We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Accomodation in a Fantastic Location - a real gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accomodation in a Fantastic Location - a real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Headland Cottages in Newquay from 8 May 2010. I was a bit apprehensive as on the Headland website there are no real photos of the accomodation and I wasn't too sure what to expect. However, when we arrived we were so blown away by how beautiful the cottage was and how comfortable. We stayed in Heurs 3 which is a one bed cottage. It contained a huge bedroom on the ground floor with garden access and plenty of wardrobes. The bathroom is a good size with bath and shower. You then go upstairs to an amazing open plan living/kitchen/dining area. The kitchen is fully equipped and a nice touch I thought was the pint of milk in the fridge - always nice to a have a cup of tea when you arrive without that nastylonglife milk you normally get! On this floor there is also a balcony with seating which overlooks the sea - bliss!

The accomodation is cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. There are waffle dressing gowns for use and the bed is extremely large and very comfortable as are the pillows. There is a television, DVD and music centre. We really were surprised at how good the accomodation was especially as we thought it was very reasonable.

Guests are also allowed to use the leisure facilities of the hotel including the pool and sauna.

On top of all of this there is of course the amazing location. You are literally a stone's throw from the most amazing beach - Fistral and directly in front of the cottages there are a number of smaller beaches which are lovely to explore. There is a look out point which makes a lovely walk.

I really cannot recommend this accomodation enough. I have stayed in a few other hotels in Newquay but they do not come near the Headland Cottages. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,217
    656
    190
    58
    50
See reviews for
892
1,530
73
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed at the Headland Cottages for 5 days in May for a friends wedding and had an amazing time. The cottages are beautiful with amazing views and are equipped with everything you could need. All the bedrooms were ensuite which was lovely and the kitchen/lounge area was ample room for us all.

As guests of the cottages we were able to use the swimming pool at the Headland which was great for the kids as we had a lot in tow due to all the wedding guests.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Sean who was helping with all the Wedding planning was great and was always on hand if we had any questions and really made the wedding (If you reading this Sean thanks again and we hope to see you in September!). I must also thank MIchael for his help with the wedding music and ensuring my iPod would play through the hotel system.

All in all we had an amazing stay thanks to a fantastic location and great staff, so much so we are looking at returning in September time for a family 70th Birthday.

I would highly recommend the Headland Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mills007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

We have stayed at the headland hotel and the cottages on many occasions and i have NEVER been disappointed in anyway. it feels like a second home with added extra luxury.
The location is second to none , very relaxing and emotive in lots of ways.The staff are very accommodating and fiendly. Quality and cleanliness is first class ,and i,m the fussiest person ever when it comes to cleanliness !!!. I LOVE GOING BACK TO THE HEADLAND EVERYTIME.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newquaycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,348 reviews
376 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,975 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

The Headland Hotel sits proudly overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the famous surfing Fistral Beach. The hotel makes a massive statement on the headland. The hotel dates back to the 1800’s and was built intentionally as the finest hotel in South West England and today , it's still full with personality, charm and character.

Arrival : We arrived around 3pm and the staff were very efficient in helping us with our luggage. Check in again easy with no hiccups.

Room 330 : Wow, what a stunning view we could see the waves rolling past our window with a magnificent view of Fistral Beach. Our room was beautifully decorated with a refreshing blue colour scheme.

The room was spacious with a small lounge suite, TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities and the king size bed was dreamy and comfortable , we had gorgeous long wistful sleeps.

The best aspect of the room was the bathroom as we could have a bath with champs and watch the waves and surfers from our large open window. The bathroom was chic and modern with a huge walk-in shower with a fab strong shower head. Towels were also nice and fluffy.

Restaurant: There are two restaurants The Sand Brasserie and The Terrace both having spectacular views over the ocean. We found the food to be okay, nothing to write home about but certainly enjoyable. Breakfast was again so so and the staff very slow in serving but at least they were pleasant.

Facilities: The Hotel has separate cottages next door sitting perched over the cliff they looked really cute, and if staying longer we thought that they would be ideal. There are plenty of amenities for everyone with an outdoor and indoor spa swimming pool. The golf course is overlapping the headland with fabulous views and a tennis court is also neatly tucked away.

Overall : We loved the stunning location and room , the whole Headland Hotel experience was truly unique and special; especially our stunning oceanic view.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

If you have been to Fistral Beach you will have seen the imposing Headland Hotel. After years of camping and caravanning around the area I decided to save up and go for it! One week in a luxury hotel, we were so excited. Checking in was great, the staff were all smiles and politeness and we rushed off to see our room, but I thought of a quick question so popped back to the reception desk. They obviously did not know I was approaching as I overheard them discussing my family saying 'That lot should have stayed in a caravan where they belong.' a colleague replied 'Well since we have dropped our prices all kinds of riff raff are coming in now'. They went on to trash our clothes and even our luggage! I didn't know what to do, so I just went to our room. I didn't tell my family what I had overheard as I did not want to spoil the holiday. I cried all night, we are not wealthy but we aren't riff raff either. The staff are mean and snobs. I spent the rest of the holiday avoiding the reception staff but needless to say they were never responsive and always looked down their noses at us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Duckie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHeadlandHotel, Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, 26 May 2010
Dear Guest,
We are truly horrified to hear of your accusation of snobbery and mean behaviour from staff at The Headland. Having searched all of our records extensively, we cannot identify who you are or when you stayed based on your review details. We are treating this matter very seriously (with disciplinary action to be taken if we can identify the staff members involved), but we cannot progress without knowing exactly when or if you actually stayed, so we can check our CCTV.

In the meantime we cannot rule out that there may be a different side to the story. As you can see from the many other reviews this is NOT the normal feedback we recieve about our staff.

The Senior Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

When we all arrived all the staff were very friendly and helpful, I thought the personal touch of a 50th birthday card in my room was lovely.
The rooms were smart, clean, and had everything you could want for a comfortable stay.
The dining hall staff made our special occasion very enjoyable, with excellent food and friendly service.
My whole family had a wonderful weekend and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BournemouthChelsea25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

My wife and I are in our mid 40's and have stayed at tyhe Headland Cottages and Hotel at least 23 times over the last 10 years.

Our recent stay from 8 - 15 May was the first with our 8 month old Wheaten Terrier puppy.

The cottages are simply fantastic and all the compliments posted by others are correct.

My only gripe is that the hotel do nothing to 'reward' repeat guests.

A bottle of house wine, a complimetary lunch really should not be beyond their stretch to welcome back regular guests.(The actual cost to the hotel would be small - the gesture immense)

Sandals lay on a spectacular dinner extravaganza for a second time repeat guest. Yes, of course the actual spend is completely different but it's all about the sentiment.

We will be returning on October for a big family birthday celebration, again stayiong in the cottages with 10 other guests....and the dog.

We have also bought many friends to the hotel and cottages over the years.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenc4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing