We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,241)
Filter reviews
4,241 results
Traveller rating
2,946
877
255
89
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,946
877
255
89
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesterrace restaurantsamphire restaurantfistral viewcourtyard roomstorm watchingmain restaurantfour poster bedhotel facilitiesdog friendly hotelbeautiful hotelself cateringrelaxation roomstunning viewscream teasteam roomoverlooking the sea
Filter
Updating list...
569 - 574 of 4,241 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We took advantage of the 3 nights for the price of 2 and loved every minute. First time stay and enjoyed the old fashioned charm, especially leading up to Christmas. Dinner in The Terrace was delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katemK984OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Kate

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am very glad that you enjoyed your pre Christmas break so much and we hope to welcome you back for more opf the same in the future.

Kind regards
Wyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Wow we had a fantastic time from the moment we turned up. A wonderful situated hotel. Our room looked over Fistral beach and the view was amazing. Staff were well majored and really helpful. We had booked for a XMas party and the Headland really delivered. Superb breakfast in the morning which sorted out my headache!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank c00pes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your Christmas party here. I am so glad that you had such a fantastic time and I hope you will make it a regular event now. Glad our fabulous breakfast helped with the headache too!

Very best wishes
Wyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Came for a Christmas Party night with friends. Nice hotel beautifully decorated for Christmas. Accommodation lovely. The food was excellent. Service slow but this was due to numbers. Queues at bar & over 30 minute wait for a bottle of wine to be brought to table.
We left our table to dance & when we returned our bottles & glasses had been taken . When we asked the bar manager why our drinks had been cleared as it was obvious our belongings were there we were told that this would not have happened. We then asked the bar manager how he was going to resolve this he pointed to the table where all the glasses & bottles were & asked which one is yours ! The insinuation was that we did not have any drinks. Eventually he begrudgingly replaced us with 5 glasses of wine. Which were banged down on the table. We travel a lot & stay in a lot of 4 & 5 star hotels & have never had this treatment. At £33 a bottle this is not good. We discussed this with reception when we paid our bill & were promised a phone call. As yet nothing !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank dizzytart1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

I was so pleased to read your opening comments and to see how much you appreciated our food, the Christmas decorations and your room. It was also good to see how understanding you were about service being a bit slow due to the number of guests. Then- oh dear! what a disappointing experience with your drinks being cleared away. Please accept my unreserved apology for the response you were given to your understandable complaint. If no-one has contacted you as yet, do feel free to e mail our General Manager's PA : pa@headlandhotel.co.uk. if you wish to discuss this further. In the meantime I will most certainly pass your comments on to the manager concerned.

Kind regards
Wyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Had to change rooms on arrival and pay an additional £40 for a double room with a coastal and carpark view the internal twin room originally allocated was like a prison. We had to wait around for our room to be cleaned and we had to ask if it was ready nobody came to us to advise us we were not even offered a drink while we were waiting. This is a really old building which is still undergoing refurbishment. It is in a beautiful location overlooking Fistral Beach the view from the breakfast room is spectacular. However there are still snagging issues within the rooms that need to be addressed. The shower in our room was coming away from the wall and was leaking pretty badly. Also there are still comprehensive groundworks being carried out in front of the beach and marring the view beyond. The indoor pool is very small. This is a family hotel and they accept pets not the best place to stay if you are not fond of either.

Room Tip: Do not choose an internal room as they can be very claustrophobic
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillcowell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Jill
I am sorry that you were not aware that you had booked an internal room when you first arrived. These have no views and are therefore at our lowest tariff. If you did not book directly through the hotel this may not have been explained. I do apologise for the fact that you were not offered a drink whilst waiting for the alternative room to be prepared for you.
Yes, we do refurbish our rooms on a rolling basis during the quieter months of the year so that they are all kept at a premium standard. The building work you mentioned is at at one end of the car park and we are creating a stunning new aqua centre with larger pools for our guests' future pleasure, since, as you noticed, our present indoor pool is fairly small.
We are well known as a family friendly and dog friendly hotel. I quite agree- not the best choice if you are fond of neither.
Best wishes
Wyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

The Headland Hotel is superbly located with stunning views over fistral beach. Perfect combination of old world elegance and modern facilities Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff. You could be a welcome visitor to a large family home. There are many places to just sit and relax. A first class buffet breakfast .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ronin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-Pheby, Guest Relations Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Ronin
Thank you for this super description of your stay at The Headland. I am so glad that you felt so at home with us and that you had such a lovely relaxing time here. That is what we are all about and your comments are much appreciated. Do come back for more of the same soon.

Kind regards
Wyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews