We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London., England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed at the Headland for a family wedding in March and I cannot emphasis enough how brilliant the Headland staff were and how much they contributed to it being a brilliant weekend, and a fantastic wedding and reception.

The Hotel is gorgeous in a kind of faded grandeur way, the rooms (especially the Best rooms) are divine and the scenery is second to none. The breakfast in the hotel is also probably one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel ever.

We have visited previously and stayed in one of the 2 bedroom self catering cottages, which are beautifully fitted out and located, make sure to get one with a sea view.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceebee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,222
    656
    193
    58
    50
See reviews for
894
1,536
73
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed 3 nights over Easter break and very much enjoyed the place. Staff was all very friendly and helpful, restaurant was great value for money with great ocean views, breakfast was included and very good.

Highly recommend, esp when you want to explore Cornwall or go surfing at Fistral (right next to hotel).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gurbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

Stayed in one of the cottages over October half term ( alittle late posting the review). the cottages are fantastic with evrything you need. Shame they did not have sky TV available. Perfect for the beach and long walks with the dog. You get to use all the hotel facilities which are fine although the pool is disapointing. Both restaurants served good food although one of them the more casual closes at 7pm which is starge when the place was full of children. Service was good after you got someones attantion. Table service in the bar would be nice and should have been provided. This is not a cheap place to stay and as such i think the service could be improved.
Overall a good break and we would return as it is perfect for the dog and the children

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliemo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

Stayed in one of the cottages, they are very well equipped, comfortable, quiet and have a great view (well ours did - Tide 3) The hotel is also great, the restaurants very good if a little expensive - service very attentive and polite, no airs and graces. For a family and as a base I could not recommend the cottages highly enough and although pricey they represent good value for money given the equipment, facilities and of course the location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H1MKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

My husband and I spent an indulgent 3 nights here in the peace and tranquility of a gorgeous 5 star apartment in february...The apartment (Waterside 4) was two storey, had a sea view and was on a quiet edge of the cottage complex. It was lovely-a balcony, an exceptionally comfy bed, well equipped kitchen area and modern bathroom..although I would have loved a jacuzzi bath! In February as a one off treat it was affordable...but I feel that prices in the "season "rise way out of our price bracket and we won`t be able to bring the family without a second mortgage...(Sadly as a teacher I am stuck with school holidays! )Hotel facilities were on the doorstep, as was the wondeful Fistral Beach with its surfers, and breathtaking views wherever you looked...We enjoyed a great meal in the hotel resteraunt on one evening and swam in the pool one afternoon. Inside the main hotel some corridor areas needs a little TLC in..but the building certainly exudes character. The staff were always happy to help and the break exceeded our expectations!
Recommended- but beware the cottages are a little clustered together in the village- be careful which you choose!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Fond memories of this fantastic hotel from the 1970s and 1980s. Having now travelled to 60 countries on business & personal trips, I still haven't found comparable accommodation!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

Have just returned from a terrific 3 night break in the cottages. The location is wonderful with views of the sea and some fantastic walks. The cottages provide everything you could need and are very comfortable. Staff that we had contact with were very welcoming and helpful and also had good local knowledge. As part of our stay we had a free meal in the restaurant which was delicious. Would go back again

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing