We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Had an amazing couple of days in Newquay at the Headland. Truly stunning location at the head of Fistral beach with views all along the coast. Stayed in one of their newly refurbished rooms with four poster bed and massive bathroom complete with roll-top bath looking out over the beach. All done in a very contemporary style but in keeping with the classic features of the building. Truly stunning!! Bar is very modern, light and roomy with great staff, again with spectacular views over the beach and out to sea. Restaurant food was absolutley excellent with attentive staff and looks very family friendly although we weren't there with children. A great place to base ouselves in Newquay and one I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulcl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,532 - 3,538 of 3,807 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2010

We arrived late at The Headland after a long walk along the coastal path prior to driving to Newquay. needless to say we were tired and must have looked very scruffy! The reception staff, however were absolutely delightful! We were given a very warm and friendly welcome - they seemed as excited as we were at the prospect of our stay. Our room was lovely with a gorgeous ocean view and really big soft pillows and light eider down quilt. Room service called to make sure we had need of anything and allowed me to 'route around' her trolley for extra supplies of coffee, towels etc. Lovely girl! We had arranged to join with the rest of the family in the Terrace Bar. Again, the staff were super; friendly and happy.
The dinner was also good with locally sourced food, but don't expect large portions, this is quality not quantity.
We loved our stay and being treated as special guests without any trace of snobbery. The biggest asset of The Headland is their staff followed by its wonderful location.We will definitely come again and for longer. Thank You

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The headland has always been a favorite of mine since the early 80's when we spent many happy summer holidays when our son was small.
We have been back a couple of times since and it has always come up to expectation so it was the obvious choice to celebrate my 60th birthday with my extended family.
We had a delightful room with a separate sitting room and a balcony overlooking the most spectacular view.
Other members of my family had lovely rooms with full ocean view, my sister her children partners and grandchild choose one of the Cottages which they were all very impressed with,thoughtfully designed in a contemporary style, with everything you could wish for supplied.

We had five dogs between us and had packed several throws , dog beds etc onlyto find it was all provided including poo bags and treats.
Even though there were a great number of dogs with guests we never heard any noise and the hotel and the grounds were spotless.

The service is absolutely exceptional, we were all made to feel very welcome special guests.

Everyone really enjoyed the food and special attention was made to my husbands difficult vegetarian likes and dislikes. the chef arranged a special menu for him to choose from rather than the usual single veggie option.

The weather was so glorious we stayed an extra day, Fistral beach and the surrounding area make an ideal holiday with excellent very clean facilities.

Everyone we met either in the hotel or on the beach were totally charming.

A slight mix up with our bill was quickly handed with the minimum of fuss.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We go away quite often with the children we have one 11 year old and 17 months old. I saw the hotel advertised on last min and thought it looked lovely. The facilities were great for the children, ball park, tennis swimming, golf. I was very disappointed when spending over £200 per night on the rooms and food. Looks a lovely hotel from the distance and beautiful views however, you can hear everyone down the corridors and above you when you are in bed. My 11 year old couldnt settle. The sound proofing is terrible. At breakfast we didnt even get asked if we would like a cup of tea or coffe and waited along time for our cooked breakfast. I will say however the beach was lovely and we stayed there all day on a beautiful weekend. This hotel is not value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

We are sorry to hear that this guest did not enjoy a perfect stay with us.

We pride ourselves on the fact that our beautiful hotel was substantially built (in 1897) and noise issues from other rooms are practically unheard of. If we had been informed of this issue, we would have immediately endeavored to quieten the other guests creating the excess noise, or offer a room move to a quieter area of the hotel.

Concerning the room itself, a complimentary upgrade to a family suite was given on check in, and we matched the rate the guest was insisting was available on lastminute, of £189 for the room, including breakfast and VAT. We hope that most would consider this rate to be very good for a high end 4* hotel, over Easter weekend, for a family of four!

We are sorry that breakfast was not up to our usual high standard - we receive much praise for our special cooked-to-order Cornish breakfast, and can only apologise for the delay in the guest enjoying it.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
The Headland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We had been searching for the perfect family holiday since we had our son in 2006. This February, through word of mouth, we booked the Headland knowing very little about it. What a fantastic family run hotel so accommodating of us and our 3 year old and 6 month old baby. The staff could not have been more helpful if they tried, from washing up baby bottles to heating up baby food to the perfect temperature. And when the children were in bed we enjoyed adult time at the bar and superb restaurant whilst the wonderful local child minder Lyn tentatively cared for them in our room. This was the first holiday that we are able to actually relax. There is also so much to do, from the adjacent Fistral beach to the Newquay zoo and acquarium. If you have small children, you'll have a lovely time. The indoor pool does need a new lease of life but I think the owners have plans for this.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totters2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Management at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

Thank you for your lovely comments - we are so glad you enjoyed a fabulous stay!

Kind regards,
The Management Team
The Headland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We were looking forward to our stay at The Headland Hotel, Newquay as it was always thought of as being a high class hotel for the area, but we were very disapointed. The bath didnot work so we had to go down the corridor for a bath (they gave us £9.00 off the final bill! which we had to ask for) the food was cold and looked as if it has been picked up from the floor!. I would not recommend this Hotel in Newquay and would say to anyone wishing to stay in Newquay look around there are better hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barton_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

We are disappointed to hear that we did not manage to please this guest.

After learning that there was no cold water coming from the bath tap, we attempted to rectify the problem immediately. When this was not possible we offered an alternative room for bathing, and a glass of wine to enjoy in the bath by way of apology.

As this was not wanted, a 10% discount was offered off the already discounted rate that the guest was enjoying. We are sorry that this was only £9.00 off the final bill, however, the original total was not that large, and therefore the 10% discount looks fairly modest when written in this way!

We are rated no.1 on Tripadvisor for Newquay hotels (and have been for several years), and therefore we would contest that for "anyone wishing to stay in Newquay look around there are better hotels" as the reviewer commented!

Kind regards,
The Management Team
The Headland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed just one night here at the weekend as we were visiting my parents in Devon but wanted a night on our own and could not have picked anywhere better in Cornwall. The view from the room was stunning and we did not even venture further than the hotel as was so relaxing for 24 hours. Cream tea in the bar was great and reasonably priced, had room service for dinner which was also good and reasonable except for the £10 room charge! Breakfast also good quality even though took a while to come and the food seems to be well sourced and tasty. Final treat was an Easter egg at breakfast as it was Easter Sunday. Thought this was a great personal touch and we will definitely be going back hopefully with friends for a longer stay as I could look at that view for hours.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £118 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing