We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed in the Headland Cottages for 3 nights. They are in a superb location and are very well equipped. I spent a lot of time cosied up on a big squishy sofa in front of the fire, looking out to sea and enjoying a glass or two of wine. When I felt the inlination to move there were plenty of options as the Hotel & cottages are literally a stones throw from the beach, or a walk up the headland and it was only a 15-20min walk into Newquay itself.

We had lunch in the Terrace restaurant on the day we arrived. The food was wonderful and the service fantastic. On our final evening we ate in the Sand Brasserie which was part of our storm watching deal. The food here was very good and the service very attentive.

One very good thing about the Headland Hotel is that they are happy to allow dogs. Our Springer Spaniel loved it, especially as they provided a blanket and a couple of treats!

The only thing the Headland Hotel lacks is a spa. I had to go elsewhere locally for the full spa experience, however the Headland do have a therapist on call who will provide spa treatments in your room or cottage, but for me it's not quite the same thing.

Overall though we were thoroughly impressed, especially as they have reviewed their tariff for 2010 and are now more realistically priced. We enjoyed it so much we have booked another cottage for a week in October.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,370 - 3,376 of 3,621 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

A Winter wedding, unpredictable and risky, some would say.... However, the 2 Claires, and Sean, hosted the most unforgettable day of our lives. We took over the whole hotel with 200 guests, and all were utterly flowing with compliments for the venue, warm reception, individual attention, and standard of food/cleanliness and service. The run up to the wedding seemed effortless, and seemless, orchestrated behind the scenes by the Claires, and fantastically organised and run by Sean on the day. It was great fun, and we only wish a wedding could go on for a lot longer!!! We look forward to returning for a night or two in the future. Such memories/photos on the cliff tops/ and fun! An emornous thank you from us both.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BattenburgCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights at end November 2009. The staff are very friendly and do their job with a smile on their faces. Food was excellent, ambience of the hotel had old world charm, and the whole couple of days was rather wonderful. The hotel is very professionally run, and as I was on a short business trip, it felt more like a holiday after my work was done. I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc999London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Having stayed at The HEADLAND HOTEL previously and considered it a good hotel,I was surprised to find that the hotel had improved on an already good standard.This is due,I believe,to two factors:-
1) The "finishing touches"to the decor in the bedroom, restaurant and the hotel generally;
2) The uniform standard of service( politeness, attentiveness and "wanting to help") without being servile.
This,I feel sure,is as a result of a staff training programme.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normski60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

This seaside hotel is a large square red Edwardian building, very grand and very well run. Fantastic position on the headland with sea all round and beautiful Fistral Beach below. But it's not at all faded, it's buzzing even in January, with a wide range of guests, and I can see why. It is very clean, warm not stuffy, the log fires are attended to, the upholstery is comfortable, the bedlinen is good soft cotton. The excellent staff notice what you need helpfully, not intrusively, and they seem happy. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and arrives just when you want it. You make your own toast so it's fresh. Dinner was very good and there's none of this must dress for dinner stuff. Broad age range of guests. We relaxed totally and would go back any time. January was great but I'm sure it would be excellent in summer too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paperfolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

A fantastic hotel, with warm friendly staff . As a dog owner it is very refreshing to find such a lovely hotel that welcomes guests and their dogs. I can highly recommend this hotel for its food, decoration, location and most of all friendliness. We will definately be going back to this hotel in the spring of this year.

Our stay was for the New Year Celebrations, and it was our best one ever, made possible by the owners and their wonderful staff.

Our Best Wishes
Hilary, Robert and Daniel Gunson (not forgetting Oliver our Standard Poodle)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliverbigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Stayed at the headlands for two nights after the New year. We have stayed several times now and enjoy the stay every time. It is one of those places that make you feel special. The staff are fantastic and remembered us from our last stay a year before. The weather was very cold outside. But the hotel was lovely and warm with log fires burning in several rooms. Breakfast & dinner was excellent as usual. You could watch the sea for hours from the dinning room. This place is not cheap, but good value for money at certain times of the year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintyWimborneDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £106 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing