We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 24 October 2009

My wife and i stayed at the Headland hotel for 2 nights and were given a excellent view across Fistral beach.The service that was given by the staff was excellent from the time we arrived to the time we left.We hope to go back again soon.We would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonMeadowbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,457 - 3,463 of 3,672 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2009

Stayed at hotel before, on returning were welcomed like an old friends. Receptionist personally showed us a choice of rooms all of which were clean, warm, well appointed with good views.
Staff are excellent and attentive without being obtrusive.
Our dog to was welcomed in the same manor, and we all enjoyed the spectacular walks along the costal path and beach.
Plenty of car parking spaces.
Great location on headland, right next to Fristal beach, with geat sea views.
Food is what you would expect from a four star hotel with service to match.
Cannot wait to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDudfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I have just returned from a long weekend break and we had an amazing time.
As you drive down the long drive way to the hotel you feel like you are driving into a fiim set.
The staff were all very helpful and the atmosphere is completey relaxed.
The Breakfasts every morning were amazing and we also had a meal in the dining room on the final night which was the best meal we had all weekend.
The bedrooms are a little dated but perfectly clean and confortable.
I think people need to remember that this is a very old hotel and that is the charm of it. If you prefer laminate floors and black leather couches with no individuality then perphaps this isnt the place for you.
My only critisism of the hotel is that i think the terrace restaurant should be open for evening meal as it is much more informal than the dining room but unfortunatley closes at 6:30pm.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethsolazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My recent stay at the Headland Hotel Cottages was very pleasant. The cottages have a warm homely feel with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Within a few minutes walk to the town and next to Fistral Beach.
The staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. I have stayed in the cottages numerous times and in the hotel, as I feel nowhere else in Newquay compares. I would strongly recommend this hotel for cleanliness, comfort and quality of service and will be returning on any future trips to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

From the moment you enter the driveway you know you're in for something special, Fabulous setting, imposing building.

Once you enter , the impeccable, yet muted service kicks in. You don't want to leave. I suppose that's what attracts the ghosts reputed to be on site. Who can blame them but don't worry, they're probably asleep after all the pampering. If not, they're definitely going to be in a good mood. Impossible not to be.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copacabanaEdgbaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We have been going to cottages every year in storm watching season, usually Feb for 3 day weekend. Sometimes just the two of us in a 1 bed and sometimes whole family in a 3 bed.
The cottages are perfect, everthing you could want all with a touch of luxary eg bedding better than at home. Bathroom fitted out to really high standard. Having the Hotel facilities at hand really makes a difference. Just love the atmosphere in Hotel, lots of log fires in the winter and slight smoky smell as soon as you walk in thro traditional rotating doors. Brassware all polished. Staff really impecable, always friendly helpful and chatty but not too friendly.
I see there are some moans about hotel rooms but we have no experience. With storm watching deal in cottages you always get a "free" meal in hotel. This can sometimes be a problem because it is "subject to availabilty" and in Feb main restaurent is not always open.
We really look forward to our Headland weekends and have just booked again for March in "Beach 2" which was the first one we went in several years ago and it is on the end with a great view. Would be very surprised if anyone found anything to complain about in the cottages.

Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pauljoanssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend break at the Headland. Three nights away at just over £500 for dinner B&B was not a cheap break but we just wanted to get away to relax.
The hotel has the most amazing location. Right on the cliff edge, overlooking Fistral Beach and set apart from any other building.
We paid for a Sea View room and were on the side, over looking Fistral Beach. Originally disappointed we soon realised there was more to see from the side than the front and decided not to request a move. The room was small but very clean and well furnished. We were surprised though that there was no iron and the toileteries/bottled water were not restocked during our stay. Maybe we could have requested more but the staff would have seen they had been used. Also, even though it was the end of September the weather was very hot and sunny, and we found the room uncomfortably warm, even in the middle of the night. With no air conditioning we would never stay there in summer months ! My partner used the pool and jacuzzi daily and found them clean but small and dated. They are about to start a massive upgrade for the pools and car parking though so this will improve.
Breakfast at the weekend was a buffet affair and al the food was fresh and well presented with lots of choice. On our last day, a Monday we had to order any hot food and that caused unacceptable delays for a lot of people. We had a wait of over 45 mins for our cooked food when they lost the order. No explanations given until the last moment - very annoying. We almost walked out without eating !
Dinner in the hotel was amazing every night. We had a table overlooking the ocean and watched the sun set whilst eating a variety of meals, all beautifully presented and tasty.
Throughout our stay the staff were friendly, and seemed to want to talk to you, without intruding.
We spent most of our stay on the beach or the hotel terrace, just relaxing and enjoying the views.Free WiFi in all room was a bonus and ample car parking prevented problems.
Overall a lovely stay, more so because of the location and weather.
Just some minor problems, which for the money paid we did not expect.
We will return again - just not in the summer months !
We didnt rate Newquay though. Very run down and over run with noisy drinking parties day and night

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEE-COY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
22.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £103 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing