We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This was the second time my wife and I had stayed here and it is hard to fault. Very central for station and nightlife and has a lift to the beach. Clean rooms with nice old fashioned furniture. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. All staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Pool and sauna were good but the steam room needs removing as it is below usable standard.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the road can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    336
    233
    106
    72
See reviews for
186
508
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Enjoyed my stay, not the Ritz but very good all the same. Thought all the staff were very good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardsintrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I had expected a good quality hotel from the website info and the price we paid and was very disappointed with the outcome. As soon as you reach the front entrance things look bad - there is a Hotel Mat to 'welcome' you that has clearly not been hoovered/cleaned for ages. It gave the impression of a tatty establishment. Our room lived up to the same standard. We had paid extra for a seaview and got a room which had a small window in the far corner of the room, which had a seaview alright but the only way you could see it was to stand right in the corner. The room was very small and dull in appearance, with a small bathroom. It felt rather like an attic room really. Service at Breakfast was slow and overall the whole experience reminded me of a 'holiday camp'. Good views of the sea from the breakfast room but once again spolied by the tatty exterior areas. We were aware of the noise of a disco nearby, if you stay on a low floor (we were on floor 3) you may find this disturbs the nights sleep. There must be better palces to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The plus points - friendly staff, lovely large family room with period furniture and high ceilings, great sea view, good central location. The breakfast was OK. The pool was clean although I did not see the changing rooms. All public areas looked clean and smart.
The minuses - only one small lift which broke at one point. They have had an 'issue' with it in the past (google it!). You can no longer take the lift down to beach level although this is not mentioned on the website. Young and inexperienced waiting-on staff. And the main one - a nightclub right next door, which was booming out until 3am on 3 nights of our stay. if you are a light sleeper you will suffer. A bit of a shame because it is quite an expensive hotel.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor might lessen the noise from the nightclub?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMacclesfield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The reviews about the hotel was mixed so was my experience - i believe the hotel was built in 1897 so our room is off the size and style, of that period but with some modern fittings and furnishing adding to its charm and character - for me this is good. The hotel is set in a good location for Newquay and sorrounding attractions and very close to the beach - indoor heated pool and jacuzzi is a great addition. The rooms are big enough for a family of four to maneuver around without getting on top of each other. Room kept clean everyday and a good supply of toiletries and bath towel. Friendly and helpful staff. Although my wife did not like the breakfast - i felt it was okay but nothing special. Yes will return for its location and facilities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbolalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Yes it's in the town centre and Newquay is lively but we found this a major bonus. Left the car and reached shops, restaurants and attractions on foot. Kids loved the pool, view of sea and beach from our room and at breakfast was just breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tparkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Having previously been to newquay on several occassions I wanted to share this experiance with the wife to be...so I splashed out hoping to seriously impress..how wrong was I. The room was priced at £135 for sunday night then £105 for monday and tuesday night so I was expecting big things. The pictures (on internet) do not fully represent the actual room/resort. The shower wasnt big enough for me to clean myself (im not fat) the bed was very uncomfortable, the gym/pool/suana were tiny, the room was even smaller. Breakfast time was a joke, once you got seated you then waited further to order tea/coffee then re-order for your food, the wait for the food wasnt worth waiting for once recieved.
overall a very bad experiance. the price doesnt accuratly represent the room.

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leightonmarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing