We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Storm watching in an oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Storm watching in an oasis of calm”
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Arrived one dark stormy Friday evening to a great welcome, a relaxed meal and early night. We spent two days watching huge waves breaking at Fistral beach beside the hotel and on the adjoining headlands. The Headland really lives up to its high reputation; with waves chashing, howling wind and noise outside we luxuriated in warmth, quiet and the professional running evident in every aspect of the hotel. Catering was top quality with real care taken in proving the best local sourced food. Check the weather forcast and book yourself a sea-facing room!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,332
    695
    204
    67
    55
See reviews for
945
1,620
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We have been to the Headland twice and will not stay anywhere else when we visit the west country. We love the atmosphere, the staff are always friendly and the service is superb. Our last visit was our Anniversary and staying out of season with the dramatic whether is recommended, especially when you have the scenery at the hotel that you can watch from the bar area with a nice glass of champagne or two ;)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemcko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

as a family with 2 boys 11 & 12 we have been back to the headlands hotel each year for the last 5 years. for our last 3 trips we have stayed in the cottages adjacent to the hotel and found these more suitable to our needs.

all the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is always clean and seems to add something new each vist. in terms of location, i have travelled the world but find this one of the best sites i have ever been to.

as a family trip hotel, if you have children who are happy with the outdoors you cant go wrong, they are also happy to accomodate well behaved dogs.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

we booked two rooms in th hotel for our weekend getaway holiday, but were ot so happy with the rooms andthe property inside.

The hotel's location is great and the views from the hotel was magnificient and is fistral beach is right outside the hotel. It is a bit away from the hustle and bustle, but close from the main city, making an ideal location.

Though the hote stands tall on the mountain right next to beach and looks great from the outside, the inside of the hotel and the rooms were a total disappointment.

It looks ancient, dated and tiring. For the price you are paying, you don't feel you are inside a five star, but seems more like a budget hotel.

However, the staff was friendly.
At breakfast the food wasn’t replenished quickly enough and arrangements were not proper. It took a long time for the stff to get you the breakfast on table. Overall the restaurant was disappointing.

Its ok, if they refurbish the hotel, it would be the perfect place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — interiors
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank styledestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUSSEX
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2009

my wife and i have stayed at lots of hotels in the country but our stay at the headland is allways better than any of them . it is the luxury surroundings ,the views the staff ,in fact everything about the hotel from start to finish that makes it so pleasant.well worth a visit winter or summer

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICKTERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Head of Sales at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, and hope to see you back in Cornwall soon. Kind regards, from all at The Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The receptionist took us to our room and explained controls etc. Our luggage had already arrived. No tip required!! Everyone of the staff were polite and we were made to feel most welcome. Views were fantastic, our room had a sea view and as the weather was very windy, it was just as we had hoped for, good storm watching. Real fires/ candles in the public areas added to the atmosphere of the hotel.
Breakfast was of a high standard, good quality, local food. We loved all the cornish cheese. Again great sea view from the restaurant. Would we go back- most certainly.
Best overall hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmptynestersBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Head of Sales at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences of The Headland - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially the stormy weather. The log fires are lit at the moment, and the Christmas decorations are up, so the lounge areas are truly beautiful! Hope to see you back in Cornwall soon. Best wishes from all at The Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

was left a letter on our bed stating that because of a no smoking policy any one found smoking in the rooms was fined £75.00 plus cleaning i left my ciggarettes and lighter on the side they assumed i had been smoking we was out for the entire day and did not return until six made to feel like a school kid we went to reception to complain about this accusation however when we received the bill the fine had been added, the manager delt with this in a proffesional manner, but the receptionist was very unproffesional we have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world the landmark in london being the best and have never been treated so disrespectfully . PS their is a little cold hut to sit in if you feel the need 5* i do not think so

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorraine095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Head of Sales at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Headland. Further to your comments about the smoking hut, we will be looking into methods of heating it in an environmentally friendly way. Kind regards, The Headland Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing