayed here a few times.and never disappointed..the views.rooms.service.restaurant.is outstanding..really feels so homely and friendly.would always recommend the headland for that special time away.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashnrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for choosing The Headland and for continuing to recommend our Hotel to others, this is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Darryl Reburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed in the hotel all my life every Easter with my family including my Grandparents. I have now come back to stay here as an independent adult!! Love it just as much!! The staff are very friendly and the facilities are wonderful. The location is fantastic as you have nature, the beach etc all within very easy reach. Great spot and the restaurant and the terrace are fab places to have a meal / drink and views of a sunset are amazing. Food is excellent!! Nothing could be better!! Everything at the hotel is thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Well, needless to say we really appreciate endorsements like the one you have very kindly provided here. Our location is truly stunning at any time of year, but without the service and hospitality, food and comfort, it would only be half the offering!
We strive very hard indeed to deliver in all areas and to continue to be Cornwall’s best known and truly iconic hotel, but we rely upon our guests to provide feedback to ensure we stay at the top of our game, so thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having visited a few years ago during the winter, my girlfriend and I decided to come back and try it out in the summer and we were pleased we did! We actually stayed in The Atlantic the night before due to not being able to get a room here and the difference is massive! The Atlantic was nice but The Headland has that little bit "je ne sais quoi" with a lot nicer feel to the place.
We had a massage in their new spa and it was a great start to a great weekend. Last time we visited, the spa wasn't built and it has made a huge difference down there with it all looking really impressive.
The staff are all really friendly and happy to help which is really nice and it makes you feel very welcome; we were sad to leave!
We contemplated staying in the cottages but decided against it as we fancied being a lift ride away from the pool, and of course the breakfast! We did however walk around them; they look stunning and we may consider that option next time.
We also used the outdoor heated pool which was great.
The breakfast again didn't disappoint and really sets you up for the day. It's a buffet style but you also have the option of ordering from a menu; I would highly recommend the eggs benedict!
To summarise, if you did choose to stay here you will go away with a lot of lovely memories and will certainly not regret it!

Room Tip: Fistral view is great but I would also consider the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

A big thank you for this TA positing following your recent stay with us. Another great review and it is really very much appreciated, our team here right across the board really benefit from knowing that they work in a great place and the job they do is being recognised. Next time you are staying with us be sure to see the new Elemis treatment menu in The Spa, they are being very well received indeed. Until next time, best wishes from The Headland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £106 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing