We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely old fashioned welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely old fashioned welcome”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

we spent 3 nights in this hotel in Feruary on a 'storm watching' break. from the moment we arrived we felt like VIP guests and this continued throughout our stay, without exception every member of staff was curteous and professional. we enjoyed a peaceful break curled in squashy sofas by log fires after a bracing walk along fistral beach (a few meters from the hotel). we were surprised by the quality of the food, having eaten in many hotel restaurants, the breakfasts were delicious and our evening meal superb! if you're looking for a room with a spectacular view with genuine old fashioned hospitality and a personal service, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonJay34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,296
    676
    198
    62
    52
See reviews for
927
1,585
75
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The location and views were fantastic, even on a cold weekend.
Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Food was very nice.

Can' think of anything bad to say.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wain71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed in the Headland Cottages for 3 nights. They are in a superb location and are very well equipped. I spent a lot of time cosied up on a big squishy sofa in front of the fire, looking out to sea and enjoying a glass or two of wine. When I felt the inlination to move there were plenty of options as the Hotel & cottages are literally a stones throw from the beach, or a walk up the headland and it was only a 15-20min walk into Newquay itself.

We had lunch in the Terrace restaurant on the day we arrived. The food was wonderful and the service fantastic. On our final evening we ate in the Sand Brasserie which was part of our storm watching deal. The food here was very good and the service very attentive.

One very good thing about the Headland Hotel is that they are happy to allow dogs. Our Springer Spaniel loved it, especially as they provided a blanket and a couple of treats!

The only thing the Headland Hotel lacks is a spa. I had to go elsewhere locally for the full spa experience, however the Headland do have a therapist on call who will provide spa treatments in your room or cottage, but for me it's not quite the same thing.

Overall though we were thoroughly impressed, especially as they have reviewed their tariff for 2010 and are now more realistically priced. We enjoyed it so much we have booked another cottage for a week in October.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2010

A Winter wedding, unpredictable and risky, some would say.... However, the 2 Claires, and Sean, hosted the most unforgettable day of our lives. We took over the whole hotel with 200 guests, and all were utterly flowing with compliments for the venue, warm reception, individual attention, and standard of food/cleanliness and service. The run up to the wedding seemed effortless, and seemless, orchestrated behind the scenes by the Claires, and fantastically organised and run by Sean on the day. It was great fun, and we only wish a wedding could go on for a lot longer!!! We look forward to returning for a night or two in the future. Such memories/photos on the cliff tops/ and fun! An emornous thank you from us both.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BattenburgCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights at end November 2009. The staff are very friendly and do their job with a smile on their faces. Food was excellent, ambience of the hotel had old world charm, and the whole couple of days was rather wonderful. The hotel is very professionally run, and as I was on a short business trip, it felt more like a holiday after my work was done. I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc999London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Having stayed at The HEADLAND HOTEL previously and considered it a good hotel,I was surprised to find that the hotel had improved on an already good standard.This is due,I believe,to two factors:-
1) The "finishing touches"to the decor in the bedroom, restaurant and the hotel generally;
2) The uniform standard of service( politeness, attentiveness and "wanting to help") without being servile.
This,I feel sure,is as a result of a staff training programme.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normski60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

This seaside hotel is a large square red Edwardian building, very grand and very well run. Fantastic position on the headland with sea all round and beautiful Fistral Beach below. But it's not at all faded, it's buzzing even in January, with a wide range of guests, and I can see why. It is very clean, warm not stuffy, the log fires are attended to, the upholstery is comfortable, the bedlinen is good soft cotton. The excellent staff notice what you need helpfully, not intrusively, and they seem happy. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and arrives just when you want it. You make your own toast so it's fresh. Dinner was very good and there's none of this must dress for dinner stuff. Broad age range of guests. We relaxed totally and would go back any time. January was great but I'm sure it would be excellent in summer too.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperfolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing