We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, just where you need to stay relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a gorgeous place, beautifully positioned, helpful, and friendly staff. I used the hotels spa facilities and wasn't at all disappointed. The relaxation room was idyllic. A little pricey for a manicure and pedicure costing £80, but worth a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are very proud of our new spa and pleased it is getting so many fantastic comments. I will pass on your thanks to the team who will be pleased to hear they made your stay so enjoyable.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,466)
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,135 - 2,141 of 3,467 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Our weekend at The Headland was perfect. The hotel is stunning, the staff were wonderful and the spa was excellent. The hotel is literally in the beach with the most stunning views, we sat outside (on the very comfortable furniture) with a bottle of wine and it was just, lovely. The dining room is beautiful and breakfast was really very nice. We had great massages, loved the Cornish salt steam room and couldn't have been treated better. The bedroom was slightly disappointing in terms of decor when compared to the rest of the hotel, but extremely comfortable beds. Highly recommend this hotel!!! There's also a very cool beach bar and restaurant next door, it's a must. You'll never feel more relaxed than after a weekend here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawbo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities we offer. All our bedrooms are individually decorated, some in a modern style and some traditional. Both styles are equally requested and one style may suit certain guests more than others. If you wish to stay with us again, our reservations team may able to assist with selecting the right room for your needs if you prefer one style over the other.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stopped 5 nights half board at the Headland from 30th June. The location was perfect for us, with a lovely quiet room overlooking Fistral Beach. It was modern and kept spotless. The only issue we had on arriving was the kettle was faulty. A brand new one was bought to us within 5 minutes - a sign of the excellent service we received throughout our stay. The hotel is lovely inside, how good hotels used to be - they are hard to find these days, this one is just right. We will stay again, but bed and breakfast next time. The menu in the wonderful restaurant repeats itself after 3 nights, but this is the only very minor issue that bothered us. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a traditional place, great service and views.

Room Tip: Any sea or beach view room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grasscutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the room and our quick response to your request for a new kettle.

Our maintenance team also puts in a lot of effort to keep the 100+ year old building looking as good as it does today and I shall pass your comments on to them.

The restaurant enjoys beautiful views of the sea in a relaxing stylish and traditional style of service. If the 3 day rolling menu does not provide the variety you desire after 3 or 4 days, our Terrace restaurant provides further options and a very different dining style.

Thank you again for mentioning the service team that put a lot of effort into ensuring everyone's stay is as enjoyable and memorable as possible.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice hotel. The food is very good but the service needs a bit of training. For example, wine and water was spilt on my dress and handbag at the Restaurant and all I was offered was a napkin to wipe up by myself. In contrast, Archie, at the Terrace, was very apologetic and offered us complimentary desserts after we had waited an hour for our food.
The pool and spa was excellent. The location of the hotel was wonderful with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gl128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, location and our wonderful facilities. I am sorry to hear of your experience in the restaurant and I will follow up on this internally in due course. If you would like to discuss this with me further, I would be happy for you to contact me at the hotel. I hope this doesn't put you off staying at the Headland again.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After visiting for over 20 years we never fail to get excited at the prospect of returning to the Headland. My 22 year old and 20 year old know it like an old friend and on this visit brought with them girlfriends spreading the love. The spa was wonderful we all had treatments and despite a few hiccups in the restaurant during an evening meal one night, the food was delicious as always. This hotel is a must for any aged families and we will continue to come and bring our future grandchildren. We cannot wait for the New Year House Party as we will be YET AGAIN ringing in the New Year in a very special location.

Room Tip: If you love hearing the sea choose a fistral view room although if windows are open it's quite n...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NatraHeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for returning over the last 20 years!

It is a warming feeling to know that you have enjoyed coming back to see us so much you have passed the tradition on to your children.

I hope the 'hiccup' in the restaurant didn't inconvenience you too much.

Preparations and plans for the New Year are well under way and we are already looking forward to it ourselves.

We'll look forward to welcoming you back then!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent holiday once again - our 3rd time. We stayed in Beach 1 cottage which is a delight and we are now planning a winter break there as the summer one was so enjoyable.

Great service, great accommodation and a super overall experience.

Room Tip: Go for beach 1 cottage. Right on the seafront and great if you have a dog.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

It sounds like you had a wonderful time in our cottages. You might be interested to know that we have released a competition on our social media pages where you could win a complimentary 2 night stay in one of our cottages!

Good luck and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Headland is one of my favourite Hotels because of its location. The rooms need a bit of a refurb in my opinion and the service sometimes lacks attention. I think this is due to the service staff in the main being foreign which I have nothing against but the communication is sometimes difficult. I have experienced shabby service on occasion. I think it's quite pricy and could do with reviewing at least the rooms for the rates they charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback.

While this is the busiest time of year for many hotels, we do endeavour to maintain the high levels of service experienced at other times of year. Our location in such a prominent area of Newquay can encourage an influx of guests at peak times of the day such as lunch and dinner times. This has caught us short on occasion this year and we have very recently put in steps to avoid this happening again this season. The team however are all industry professionals and are employed for their skills and positive, welcoming attitude.

Our rooms do undergo a regular maintenance and refurbishment program and with 96 bedrooms and 39 cottages we are always working on several areas of the hotel at a time. All our rooms are individually decorated, some modern and some traditional. Both styles are equally requested and each style suits certain guests more than others.

I hope you find this information useful and thank you once again for your comments.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £122 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing