We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically friendly and helpful staff who obvious like working there. Extremely helpful, especially with my dog.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at the headland hotel after it was recommended by a friend.

I stayed for 10 days with my dog Tilly and the hotel staff couldn't of been more helpful. They looked after her while I did activities and having breakfast and were more than accommodating.

I went surfing and Paddleboarding with Dom the onsite surf instructor and he was great. Allowing access to kit whenever I fancied it and was very flexible.

Bar staff all very polite and helpful and a big thanks to the reception team who were superb with the booking, dog sitting and being helpful and cheerful at all times.

Great hotel, great staff, brilliant location. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Stuart,

Thank you for your review and the many compliments detailed. I will pass these on to the team who will be happy to hear they all made your holiday experience such a success.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,212 - 2,218 of 3,547 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went for a short break in July. Our Fistral view room was everything we expected it to be and more. Plush bedding, a floor standing bath, and a massive walk in shower, not to forget the under floor heating. Only downside on room was that there is no sir conditioning and it can get hot at night. Dined in restaurant for breakfast and evening meal, food was delicious and beautifully presented, we opted to self serve for breakfast and there was plenty of food to chose from. Bonus for us this time, as we have been before, was the addition of the verandah, we sat there in the evening having a drink, watching the sun go down over the sea. The new spa looks very nice although we did not use it on this occasion, the weather was just too good. All in all the Headland is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Need to chose for yourself but it would be a shame not to chose one that has the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EnglandEnglishRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your room, the food and the facilities we offer. The Veranda has been mentioned a lot this year as the weather and sunsets have been stunning.

Perhaps there will be time to visit the spa on your next visit.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a vastly improved hotel with the addition of the spa .
Renevated rooms tastefully decorated . Maid service excellent .
The room we had was an interior room on the third floor .
It was near a generator and very noisy at times.
The lift was out of action for 2 days. Not good after a full breakfast
up the stairs . The situation next to Fistral beach is spectacular.
The outside seating area is a big plus to watch the sun go down .
Would go back . Breakfast service was slow at times the only real issue
we had . Food was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blades792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, your room and the service we provide. I'm not sure it was a generator you heard in your room, but possibly an extractor fan? We did face some issues with the lift during your stay which has long since been repaired.

I will follow up on your comments regarding breakfast service and pass on your comments about the excellent food to our Head chef.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a gorgeous place, beautifully positioned, helpful, and friendly staff. I used the hotels spa facilities and wasn't at all disappointed. The relaxation room was idyllic. A little pricey for a manicure and pedicure costing £80, but worth a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are very proud of our new spa and pleased it is getting so many fantastic comments. I will pass on your thanks to the team who will be pleased to hear they made your stay so enjoyable.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Our weekend at The Headland was perfect. The hotel is stunning, the staff were wonderful and the spa was excellent. The hotel is literally in the beach with the most stunning views, we sat outside (on the very comfortable furniture) with a bottle of wine and it was just, lovely. The dining room is beautiful and breakfast was really very nice. We had great massages, loved the Cornish salt steam room and couldn't have been treated better. The bedroom was slightly disappointing in terms of decor when compared to the rest of the hotel, but extremely comfortable beds. Highly recommend this hotel!!! There's also a very cool beach bar and restaurant next door, it's a must. You'll never feel more relaxed than after a weekend here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawbo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities we offer. All our bedrooms are individually decorated, some in a modern style and some traditional. Both styles are equally requested and one style may suit certain guests more than others. If you wish to stay with us again, our reservations team may able to assist with selecting the right room for your needs if you prefer one style over the other.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stopped 5 nights half board at the Headland from 30th June. The location was perfect for us, with a lovely quiet room overlooking Fistral Beach. It was modern and kept spotless. The only issue we had on arriving was the kettle was faulty. A brand new one was bought to us within 5 minutes - a sign of the excellent service we received throughout our stay. The hotel is lovely inside, how good hotels used to be - they are hard to find these days, this one is just right. We will stay again, but bed and breakfast next time. The menu in the wonderful restaurant repeats itself after 3 nights, but this is the only very minor issue that bothered us. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a traditional place, great service and views.

Room Tip: Any sea or beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grasscutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the room and our quick response to your request for a new kettle.

Our maintenance team also puts in a lot of effort to keep the 100+ year old building looking as good as it does today and I shall pass your comments on to them.

The restaurant enjoys beautiful views of the sea in a relaxing stylish and traditional style of service. If the 3 day rolling menu does not provide the variety you desire after 3 or 4 days, our Terrace restaurant provides further options and a very different dining style.

Thank you again for mentioning the service team that put a lot of effort into ensuring everyone's stay is as enjoyable and memorable as possible.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice hotel. The food is very good but the service needs a bit of training. For example, wine and water was spilt on my dress and handbag at the Restaurant and all I was offered was a napkin to wipe up by myself. In contrast, Archie, at the Terrace, was very apologetic and offered us complimentary desserts after we had waited an hour for our food.
The pool and spa was excellent. The location of the hotel was wonderful with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gl128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Crossman, Duty Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, location and our wonderful facilities. I am sorry to hear of your experience in the restaurant and I will follow up on this internally in due course. If you would like to discuss this with me further, I would be happy for you to contact me at the hotel. I hope this doesn't put you off staying at the Headland again.

kind regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £107 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing