We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at The Headland Hotel for two nights in June 2014 and were extremely disappointed with our stay.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by an unenthusiastic Receptionist. The Receptionist did inform us about the roaming ghosts in the hotel which was further detailed in the literature in the room. For those, like us, who were unaware of the history of the hotel, being informed about ghost stories upon arrival at a spa hotel was not the most relaxing and calming start to our stay. In fact, I was petrified that night and could not sleep a wink!

Our Coastal View room was very small and quickly became hot and stuffy. We struggled to open the extremely stiff windows to cool the room. Our room was missing the robes and slippers which were supposed to be in the room for use in the spa (which was the main purpose of our stay). For allergy reasons, we could not use the luxury feather duvets and pillows. We requested synthetic alternatives and housekeeping promptly changed them. However, the quality of those items was significantly inferior and those items were far too small for the beds.

Although a dog friendly hotel (which we were unaware of when we booked our stay and is incidentally at odds with the concept of a spa hotel), we were not prepared for the constant barking of the dog in the room next door, nor were we expecting to share the outdoor swimming pool with canine guests. We quickly got out of the outdoor swimming pool having enjoyed a lovely swim when another guest brought his dog into the pool area (having just let it urinate on the pool gate) and informed us that he had been letting his dog swim in the pool with him, but he was not going to that day because he had struggled to get his dog out of the pool the previous time. Needless to say, I did not swim in that pool again.

Some of the hotel staff seemed to be keen to make derogatory comments about the hotel and colleagues, which only reinforced our already poor opinion of the services we were receiving.

However, on a positive note, the quality of the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was exceptional. The facilities at the spa were lovely too, but were spoiled by rowdy young men shouting and splashing in the indoor pool. The spa treatments we pre-booked were excellent, but we were unable to book any further treatments which we were told was due to the lack of available and adequately trained therapists. We were also informed by a staff member that this was really because the therapists were regularly 'pulling sickies'. Perhaps not the best comment to make to guests.

We were constantly told that this was NOT a spa hotel, even though we booked our stay on this basis.

On the whole, hotel staff were unhelpful, slow, and gave us the impression that they did not like working there. Our rating of this hotel has been greatly influenced by certain staff members.

This hotel stay was not worth the six hour drive to get there and we would not recommend it.

Room Tip: The Coastal View room is basically a view of the car park. Beware that those playing golf outside h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank PureCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,531 - 2,537 of 3,810 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I booked one of their special offers earlier this year. It was a fantastic deal. I was upgraded to a coastal view double room, the quality of which was well above many hotels I have stayed in. Besides the breakfast, the deal included two free cream teas and two free 3-course evening meals in their brilliant restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful (as always) and the facilities are so good. I spent the break walking in the area and after a tiring days exertion it was wonderful to relax in the Jacuzzi, then sweat out the dirt and grime in the two hots rooms.

I have been visiting the hotel over the past 21 years and am amazed how they can keep improving it. I will certainly go back.

Room Tip: All the room are good, but I love the west, Atlantic facing rooms, with the sounds of the sea crashi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Digger_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review.

It is a real testament to our philosophy that guests such as yourself return again and again. I'm sure you'll agree that Cornwall and The Headland Hotel has something different to offer for every season, whether its the summer sun on the beach or storm watching in Winter.

Our new Spa is very attractive and offers some fantastic treatments. As you say, we like to keep improving!

I'm sure it won't be long before we are welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had fabulous weather so the location of the hotel and it's lovely outdoor spaces were wonderful. Stayed 2 nights in a lovely sea view room. Breakfasts were tasty and had a good selection both from the buffet and the menu. We ate in the restaurant the first night and had a very enjoyable 3 course meal. We also ate on the Terrace, enjoying the views whilst drinking a delicious frozen cocktail. Prices are very reasonable, so even if not staying there, treat yourself to a snack and drink so you can enjoy the view. We used the spa, facilities are lovely and our treatments were very good. Most of all, the staff must get a mention. They are all friendly, helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skifriends_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review.

I'm glad you managed to make use of so many of our facilities. It sounds like you had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our cocktail bar team are now creating a new cocktail each week throughout summer, a real treat if you like to try something different!

Thank you also for your special mention about our team, this has been passed on and is what makes all our hard work so pleasurable!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Genuinely Dog Friendly hotel and cottages with every amenity and genuinely friendlly and helpful staff on Cornwall's best beach. The cottage was serviced every day.WiFi available in the cottage and garden.

Room Tip: We chose a cottage with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishmanInKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

Part of the reason our team members are chosen is for their genuine helpful, pleasant personality and passion for the hospitality industry. I am glad this shows through to guests such as yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in the cottages adjacent to the hotel bur ate dinner in the restaurant.Good base for exploring that part of the coast.
Very spacious accommodation.Everything you need for B&B.Liked the milk on arrival and towels changed each day. Didn't like the rubbish bid arrangements,the hotel need to provide two bins , not one and a black bag. Comfortable bed but not quite as good as the fab beds in the hotel.,
We had really excellent food in the restaurant well done the Chef -an improvement on our previous visit. Decent service and some good wines recommended. But couldn't get the staff to understand the urgency of enabling us to order and get hold of our wine on arrival!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevorFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you have taken the opportunities to enjoy both our Hotel and Cottages.

Thank you also for the constructive feedback regarding bins and wine arrangements, I will be sure to pass these on to the relevant departments.

As I've said to many previous guests, the cottages are a great way to enjoy all the hotel has to offer with the benefit of your own space. And of course, a great base to explore the great Cornish North coast!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have stayed many times and we ( not least our dog ) love it . Now the SPA / Gym / pool area is finished , the facilities are great . The cottages at the front overlooking the sea have lost some of their privicy by the build up of the ground level outside the garden wall ... a real shame .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are extremely proud of our new spa, gym and pool. They are a great addition to the hotel and extremely popular amongst guests of all ages. The ground in front of the first two cottages has been raised to provide additional parking but the living walls are now growing out to provide extra privacy for these cottages. Overall the whole area is now looking a lot greener and in keeping with the rest of our grounds and the surrounding cliffs. I think you will be pleasantly surprised on your next visit!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed in one of the Headland cottages good quality furnishings excellent location and private
Staff always very friendly and helpful, it's probably a bit expensive but we had no complaints at all it is of course very dog friendly and covers treats are provided
we made little use of the actual hotel as the principle reason for choosing the place was its location
Having read some of the other reviews I think expectations may be a little over- inflated...
All in all it is a place I would recommend without hesitation


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

The cottages are a wonderful option for those wanting all the facilities of the hotel but in their own private space. Of course, as you mentioned, they can provide your own space with all the amenities required for a quiet break. Their location overlooking Little Fistral beach is second to none and of course we are very dog friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £117 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing