We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD TO BE BACK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GOOD TO BE BACK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

It had been 10 years since my wife and i stayed at the Headland so we were looking forward to returning and to see if there were any changes. We stayed for 8 nights from JULY 8 2014 on the third floor. Great views but room did need a bit of maintenance.,One of the window vent's held shut with tape! the main lift was out of action for the duration of our stay which ment either using the stairs or the service lift which is to say the least was very small so don't try to take to many cases at one time
On the Saturday night a wedding reception was taking place and we did feel that the hotel did not run to it's usual smooth standards,mainly any drink's that were ordered in the restaurant or lounge were very slow to arrive.But enough of the negative comments overall from our arrival,duration of our stay and departure all the staff were excellent and could not do enough for us. The meals were very good indeed,and the view from the restaurant amazing,this was certainly the way to dine! (incidentially,do try a Fistral Swell cocktail ,it was actually the same colour as the sea)
As for any changes? yes there have been some,but all for the better! fantastic Spa,a new terrace and veranda area with much needed outdoor seating and some nice landscapping..
It was good to be back,looking forward to the next time,We won,t leave it for 10 years!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you have seen the many positive changes we have made over the last 10 years. We are lucky to be in a position to be able to make modifications and improvements to our building and its facilities.

I am sorry to hear about the maintenance issues you experienced with your room. I hope that you could contact us to discuss these so we are able to put them right. We did experience a technical fault with our guest lift that week which has now been repaired.

The 'Fistral Swell' cocktail you mentioned was one of many 'cocktail of the week' we are creating throughout the summer season by our cocktail bar team.

We hope you don't leave it 10 years before your next visit and hope to welcome you back very soon.

kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,222
    656
    193
    58
    50
See reviews for
894
1,536
73
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a short break. Lovely lunch on the terrace overlooking the Atlantic, grounds and all of the hotel kept in great condition. I enjoyed two fabulous spa treatments, the therapists were really attentive and good. Well equipped compact gym and lovely breakfast the following day. Nice old traditional English hotel from days gone past, perfect for for a couple of nights r&r by the sea.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for a lovely review.

It sounds like you had a nice relaxing stay with us. Perhaps maybe we can convince you to stay for a few more days next time?

It was a pleasure having you.

kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Booked at the last minute and had a lovely room with a stunning view over the atlantic. the bed was comfy and the bathroom a good size.
Saw the most amazing sunset one night - sat and watched it with a glass of bubbly.
Breakfast was excellent and the view from the restaurant amazing could have sat there all morning.
The staff were all polite, efficient and would always do everything to help.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone and we will be back.

Room Tip: Seaview on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solar1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review,

We have enjoyed many lovely sunsets through June and July. Thank you for mentioning our team, we always like to hear when we had made our guests stay a pleasurable one.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Where can I start? Fantastic room with ocean view, delicious food, polite and helpful staff, excellent spa facilities and at last but not least the most comfortable bed ever!
We'll be coming back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorizonOnMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

Our 'Best' rooms and 'Ocean view' rooms offer wonderful views through all stages of tide and beautiful sunsets in the evenings. I am glad you enjoyed all your meals and we hope you return to spend a few more nights with us soon. Long may this wonderful weather continue into August and beyond!

kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Myself and my Family have stayed at this fantastic hotel for many years! My Husband and I spent a day there for our anniversary on Thursday. Lovely romantic walk on the beach and fantastic food and service too. The Headland staff are always very polite and nothing is too much for them.The new refurbished spa is out of this World. We are going to book a cottage there in the Winter months, something to look forward too ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footiechick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay. I will pass on your comments to our team who will be pleased to hear how they made your stay more relaxing. The cottages are a lovely place to stay in the Winter months watching the Winter waves in front of a warm fire.

I am sure you will enjoy it. We will look forward to welcoming you back then.

Kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent food, good service in all areas of the Headland.Fantastic 4 poster bed wow !I have never slept in on before comfortable bed slept in every morning ! Reception staff excellent nothing is too much trouble thanks Tom . Great spa swimming pool to relax after a day on the beach in the surf and to be able to relax on the terrace and watch the sun go down did not want to go home. A must to visit beaches have taken a battering since the winter storms but location is excellent

Room Tip: Sea view are excellent in the splendid room we were in but the orange lights outside the hotel at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the food and service. We have several rooms with four poster beds overlooking the Atlantic which are a real treat.

I have passed your thanks to Tom who is grateful for your mention.

The Spa and Terrace are a great way to relax and unwind especially when we have had the spectacular sunsets of late.

The lights outside hotel do switch off at 11pm, they are the same as used by many hotels to illuminate the building in the evening. Cornwall is a great place to stargaze and a stroll along the beach at dusk is a lovely way to enjoy them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at the Headland many times over the last 10 years, most often in the cottages and usually in Tide 3, this was however our first summer time visit so it was a very different break for us.
From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were friendly and efficient, we were early but as the cottage was ready that was no problem. The cottage is extremely well fitted out with lovely bedrooms and bathrooms and an excellent kitchen area. The lounge had French windows opening out to a small garden area with wonderful views to the headland and Little Fistral beach.
The lounge furniture is looking a bit dated now but perfectly functional and comfortable.
The hotel has two restaurant's, having had a poor meal in the main restaurant earlier this year we opted for the terrace restaurant for a couple of meals and they were excellent particularly the Mussels and the Hake, the staff were great and table service excellent particularly as we ate in the bar area to accommodate our dog!
The headland is in a fantastic location overlooking Fistral and Little Fistral beeches with views of all Newquay's beaches, there are great walks around the hotel and a lovely cliff top walk into Newquay town and harbour.
The cottages are not cheap but if you are going to stay try and spend a bit more for a sea view they are magnificent.
The only moan we have is £18.00 a night for a dog is a bit steep.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view. The Stable bar at Fistal beach offers great pizza and cider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quinsfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review and returning again and again over the last 10 years.

An ocean view in the hotel and cottages is always recommended, the views are breath taking and vary day to day and month to month. I imagine there was a very different scene outside the window this time compared to previous visits but stunning none the less.

It is nice to hear you were able to check in early, especially at this time of year and thank you for mentioning the team, I will pas on your comments.

I'm sorry to hear you had a previous bad experience in the restaurant and hope this doesn't put you off dining there in future, but I am glad you enjoyed your meals in the Terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing